We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would benefit from renovation”
Review of Colston Hall

Colston Hall
Ranked #43 of 199 things to do in Bristol
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Bristol
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Would benefit from renovation”
Reviewed February 26, 2012

Entrance is great but the main hall looks a little tired and would benefit from renovation

Helpful?
1 Thank lad_v_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

345 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    117
    113
    59
    38
    18
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Somerset, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
165 reviews
39 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Wonderful lobby area, shame money ran out before effective air con could be installed”
Reviewed February 20, 2012

Went to see Billy Connolly last night - absolutely no complaints about him.
This is the first time we have been to Colston since the new entrance lobby area was opened and it has been done very well - lots of space, clean, fresh and certainly last night very " buzzy". New seats appear to have been installed in the auditorium so they are cleaner but still uncomfortable and very cramped. It was soooo hot in there that I thought I might pass out. Surely in this day and age effective air conditioning can be installed. I only used the toilets on my exit - big mistake - they are dire. Surely Dulux or someone could sponsor some paint to do them up. Just like going to an outside pub loo about 25 years ago!

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank muscadet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset
Level Contributor
119 reviews
52 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
“Great venue - shame about the 'public' areas”
Reviewed February 20, 2012

You can't fault the hall as a venue for music/comedy/dance etc, but please, please can someone provide some extra seating in the public areas? There's a great cafe/restaurant and a separate bar area but the bar only has a couple of sofas and stools and that's about your lot. There is plenty of space to put in some additional chairs or benches but it's kept artistically light and airy and hundreds of people were left milling about with nowhere to sit before the show. Having not been to the hall for a number of years we made the mistake of leaving the harbourside a good hour or so before the show so we could get a drink beforehand. Once bitten, twice shy, I'm afraid. The next time we'll stay at the harbourside until it's almost "curtain up" time and spend our money on pre-show drinks there instead. Such a shame!

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Henwife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Great Concerts”
Reviewed February 17, 2012

Colston Hall hosts some brilliant concerts but also have local bands/musicians in their foyer on a regular basis.

Helpful?
1 Thank Blanks61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
43 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Lots of Window Dressing. Acoustics are still Rubbish”
Reviewed January 12, 2012

The council demolished one of the city's finest art deco buildings to build this trashy tinsel covered coffee house and echoing foyer. They should have spent more on the acoustics and left the outside. The city still has no decent large venue. The council excels at arguing. This is what they produced. Wurzels, overweight has-been popstars and a few orchestras. Treat yourself and go to Cardiff and see something decent in a proper venue.

Helpful?
Thank Bob S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Colston Hall also viewed

 

Been to Colston Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing