We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely Roast”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Wellington

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Wellington
Ranked #8 of 51 Bristol B&B and Inns
Bristol - UK
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Lovely Roast”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2013

My wife an I have visited the Wellington on several occasions now for Sunday lunch.
We have tried both the beef and pork and both were very well cooked. A decent veg portion arrives in separate bowl with a nice mix of veg.
Service has been good even when obviously very busy. The price is on par with other pubs in the area but for our taste it is the nicest.
We also had the cheese board, the smoked cheddar is wonderful.

Highly recommended!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andy-Thompson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WellingtonBris, Manager at The Wellington, responded to this review, December 17, 2013
Hi Andy-Thompson,

Thanks for taking the time to write a review, and such a glowing one too. All of our meat is sourced from the UK's number one butcher, all the veg is locally sourced and our servers are a great bunch!

Hope to see you again soon.

Kind regards,

James & team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

172 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    86
    46
    21
    13
    6
See reviews for
36
50
5
31
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
107 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2013

the room, the food and the staff are all excellent. i really enjoyed my stay. i would recommend staying there to everyone even if it is just one night. i loved it so much i will be going back very soon.
only complaint please the WiFi and internet service need a lot of improvement.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank innerself59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WellingtonBris, Manager at The Wellington, responded to this review, December 17, 2013
Hi innerself59,

Thanks for a great review... I promise the internet is being looked at and hopefully before long we will have a good service up and running throughout the hotel.

Look forward to seeing you again.

Kind regards,

James & team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
33 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2013 via mobile

I've been to the Wellington to eat twice, and I can honestly say I don't think I will ever eat there again!
The first time I had a beef roast, it wasn't great and way over priced! The gravy was bitter and veg tasted like vinegar!
The second time I had a burger and chips, once we were given our meals (4 of us) three didn't have coleslaw and we had no sauces or even cutlery, we all waited thinking it was all on its way... We were waiting ages! In the end I had to go and ask and it still took another 5 minutes!
We all had a pudding (chocolate brownie £5.50) it was TINY and cold! Sooo over priced I couldn't believe it!
Over all it was bad service, very average food for an above average price
Disappointed

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Alicefussybristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WellingtonBris, Manager at The Wellington, responded to this review, December 17, 2013
Hi Alicefussybristol,

I am so sorry to hear about your visits, they sound very unlike the kind of service we offer and are so proud of. If you would consider popping in and saying hello I'd love to chat with you to try and make things up to you.

Kind regards,

James & team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walsall, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
96 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2013

We had a family Sunday lunch here with a baby and the staff were so accomodating.

After placing our initial order, we had a slight change of mind and needed to change some starters, no major problem. I cannot eat certain foods, so need to check carefully on what is being used, the waitress couldn't have been nicer. When she didn't know, she went and found out from the chef and alternatives were offered where necessary.

The food arrived beautifully presented and hot, there was plenty of it, no tiny portions here. After the main course, we changed our minds again and some of us decided on desserts. Boy did we make the others of our party jealous but we didn't share...they were too scrummy to share!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AngelBearTheFirst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WellingtonBris, Manager at The Wellington, responded to this review, November 1, 2013
Hi AngelBearTheFirst,

What a great review, thanks a million! This is what we're aiming to achieve every single time and we really try hard to do it.

Glad you made it in for a Sunday lunch, you must have booked early!

Look forward to seeing you again,

Kind regards,

James & team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chorley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2013

This was booked for us with a group of friends and was an excellent choice for a visit to Bristol. As we entered on Friday evening the bar was very noisy but once through the door up to the rooms not a sound could be heard. The bed was just about the most comfortable I've ever slept in. The room was immaculate (but it wasn't 'done' on the saturday while we were out..I think this was an oversight as all the other rooms were ) with good facilities, tea and coffee, water, toiletries and an amazing shower. If i'd been staying for longer than a weekend I might have been a bit fed up of there being just pegs to hang clothes and not a wardrobe but thats a minor thing. No plug socket anywhere near a mirror made drying hair a bit tricky. The food in the restaurant was really good. By the time we'd finished our mains though, we were told the kitchen was closed so we couldn't have dessert. I think we looked so upset they relented and someone managed to get three deserts out to those who wanted and very nice they were too.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dogdaisy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WellingtonBris, Manager at The Wellington, responded to this review, November 1, 2013
Hi dogdaisy,

Thanks for a lovely review. So glad you enjoyed your stay and I'm so glad you got your desserts!

Apologies about the lack of room refresh on the Saturday, not sure why this was the case but rest assured this has been mentioned to our housekeepers who were very apologetic.

As for the mirror and plug socket saga, we can only assume a man designed the rooms, and being a man myself I would like to apologise on behalf of us all for our shortcomings in this department.

We hope to see you again and thanks again for your review.

Kind regards,

James & team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwick, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2013

Just a really great place. The well-appointed rooms are above a really interesting pub which closes on time, so the night is peaceful. The food is great. The people were friendly and helpful. Wonderful value for money.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WellingtonBris, Manager at The Wellington, responded to this review, November 1, 2013
Hi Paul D,

A short and sweet review which I like to think sums us up. Thank you so much for taking the time to write about us and we hope to see you again.

Kind regards,

James & team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicesteshire, England
Level Contributor
122 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2013

For a budget hotel the rooms were fitted out to a very high standard indeed, though the beds are on the hard side. This is a quirk that we seem to be importing from abroad. The road in front of the building is very busy so light sleepers should ask for rooms to the rear. We did not bother paying for breakfast as there are many cafes on Gloucester Road. The food in the restaurant is of a high standard and there are real ales on tap so we would recommend you have an evening meal on site rather than worry about drink driving. We would particularly recommend Café Grounded , 425 Gloucester Road. BS7 8TZ which is very popular with the locals and has free wi fi. Unlike some other reviewers we would not complain about the checking process - the staff were very helpful. The stairs to the bedrooms are steep so would not be suitable for those with physical disabilities.

Room Tip: The road in front of the building is very busy so light sleepers should ask for rooms to the rear
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank freeflight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WellingtonBris, Manager at The Wellington, responded to this review, November 1, 2013
Hi freeflight,

Thank you for your review. You'll be pleased to know that breakfast is now included!

It is true that we face a fairly busy main road however as the evening progresses this becomes quieter & quieter, and of course all rooms are fitted with double glazing windows and thick black out curtains which also help reduce external sound and most people find an incredibly refreshing nights sleep. For those lighter sleepers of course do ask for a room to the rear of the building and if we can, we will.

So glad you recommend us for an evening meal as our chefs are incredibly passionate about cooking, especially as all of their ingredients are fresh, local & seasonal. And the chefs are free to produce the dishes they like.

We hope to see you again,

James & team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bristol hotels
2.7 mi away
The Bristol
The Bristol
#3 of 37 in Bristol
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,474 reviews
2.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN Henbury Lodge Hotel
2.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Bristol City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Hotel du Vin & Bistro
Hotel du Vin & Bistro
#6 of 37 in Bristol
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,153 reviews
1.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Bristol - North
2.6 mi away
Bristol Marriott Royal Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Wellington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Wellington

Property: The Wellington
Address: Gloucester Road | Horfield, Bristol BS7 8UR, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Bristol
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 51 B&Bs / Inns in Bristol
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Wellington 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Agoda and LateRooms so you can book your The Wellington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing