We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Disappointed”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of The Wellington

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Wellington
Ranked #8 of 52 Bristol B&B and Inns
Level Contributor
33 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
Reviewed November 1, 2013 via mobile

I've been to the Wellington to eat twice, and I can honestly say I don't think I will ever eat there again!
The first time I had a beef roast, it wasn't great and way over priced! The gravy was bitter and veg tasted like vinegar!
The second time I had a burger and chips, once we were given our meals (4 of us) three didn't have coleslaw and we had no sauces or even cutlery, we all waited thinking it was all on its way... We were waiting ages! In the end I had to go and ask and it still took another 5 minutes!
We all had a pudding (chocolate brownie £5.50) it was TINY and cold! Sooo over priced I couldn't believe it!
Over all it was bad service, very average food for an above average price
Disappointed

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Alicefussybristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WellingtonBris, Manager at The Wellington, responded to this review, December 17, 2013
Hi Alicefussybristol,

I am so sorry to hear about your visits, they sound very unlike the kind of service we offer and are so proud of. If you would consider popping in and saying hello I'd love to chat with you to try and make things up to you.

Kind regards,

James & team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

172 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    86
    46
    21
    13
    6
See reviews for
36
50
5
31
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Walsall, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
96 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2013

We had a family Sunday lunch here with a baby and the staff were so accomodating.

After placing our initial order, we had a slight change of mind and needed to change some starters, no major problem. I cannot eat certain foods, so need to check carefully on what is being used, the waitress couldn't have been nicer. When she didn't know, she went and found out from the chef and alternatives were offered where necessary.

The food arrived beautifully presented and hot, there was plenty of it, no tiny portions here. After the main course, we changed our minds again and some of us decided on desserts. Boy did we make the others of our party jealous but we didn't share...they were too scrummy to share!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AngelBearTheFirst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WellingtonBris, Manager at The Wellington, responded to this review, November 1, 2013
Hi AngelBearTheFirst,

What a great review, thanks a million! This is what we're aiming to achieve every single time and we really try hard to do it.

Glad you made it in for a Sunday lunch, you must have booked early!

Look forward to seeing you again,

Kind regards,

James & team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chorley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2013

This was booked for us with a group of friends and was an excellent choice for a visit to Bristol. As we entered on Friday evening the bar was very noisy but once through the door up to the rooms not a sound could be heard. The bed was just about the most comfortable I've ever slept in. The room was immaculate (but it wasn't 'done' on the saturday while we were out..I think this was an oversight as all the other rooms were ) with good facilities, tea and coffee, water, toiletries and an amazing shower. If i'd been staying for longer than a weekend I might have been a bit fed up of there being just pegs to hang clothes and not a wardrobe but thats a minor thing. No plug socket anywhere near a mirror made drying hair a bit tricky. The food in the restaurant was really good. By the time we'd finished our mains though, we were told the kitchen was closed so we couldn't have dessert. I think we looked so upset they relented and someone managed to get three deserts out to those who wanted and very nice they were too.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dogdaisy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WellingtonBris, Manager at The Wellington, responded to this review, November 1, 2013
Hi dogdaisy,

Thanks for a lovely review. So glad you enjoyed your stay and I'm so glad you got your desserts!

Apologies about the lack of room refresh on the Saturday, not sure why this was the case but rest assured this has been mentioned to our housekeepers who were very apologetic.

As for the mirror and plug socket saga, we can only assume a man designed the rooms, and being a man myself I would like to apologise on behalf of us all for our shortcomings in this department.

We hope to see you again and thanks again for your review.

Kind regards,

James & team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwick, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed September 28, 2013

Just a really great place. The well-appointed rooms are above a really interesting pub which closes on time, so the night is peaceful. The food is great. The people were friendly and helpful. Wonderful value for money.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WellingtonBris, Manager at The Wellington, responded to this review, November 1, 2013
Hi Paul D,

A short and sweet review which I like to think sums us up. Thank you so much for taking the time to write about us and we hope to see you again.

Kind regards,

James & team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicesteshire, England
Level Contributor
122 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2013

For a budget hotel the rooms were fitted out to a very high standard indeed, though the beds are on the hard side. This is a quirk that we seem to be importing from abroad. The road in front of the building is very busy so light sleepers should ask for rooms to the rear. We did not bother paying for breakfast as there are many cafes on Gloucester Road. The food in the restaurant is of a high standard and there are real ales on tap so we would recommend you have an evening meal on site rather than worry about drink driving. We would particularly recommend Café Grounded , 425 Gloucester Road. BS7 8TZ which is very popular with the locals and has free wi fi. Unlike some other reviewers we would not complain about the checking process - the staff were very helpful. The stairs to the bedrooms are steep so would not be suitable for those with physical disabilities.

Room Tip: The road in front of the building is very busy so light sleepers should ask for rooms to the rear
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank freeflight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WellingtonBris, Manager at The Wellington, responded to this review, November 1, 2013
Hi freeflight,

Thank you for your review. You'll be pleased to know that breakfast is now included!

It is true that we face a fairly busy main road however as the evening progresses this becomes quieter & quieter, and of course all rooms are fitted with double glazing windows and thick black out curtains which also help reduce external sound and most people find an incredibly refreshing nights sleep. For those lighter sleepers of course do ask for a room to the rear of the building and if we can, we will.

So glad you recommend us for an evening meal as our chefs are incredibly passionate about cooking, especially as all of their ingredients are fresh, local & seasonal. And the chefs are free to produce the dishes they like.

We hope to see you again,

James & team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2013

We stayed here on a Saturday night when visiting friends in Bristol. Upon arrival, there is no sign to say where guests need to check in; the sullen barmaid didn't seem to be that interested when we asked but eventually we found a friendly man who would check us in. It seemed that the main focus of the establishment is the pub. We were asked to fill out a form of our details, which would have just been left on the table for anyone to look at while we were taken to our room had we not put it away on a shelf ourselves.

The room itself was splendidly decorated and very stylish and roomy. Unfortunately, a lack of attention to detail was evident e.g. no soap/hand wash in the bathroom and several hairs and dirty stains around the bath. Also, we had asked on the internet booking for the twin room to have double occupancy, which we assumed would mean that the twin beds would be put together (as it mentions on late rooms' description). As this hadn't been done, we therefore moved the beds ourselves and found several toe nail clippings in the carpet!

It was unclear from the website and the information available in the room whether breakfast was included in the rate - it became clear it wasn't but this should really be made evident in the website description as an additional £15 wasn't what we were expecting to pay (and one of the breakfast meals we had was just toast). Breakfast (which was tasty) was eaten in the main pub, to the sound of a generator hum - it would have been nice to have some music on to disguise this. Both morning staff were extremely friendly and helpful though.

Some improvements required before The Wellington can be worth paying £104 for (depending on what you have for breakfast).

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bearz77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WellingtonBris, Manager at The Wellington, responded to this review, November 1, 2013
Hi bearz77,

First off I would like to apologise for such a delay in our response to your post & also that you only had a three star experience with us, as you will have seen we often sit amongst the 5's & 4's.

As general manager I have recently taken over The Wellington and all of your comments have been noted and addressed with some degree of shock. Many of the points you make, in particular to the hotel seem most unlike our team. However I have relayed and discussed all areas of concern to ensure even further that our systems are robust & disappointments like these do not happen again.

If you do consider staying with us again I would very much like to address your enquiry personally so I can ensure a comfortable visit.

Yours Sincerely

James
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
heanor
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2013

Wonderful place to stay. Stayed for one night , could have stayed longer. Friendly staff , fab room with a good bathroom. Great pub with good beer. Went for the football this was an ideal place to stay

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paula B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WellingtonBris, Manager at The Wellington, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Hi Paula B,

What a compliment, "could have stayed longer" :) Thank you, the rooms are lovely aren't they, and thanks for mentioning our fab staff too!

Kind regards,

James & team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bristol hotels
2.7 mi away
The Bristol
The Bristol
#3 of 37 in Bristol
3,465 reviews
2.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN Henbury Lodge Hotel
2.6 mi away
Bristol Marriott Royal Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Hotel du Vin & Bistro
Hotel du Vin & Bistro
#6 of 37 in Bristol
1,149 reviews
2.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Bristol City Centre
1.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Bristol - North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Wellington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Wellington

Property: The Wellington
Address: Gloucester Road | Horfield, Bristol BS7 8UR, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Bristol
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 52 B&Bs / Inns in Bristol
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Wellington 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Priceline, LateRooms, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your The Wellington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing