We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Up and Down”

Harvester The Snuff Mill
Ranked #322 of 1,577 Restaurants in Bristol
Price range: $4 - $19
Cuisines: British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Special occasions, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Brunch, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: At The Snuff Mill Harvester in Bristol food is fresh, full of flavour and just how you like it. Choose your tasty grill, sauce and side at our restaurant and we'll get cooking - while you head off to the famous Harvester salad bar to grab as much crisp, freshly prepared tasty salad as you like.About our Harvester restaurantIf you're looking for a family friendly restaurant in Bristol, there's nowhere more popular than Harvester. Close to Downend, Fishponds and Filton, our restaurant is a great choice for anyone who loves tasty grills, indulgent desserts and eating out in a friendly, relaxed atmosphere. Plus we've loads of choices for young guests.
Level Contributor
48 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Up and Down”
Reviewed February 14, 2014 via mobile

We are quite regular visitors to this restaurant mainly for the reason of value for money.
On a few occasions we have had some minor issues but this evening was a little disappointing, service and for quality were the main issues, the time it took for us to be acknowledged was 10/15 mins then followed by a lengthy wait for our order, the waitress returned to us after waiting 45 mins asking us if she had taken our order!!!! After stating that she had already taken the order and seeing others around us getting food but were seated after us it became obvious that we had been forgotten :(
5/10 mins later our food arrived but was warm at best and the cheese was missing from our bacon and cheese burger! I was issues with some fresh chips and peas which were a little warmer but just satisfactory.
I think we may have to eat somewhere else for a little bit and may return in the future to see if things improve

Helpful?
Thank Volkswag84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harvester R, Public Relations Manager at Harvester The Snuff Mill, responded to this review, February 16, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post your review following your visit to The Snuff Mill Harvester . We have replied to you personally as it is our aim to give every customer the very best experience possible, and your feedback will help us achieve this.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

333 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    94
    71
    60
    39
    69
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
343 reviews
209 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 160 helpful votes
“Seems a nice Harvester”
Reviewed February 9, 2014

Arriving sometime after 8 pm on a Sunday evening, we were warned of a 45 minutes wait, while in truth we got to our table in about 30 minutes. This was a very unusual Harvester with a pond in the middle of the room and what appeared to be carpet hung on the vaulted ceiling. The room was divided into smaller units by dividers, pergola type constructions etc.
The salad cart was good in that the bowls were both cold and clean. I wish that was true of every Harvester. Meanwhile the main courses were well cooked, nicely presented with service from a friendly waitress.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TrevMK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harvester R, Public Relations Manager at Harvester The Snuff Mill, responded to this review, February 11, 2014
Your kind recommendation means a lot to us here at Harvester The Snuff Mill, and we are so glad to hear that your visit was a positive one we have written to you personally about your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bristol
Level Contributor
33 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“a pleasant surprise as much improved”
Reviewed January 28, 2014

This Harvester is a few minutes from our home and one we used for many years. Over time food quality diminished and staff appeared to be expected to do the impossible. We recently decided to give it another go as it had been closed for a much needed refurbishment. We were pleasantly surprised and have even made another visit. Staff friendly and helpful. Surroundings were CLEAN and tables and floor not littered with dropped food or spilt drinks. Our meals were hot and well presented. Salad cart looked as if someone cared about it and all sections were full. I spoke to the present manager and passed on our thanks but it appears he is moving on. Hopefully the next person will try to keep up the standard and we can then confidently recommend the Harvester once again.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bizzybristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harvester R, Public Relations Manager at Harvester The Snuff Mill, responded to this review, February 11, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your visit to Harvester The Snuff Mill and we were delighted to read that you enjoyed your time with us. On behalf of all the team we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future and we have replied to you personally asking for a little more information.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Always good”
Reviewed January 5, 2014 via mobile

This is not a top end restaurant. It's plain simple food at a very good price with as much free salad as you want. The salad kart is by far the best part of going there but I always just have the same meal in all fairness simply chicken and stuff myself with salad. It is a plain simple concept which works very well. Food plain yet good and you can fill up on a great salad with good choices and a cheap desert option also. I love it, does exactly as it says on the tin!!

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Max M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harvester R, Public Relations Manager at Harvester The Snuff Mill, responded to this review, February 11, 2014
Thank you very much for your recent review on Trip Advisor. We were very pleased to read that you had a positive time here with us at Harvester Snuff Mill. Our teams love to hear when they have done a good job and we have replied to you personally about your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Don't book your Christmas do here!”
Reviewed December 19, 2013 via mobile

A group of us booked our Christmas meal for 8.30pm having ordered our meals in advance. We were dismayed to find that they had run out of pre ordered food. All of our meals came out at different times and they forgot 1 if our meals altogether leaving 1 person to eat alone. When we asked how long it would take for delayed food we were told 'it's on it's when babes' with no apology. We had to remind them to provide crackers and there was nothing at all 'Christmassy' in the atmosphere. Eventually desserts arrived at 10.45pm. Dreadful.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 95Sally95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harvester R, Public Relations Manager at Harvester The Snuff Mill, responded to this review, December 21, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your review following your visit to Harvester Snuff Mill. We have replied to you personally as it is our aim to give every customer the very best experience possible, and your feedback will help us achieve this.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Harvester The Snuff Mill also viewed

Bradley Stoke, Gloucestershire
Bristol, England
 

Been to Harvester The Snuff Mill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing