We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very good food” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Namaste Nepal

Namaste Nepal
Ranked #425 of 1,556 Restaurants in Bristol
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $44
Cuisines: Asian, Tibetan, Indian, Nepali
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romantic, Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Drinks, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Delivery, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Very good food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2013

We have just had our 4th meal at this hidden gem in bristol. They are always very welcoming and very keen to please. The food is really tasty, not at all like a lot of the curry houses in town where each dish tastes the same no matter what you order ! We were pleased to see that the restaurant was the busiest its been on our last visit, which hopefully means that even tho they are off the beaten track - they are making a success of the business and will hopefully be around for some years to come.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank mandyh42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    65
    30
    15
    12
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Bristol
Level Contributor
101 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Good food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2013

We went as a party of 4 on a Groupon deal.

Being just after the New Year we were the only people eating in the restaurant.

All of the food was good and tasty - we had a mixture or chicken, lamb and mutton dishes, with side dishes. Portions were a good size - and after a starter and meal we had no desire to look at the desert menu.

Drinks were quite expensive - 3 glasses of wine (good) and 3 Nepalese beers cost nearly £29.

Service was attentive and friendly.

We will go back to the Namaste Nepal.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Ade B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
186 reviews
124 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“An ok experience”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 10, 2012 via mobile

Visited Namaste after we had a leaflet dropped through our letter box.
Slightly put off by 2 burly minders on the front door as they didn't provide the warm friendly welcome that we thought we would receive!
The menu was good, if a little expensive, but on the night we were there (a Friday) the service was not particularly good.
We will return, but we hope the experience will e better

Helpful?
Thank Ken T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Tasty experience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2012 via mobile

Met friends for dinner. Started with Nepalise starter for 2. Very tasty £14.95 pricy but ok for 2. It was such a large starter it could have been a main!
For our main everyone had different curries, so tasty. I had chicken momo, chicken dumplings which were new to me - very nice, very filling. Unfortunately the dishes were so plentiful that we couldn't finish, don't like to waste food.
So for and my husband - platter started (too big) and a main each plus a beer each - just under £50. Pricy but delicious. Staff were very friendly and so jolly and helpful. Advise - don't order extras as the portions are large.

    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank jb4135
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgwater, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Excellent food, friendly but very slow service.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2012

We went to this restaurant on Saturday using a Groupon voucher. They do Nepalese & Indian dishes, I went for Nepalese and my boyfriend went for Indian.

Starter of Fish Tikka and Lamb Momo was fantastic, the fish was cook to perfection, the pastry on the Momo need more seasoning but the flavor was very good.

For main, we ordered a Chicken Balti, Mutton Choyola (grilled sliced mutton on a bed of onion serviced on a hot sizzler, no sauce so order a side vegetable dish) and Bengan Aloo (aubergine and potato side dish), these were one of the best curry I had in absolute ages. Unlike a normal Indian restaurant, the curry or naan bread isn't covered in ghee! The curry has so much flavor and makes you want more.

This is slightly more expensive than a standard curry house, I personally can't afford to make this a regular trip but we will definitely go back and try other dishes.

Staff are very friendly but the service is slow, took a while for drinks to arrive and quite long wait in between courses. So don't go here if you are in a rush!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
6 Thank sodaisy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Namaste Nepal also viewed

 

Been to Namaste Nepal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing