We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really enjoyed going back in time - and it's FREE!”
Review of M Shed

M Shed
Ranked #14 of 206 things to do in Bristol
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: See amazing film and photographs, listen to moving personal stories, encounter rare and quirky objects and add your own memories of Bristol through the interactive displays. From prehistoric times to the present day, M Shed tells the story of the city and its unique place in the world.
Flint
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Really enjoyed going back in time - and it's FREE!”
Reviewed May 25, 2013

Was recommended visiting m shed by a friend and so glad I did - so many things to see and very nostalgic too. Lots of things to get in/sit on/fiddle with so children of all ages will like getting involved with exhibits. Staff on hand to answer questions - I wish I lived closer as I would definitely like to come back and visit again on my own and take my time finding out more about bristols history

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank roundyFlint
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,216 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    526
    451
    155
    51
    33
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
123 reviews
63 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Okay”
Reviewed May 12, 2013

Visited this place years ago when it was a transport museum, sadly the museum has been watered down and lost most of its educational value.
Whilst some items were informative, most had very little information.
A lot of the interactive exhibits were not working.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank MadamPC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Good insight into Bristol”
Reviewed April 28, 2013 via mobile

The M Shed is filled with interesting Nick nacks about Bristols heritage. They also have an exhibition hall, we have been to two of these events, one on sport , the other chocolate and both were interesting. It is a good place for children as well as adults and situated in a good area on the harbour side.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank EmmaQUava
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Cafe- MShed”
Reviewed April 27, 2013

Surprised at the choice of cake in the afternoon and tea bag left in the mug, didn't know where to access cutlery, milk etc.
As a new attraction I thought it would be a better service. Not sure i would go again.
I found it disappointing.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Margery L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
My heart belongs to Spain
Level 6 Contributor
82 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“What a fantastic museum!”
Reviewed April 27, 2013

What a brilliant museum. So much to see, mainly about Bristol and it’s environs, but it’s also relevant to British history and how it compares and contrasts to other places. There’s little space wasted, and the interactive exhibits and the ones you can actually experience, the double decker bus in particular catapulting myself and my wife back over 40 years, are excellent. Entry is free to the main areas of the museum and it is well worth a visit. The outside areas too, which have preserved the industrial past of the M-Shed, with old ship cranes, railway lines and train trucks is equally fascinating.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank carlosthejackal666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed M Shed also viewed

 

Been to M Shed? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing