We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to learn the history of Bristol”
Review of M Shed

M Shed
Ranked #14 of 206 things to do in Bristol
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: See amazing film and photographs, listen to moving personal stories, encounter rare and quirky objects and add your own memories of Bristol through the interactive displays. From prehistoric times to the present day, M Shed tells the story of the city and its unique place in the world.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great place to learn the history of Bristol”
Reviewed March 16, 2013

This museum is a great place to visit for both adults and children of all ages. It sets out the history of the city in a lively way - good visual exhibits and staff on hand to answer questions.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank novice_traveller475
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,216 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    526
    451
    155
    51
    33
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Fun and free - good for all ages”
Reviewed March 15, 2013

As a Bristol resident, but not a native, I was keen to learn a bit more about the city. So on a free Sunday afternoon I visited for a wander round.

Crammed full of lots of interesting stories, history, and more modern observations. There's a good section that separates the city by area - I loved being able to get a feel for the vibe of parts of the city I've not yet been to. Really enjoyed the upstairs sections - lots of focus on stories and memories from the ordinary folk of Bristol. It really felt like a museum for the community and by the community, rather than put together for limited and specific portrayal of the area.

Paid extra for the chocolate exhibit upstairs, and although it was interesting I don't think it was worth the price. There wasn't anything I felt was missing, I just thought it was expensive. I especially liked all the archived footage showing how chocolates are made, and enjoyed finding out a bit more about the Fry family.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Dani H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level 6 Contributor
304 reviews
200 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
“history of bristol past 10 march 2013”
Reviewed March 11, 2013

great to learn about the whole history of bristol and view the past
the staff were very friendly gift shop excellent
staff helpful and friendly view of harbour excellent from above
well done tony mbe

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank tony726
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
201 reviews
37 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Free but worth paying for”
Reviewed February 28, 2013

Great exhibition covering the history of Bristol which appeals to all ages. Great views over the harbour from top of building. Handy coffee shop attached.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank BristolMKH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hove, UK
Level 6 Contributor
146 reviews
47 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Good place to visit for a couple of hours”
Reviewed February 24, 2013

We paid the extra for the chocolate exhibition, based on the Fry's model factory that was outside of Bristol. The old film footage was fascinating, but the exhibition was perhaps a little meagre on substance.

The other halls were very well done and the kids really appreciated the interactive nature of what was there. It was very well laid out with some quirky and imaginative displays.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank jools&alison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed M Shed also viewed

 

Been to M Shed? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing