We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“vile vile place” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Toad Lodge Guest House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bristol
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Toad Lodge Guest House
Ranked #33 of 53 Bristol B&B and Inns
Cardiff, United Kingdom
1 review
“vile vile place”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2011

never trust ANY hotel that asks for payment up front before you've even seen your room. think adams family crosseed with steptoe and son and that gives an idea of how dated and rough this place and it's owners were. awful decor and beds were like cheap camping beds

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank robjen2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    14
    5
    8
    16
See reviews for
7
25
13
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2011

found this b&b by accident in yellow pages , if you can look byond the dirt and dust and take it for what it is - it can be tollerated for a SHORT stay only - FANTASTIC bistro just around the corner ( walk 2mins ) ALFREDS cafe/bistro excellent food excellent prices .
Toad hall brilliant breakfast .

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dumpling99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Bristol hotels

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2010

I stay at this guest house during the week as I work in Bristol. The first point to note is that it is very convenient for the city centre and is on the right side of town, so no nasty surprises or expensive taxi journeys!

My welcome has been warm from the outset. Madam Toad does take accomodation cost up front; however she does explain this when bookings are made. The house itself is old and grand; however it is fair to say that it is a litttle dated. The decor is a little eccentric; but not ridiculously so.

There are many positives. First and foremost is the cost. Bristol hotels are not cheap. Toad Lodge offers very good value for money. I pay £29per night as a single traveller, but the cost per head of sharers starts at £18pppn. The rooms are large and have 12 foot ceilings. Some are ensuite; however a maximum of two rooms share the communal bathrooms. All rooms have a modern sink unit. All rooms have a TV with freeview channels and tea/coffee making facilities. All rooms have plenty of hanging space. Beds are basic, but comfortable.

Rooms are serviced every day. Fresh towels are supplied and changed regularly. I live in a old house, which I find difficult to heat; however Toad lodge is warm as it has good central heating. It also has all the hot water you could possibly need: a real problem in some other estblishments.

Breakfast is very good given the price paid: juice, choice of cereals, followed by cooked breakfast and toast. Choice of tea and coffee. Unfortunately it is only served between 8 and 9am; however breakfast host is very friendly.

In summary, it is not the Ritz; however it is very good value for money. Not the obvious choice for a romantic break, btu a good choice for a business or budget traveller.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hendomania
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottery St. Mary, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2010

brilliant value room for the space you get and privacy.Love the quirkyness of the toads everywhere,cant fault madame toad on her friendliness on arrival.lovely quiet area but only a ten minute walk to the hub of bars and takeaways.do not miss out on breakfast,the converstaion with charles is a must.cant wait for a reson to return to bristol with friends

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vyelland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmarthen
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2010

We've been quests of Mme Toad several times over a period of years, for the price and location you can't fault the place, you get a good size room with en suite if you want it, very conveniently located to the center of Bristol, with a proper english breakfast served by the lovely Charles in the communal dinning room. Make the most of breakfast time, introduce yourself to your fellow guests, get a conversation going, you don't know who you'll meet there, don't do the traditional english thing of not talking and being shy.
Toad Lodge is a welcome change from the faceless impersonal corporate chains, try to enjoy its unique hospitality on its own terms, if you enjoy it you'll be back, see you there.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank greasylox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SOUTH WEST
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2010

At first I thought the toads that are randomly dotted around the place were quirky, they add a little something different but that soon faded.. The B&B is run down;
The welcome - Was ok, madam toad is interesting and insisted on the money upfront, which is something she explained on the phone.
The carpet - is dirty and in places stiff from years of people walking on it, the metal runners that hold the carpet in place were loose with screws that provided an extra trip hazard, or painful reminder to wear shoes...
The décor - is odd and FULL OF TOADS, the dining is of particular delight
The bedroom - "cheap ikea tat" the words used by a member of staff when I told them about an accident that left me with concussion. I was woken by the bed collapsing on me (at 4am). I received a bang to my head which left me dazed and needing a trip to the doctor and the loss of a days wages.
When I investigated the wooden slats on the bed had not been secured and was an accident waiting to happen..
The food - The dining room is an experience in itself, as one entire wall is lined with toads. The food is ok..........
Conclusion - I wouldn’t even recommend it to my ex wife!!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cornwallbound
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
67 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2010

The B&B is well located a few minutes away from everything and well served by a bus station.
The area is very quiet and peaceful. No car noises or rumblings as it is mainly a one way street in a nice neighborhood.
The interior is somehow kitsch with all the frogs abundantly scattered around the inside and outside of the house.
The room we took was not ensuite but everything was very clean and tidy even in the bathroom. You could notice that everything was cleaned and vacuumed every day. The TV was rather new and the fact it had a sink inside is very practical. An electrical tea pot and complimentary tea is available in each room which is nice when you come from a chilly night.
Full english breakfast is really truly english breakfast and more than enough for a good day start, although only from 8 till 9 AM.
All in all, the place has a certain old feeling to it with some recent renewals and add ups. But if you are not picky about interior decoration the place has everything that's needed for a good night sleep. And you do better off than staying at a hostel and for a better price in most cases.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank iakaox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bristol hotels
1.0 mi away
Victoria Square Hotel
Victoria Square Hotel
#27 of 37 in Bristol
3.5 of 5 bubbles 485 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Regency Bristol Hotel
The Regency Bristol Hotel
#35 of 53 in Bristol
3.5 of 5 bubbles 267 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Channings Hotel
The Channings Hotel
#41 of 53 in Bristol
3.0 of 5 bubbles 149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Brooks Guesthouse Bristol
0.9 mi away
Alderman Apartments Beaufort House
1.8 mi away
No photo provided
Westfield House
#24 of 53 in Bristol
4.5 of 5 bubbles 14 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Toad Lodge Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Toad Lodge Guest House

Property: Toad Lodge Guest House
Address: 12 Cotham Park | Cotham, Bristol BS6 6BU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Bristol
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 53 B&Bs / Inns in Bristol
Number of rooms: 12
Also Known As:
Toad Lodge Guest House Hotel Bristol
Toad Hotel Bristol

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing