We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice area, small room, a bit noisy”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Victoria Square Hotel
Ranked #28 of 37 Hotels in Bristol
Mansfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Nice area, small room, a bit noisy”
Reviewed August 17, 2007

Stayed here on business for one night, as we had driven to London that morning and had to be in Cardiff the following morning. Bristol was a handy location for us as it was only a 40 minute drive in the morning.

The hotel was a welcome stop at the end of a 6 hour journey, and it was different being in a traditional city hotel rather than a hotel on the edge of town. We were in a Transit van and were worried about the parking given the previous review, but although it was very tight it wasn't really an issue, and they've extended the car park to provide more spaces now.

I went to check in and was told by the helpful girl on reception we were in the annexe next door, which was across the car park. There were a lot of steps up to the front door, and once inside there was a beautiful traditional staircase up, with stained glass window on the mezzanine.

Our room (236) was on the first floor, overlooking the car park. The room was a little cosy, but the high ceiling gave it a better impression of size. The bed was nice and firm (not hard), and the room was generally in good decoration. There was a slight stain on the carpet and one in the sink but nothing that would put you off, just normal wear and tear.

The bathroom was a good size, and clean. The TV has Freeview with about 20 channels, including BBC3, ITV2, E4, Sky News etc.

The windows are sashed and single glazed, which I imagine would get the room quite cold in winter, but it wasn't too bad when we were there. We opted to go out for dinner as Clifton village centre was just a short stroll through a park, there were some nice cafes and restaurants. We found a tapas bar and had some food there.

Back at the hotel, we had the window open and it was pretty noisy. We got woken up several times through the night, either by students crawling home after a night out, sirens blaring heading for the nearby hospital, or lorries going past. I was woken at 6am by the dustbin lorry right outside the window. For such a nice location it is a shame it is quite noisy.

In the morning we went through for breakfast. I opted for "full english", which was warm chipolatas, rubbery bacon and poached egg from the buffet. It tasted pretty disgusting actually, I left most of it and had fruit instead!

All in all, a nice hotel in a great location, but the small room and the noise make this hotel one that I probably wouldn't stay in again.

  • Liked — It was a bed at the end of a long day
  • Disliked — Small room, noisy location
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank EZYFlyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

494 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    109
    216
    102
    44
    23
See reviews for
89
196
34
112
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (122)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
98 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 296 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2007

I have just come back from staying one night at this hotel with my parents. It should definitely be noted that this hotel would be very challenging for anyone with mobility problems. There are steps up to reception, and then, as we were staying in the annexe building next, door you have to head back down the stairs. You then walk across some tarmac up a short flight of stairs, and up another short flight of stairs into the building. As we were upstairs, we then had to take 2 more flights of stairs to our rooms. The receptionist helped us with our luggage and was very pleasant.

I saw rooms on the ground floor, but I think you would still have to negotiate the stairs to get into the building. These are attractive old buildings, and it may be difficult to resolve these issues, but none the less, it's good to know these things in advance just in case it does't match your needs.

My room was a single and although it was very very small, had everything I needed (single bed, TV, tea, coffee and biscuits, iron, hairdryer, wardrobe, bathroom with a shower cubicle). The fittings seemed new, but the decoration could do with refreshing and finishing to a higher standard.

I slept very well and breakfast was fine (full English and continental) with pleasant staff once again.

  • Liked — Pleasant staff
  • Disliked — Very small room
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank NorthWestLondoner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
30 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2007

I have stayed here on several trips to Bristol. Clifton is a nice suburb with some outdoor cafes, nice vistas and some cool shops. The hotel itself could probably do with a coat of paint, but the rooms were quite large and spacious, clean and comfortable. The bathrooms were likewise, and had plenty of hot water and pressure. The hotel is well situated close to the main attractions of Clifton. I'd stay there again.

  • Liked — good location, clean rooms
  • Disliked — a bit expensive
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HandballYaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 4, 2007

I needed to be in the Clifton area, which ruled out most of the big chain hotels in the city, but this turned out to be a wise move. The Victoria Square hotel was small, friendly, and cosy. The rooms were compact and comfortable, with lovely new showers in the bathrooms and freeview channels like E4 and Film4 on the TV. The breakfast was tasty and cooked to order, and the breakfast room was bright and sunny. Clifton itself is a lovely area to wander around in, full of nice bars and restaurants, and the hotel is situated on a pretty green square. There were a few downsides, such as a reasonably busy road directly outside, no lift, and fairly thin walls, but those were incidental, and I would have no hesitation in recommending this hotel.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Slightly small room. Fine for one, would have been too small for two.
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank L0nd0ner22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 7, 2007

As a single business man I was impressed both by the hotels friendly staff, cleanliness of the rooms and the great breakfast. A great find.

  • Liked — Location, Breakfast and Architecture
  • Stayed February 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank SNTF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2007

I must admit that the location was great. However the room was in poor condition. The "double" bed was simply two single beds pushed together which was very uncomfortable. The room smelled and didn't feel or look very clean. Curtains and bed cover were very outdated. Bathroom had been updated, but shower wouldn't drain. Hotel staff was not friendly or helpful at all. No lift, so prepare for very steep staircases. Oh... and the walls are very thin, so you can hear everything going on in the other rooms and hallways.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — lack of cleanliness
  • Stayed January 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank SanDiegoKat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Bristol hotels

Leicester, UK
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2006

Location: I found it relatively easy to find, but Bristol traffic is pretty bad. It's a nice location in Clifton, which in turn is one of the nicer parts of Bristol. Places to eat & drink are a short walk away on Whiteladies Road, and the old docks area is still walkable. I was doing business in Filton, so it wasn't well located for me.

Car Parking: This is the hotel's biggest problem- albeit one that is imposed by the location and age of the buildings- the car park is tiny and it's common to end up leaving the car on very narrow local streets. Not recommended if you're going to be arriving in an SUV!

Check in/Staff: Friendly & efficient

Rooms: Mine was a twin, and was at the back on the ground level backing onto the car park. it was well furnished, but the large windows meant the room was a bit draughty. Wi-Fi available.

Food: Cooked breakfast was good- especially the bacon. Coffee a bit less so, and the tiny platter of pastries on the bar didn't look appetising.

Overall- It was reasonable, and a good price, but it's not so good that I'm willing to travel the extra distance/time when I'm working in the Filton area.

  • Liked — Location in Clifton
  • Disliked — Car parking
  • Tips/Secrets — Don't bring that big SUV!
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank UK_mids_traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bristol hotels
0.4 mi away
Avon Gorge Hotel
Avon Gorge Hotel
#27 of 37 in Bristol
890 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Rodney Hotel
The Rodney Hotel
#31 of 37 in Bristol
410 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Berkeley Square Hotel
The Berkeley Square Hotel
#32 of 37 in Bristol
537 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Washington
The Washington
#29 of 37 in Bristol
644 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Clifton Hotel
The Clifton Hotel
#35 of 37 in Bristol
627 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Bristol
The Bristol
#3 of 37 in Bristol
3,465 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Victoria Square Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Victoria Square Hotel

Property: Victoria Square Hotel
Address: 29-30 Victoria Square | Clifton, Bristol BS8 4EW, England (Formerly (BEST WESTERN Victoria Square Hotel))
Location: United Kingdom > England > Bristol
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 37 Hotels in Bristol
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Victoria Square Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Victoria Square Hotel is spread across two gracious Grade II listed buildings situated on a Georgian square in the most sought-after area of Bristol. Join us to experience authentic hospitality in a unique destination. Clifton Village is home to period architecture combining ornate terraces, luscious gardens, and vibrant streets lined with boutique shops and cafés. Whether you like outdoor activities or you lean towards fashion and food trends, Clifton has just the thing for your individual taste. Located near Brunel's iconic Suspension Bridge and Bristol Zoo, just a couple of minutes drive from the centre and with excellent links to Bristol Temple Meads Train Station and Bristol Airport, we are ideal for both business and leisure. We have a first come, first served car park with limited spaces. Parking is charged at £5.00 per day. Since the introduction of parking restrictions to the Clifton area, to park on the local roads you will need a parking permit from the hotel also charged at £5 per day. Free parking is available on Sundays and bank holidays only. Ranging from intimate to spacious and superior, our 41 bedrooms showcase the timeless Victorian elegance of high ceilings and expansive sash windows, most of which enjoy leafy outlooks. We offer home-away-from-home comforts including free Wi-Fi access and tea and coffee making facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Victoria Square Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Bristol
Bristol Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing