We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, Good comfortable bed,”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Victoria Square Hotel
Ranked #28 of 38 Hotels in Bristol
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
“Great location, Good comfortable bed,”
Reviewed September 2, 2013

Our booking was made last minute as we were disappointed with another guesthouse we had planned to stay at. We stayed one night and would stay again when we next visit Bristol. Good sized room with good shower. Breakfast was average but sufficient. We were pleased that there was off street parking.

Room Tip: Our room overlooked the car park and the street, and even with windows open had a good nights sleep
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

525 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    117
    228
    112
    44
    24
See reviews for
91
212
35
117
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (132)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2013 via mobile

A bit "fawlty towerseque". Room was perfectly adequate but had to ring night porter at 2.30 am as totally fed up with main door bleeping, resulting in lack of sleep. Breakfast was ok but didn't have the wow factor for us.......we've made better camping

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sue M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midleton, Cork, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2013

Stayed one night. Basement room. Ok decor. Clean and comfortable. Strance amount of storage furniture. Do people stay in these places for months. Ate out in Clifton Village as recommended by desk clerk. Also had breakfast out. Perfectly adequate for one night only.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Melissa O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2013

We booked last minute 2 days before going for our night in this hotel.
It's location in Clifton Village is perfect. It's near all the lovely cafes and shops of Clifton and a short walk to the amazing suspension bridge.
The room was clean and a good size with a strong shower and access to a garden too!!
Breakfast was plentiful and the staff were very pleasant.
We tried to book another night but they were fully booked for the day after.

Room Tip: Ours was a bargain at £62 B&B off travel republic. We ended up with a basement room but it was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DKerr33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bury, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
75 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2013

Booked in last minute after a business meeting, lady on reception was fantastic, I had quickly booked online via booking.com and completley messed it up, so when we arrived at 11pm we was not booked in at all, I had inadvertantly booked for the 1st of sept :-(, she changed the booking without any issue at all.
The room was very comfortable, clean and well maintained, with a adequate supply of tea and coffees,
we left early so did not get to try the breakfast but it smelt great.
I would stay again

Room Tip: we had room 201 on the lower ground floor, was very quite
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wiltshire, UK
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2013 via mobile

I booked for 9 of us here for a hen do. The hotel was perfect for our needs - clean, nice bathrooms, good breakfast. The location is perfect for nights/days in Clifton and amazingly good value considering where it is.
We had one complaint with one room, but this was sorted out quickly and perfectly by the manager, so would go back again.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Killer10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rickinghall, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2013

Went to Bristol to do the Gromit Trail, We enjoyed the stay, the Car Park is small but we arrived in good time and had no problems, the building is old and has planning restrictions so it is challenging to make the best of the building the high ceilings are lovely staff were brilliant, very clean and the Evening meals are good value for money. There's a bus stop right outside the door regular bus service. I can see why it does not appeal to the Premier/Holiday Inn type customer but we loved it and would go back, if you are into cycling the cycle path to Bath and back is excellent.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ducati4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bristol hotels
0.2 mi away
The Rodney Hotel
The Rodney Hotel
#31 of 38 in Bristol
425 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Berkeley Square Hotel
The Berkeley Square Hotel
#32 of 38 in Bristol
560 reviews
0.4 mi away
Avon Gorge Hotel
Avon Gorge Hotel
#30 of 38 in Bristol
932 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Clifton Hotel
The Clifton Hotel
#35 of 38 in Bristol
672 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Washington
The Washington
#29 of 38 in Bristol
674 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Bristol
The Bristol
#3 of 38 in Bristol
3,573 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Victoria Square Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Victoria Square Hotel

Property: Victoria Square Hotel
Address: 29-30 Victoria Square | Clifton, Bristol BS8 4EW, England (Formerly (BEST WESTERN Victoria Square Hotel))
Location: United Kingdom > England > Bristol
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 38 Hotels in Bristol
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Victoria Square Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Victoria Square Hotel is spread across two gracious Grade II listed buildings situated on a Georgian square in the most sought-after area of Bristol. Join us to experience authentic hospitality in a unique destination. Clifton Village is home to period architecture combining ornate terraces, luscious gardens, and vibrant streets lined with boutique shops and cafés. Whether you like outdoor activities or you lean towards fashion and food trends, Clifton has just the thing for your individual taste. Located near Brunel's iconic Suspension Bridge and Bristol Zoo, just a couple of minutes drive from the centre and with excellent links to Bristol Temple Meads Train Station and Bristol Airport, we are ideal for both business and leisure. We have a first come, first served car park with limited spaces. Parking is charged at £5.00 per day. Since the introduction of parking restrictions to the Clifton area, to park on the local roads you will need a parking permit from the hotel also charged at £5 per day. Free parking is available on Sundays and bank holidays only. Ranging from intimate to spacious and superior, our 41 bedrooms showcase the timeless Victorian elegance of high ceilings and expansive sash windows, most of which enjoy leafy outlooks. We offer home-away-from-home comforts including free Wi-Fi access and tea and coffee making facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Victoria Square Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Bristol
Bristol Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing