We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Victoria Square Hotel
Nearby Hotels
$110
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$62
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Novotel Bristol Centre(Bristol)(Great Value!)
$95
$92
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Holiday Inn Express Bristol - North(Bristol)(Great Value!)
$112
$93
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$112
$93
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Future Inn Cabot Circus Hotel(Bristol)(Great Value!)
$82
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$128
$97
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
$106
$81
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Premier Inn Bristol South Hotel(Bristol)(Great Value!)
$73
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$52
Travelodge
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
Reviews (595)
Filter reviews
595 results
Traveler rating
137
257
122
49
30
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
137
257
122
49
30
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmain buildingno liftcar parksuspension bridgegarden roomclifton areasash windowspoached eggslower floorsmall roombus stopexcellent locationpleasant hotelshower roomself servicecomfy bedbreakfast staff
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
501 - 506 of 595 reviews
Reviewed April 14, 2012

The hotel is in a nice area with lots of similar properties. Mostly sandstone georgian buildings. The hotel is two separate buildings next to each other. We stayed in a twin room on the top floor of the building next to the main hotel. We were close to a park at the front and a grave yard at the back . Car park very small , we managed to get a parking space at the back of the hotel, because that is where the sat nav took us! The room was clean , large and had a nice sized bathroom , shower enclosure but no bath. Water pressure not brilliant but we survived! After a great night's sleep in a comfy bed, we had to go across to the main hotel for our breakfast. There was a lot of choice, continental or full English, cereals, fruit, toast, yoghurt, really spoilt for choice! We had an attentive waiter who served our coffee with a smile. The restaurant is only open from 7-9am and 7-9pm . The evening meal was o k, I had the salmon tagliatelle and my son had the soup of the day. (Tomato) . All the staff were very helpful and gave us lots of suggestions for places to visit , even supplied a map of the local area so we could find our way around. The shops are a five to ten minute walk away, the bus stop is just outside. We visited the museum which was a great way to spend the afternoon! We would definitely use this hotel again as it was great value for money and very conveniently situated.

Room Tip: rooms at the back are away from the main road, so much quieter.
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank awesomeaud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichaelHamilton, Manager at Victoria Square Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 18, 2012

Thank you for your kind review. I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay. Guest satisfaction is our main priority, so I am very pleased that you found all the staff to be helpful & that you slept well!
We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel again when next visiting Clifton!
Kind regards,
Michael Hamilton

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2012

I came here with my family for a three night stay. Well, I know it is a two star, but basic housekeeping has to be maintained surly?

The bathrooms were small, with dirt in the shower trays and mould growing on the ceiling. My parent’s bathroom smelt like sewage.

Food was diabolical - wrong or no cutlery at breakfast. We ate here for dinner one evening as we were tired, and what a mistake that was. Waitress spilt wine all over my mother, the dining room was too bright and not atmospheric atal, and my father got up and dimmed the lights ourselves. We had to ask for bread and butter and the meals were unseasoned and cold.

The staff, well we never saw a management presence the entire time. The receptionist was rude and aloof, more interested in her nails then us and never got up out of her seat! The older night porter was friendly and helpful.

Area - well it was opposite a nightclub could hear the music till 2-3am on Saturday night. Otherwise very close to Clifton village and the suspension bridge - which I do recommend.

Room Tip: As for a room out of the basement or in the second building which has a beauiful garden
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TinyUmbrella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichaelHamilton, Manager at Victoria Square Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 14, 2012

I am sorry that you did not enjoy your stay at the Victoria Square Hotel. I am very surprised to read your comments regarding staff. I am regularly receiving positive feedback from guests regarding the staff and service provided; it is most unusual to receive such negative comments. I would like to apologies if our usual standards were not met during your stay.

We do not serve bread & butter with our meals as standard, not all restaurants do, however this is of course provided if requested. The food is seasoned, however additional salt & pepper is available on tables so guests can add more to taste if required.

Cleanliness throughout the hotel and in the guest rooms is very important. Rooms are checked daily after housekeeping. I am so sorry that dirt was found in the shower tray, we should not have missed this. Sizes of the bathrooms vary as we are an old listed building; however all are of a good size and functional. Our rates are competitive for the area.

The hotel is situated in Clifton, a much quieter location that central Bristol. There is a bar just along from the hotel, which we have not had complaints about previously. I am sorry if it was noisy during the weekend you stayed.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2012

This hotel is on a quiet square in Clifton, across the square is the centre of Clifton village with all the cafes and shops. The Clifton Suspension bridge is an easy 10 minute walk plus the centre of Bristol is near enough to walk but we took a taxi back to the hotel due to Park Street being a steep hill. The rooms are light due to the high ceilings. The room was nicely decorated with a super bathroom, very clean with lots of tea and coffee supplies. We were on a room only basis and took our meals in Clifton village joining the cafe society. The staff were very helpful. Hotel has a car park plus we found easy parking on the street by the hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank ajk5559
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichaelHamilton, Manager at Victoria Square Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 14, 2012

Thank you for your review. I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay and received good service from the staff. Our location is in the heart of Clifton Village and it is great you were able to take advantage of all the local attractions!

Thank you for choosing the Victoria Square Hotel.
We hope to welcome you to the hotel in the future should you be visiting Clifton again.

Kind regards,
Michael Hamilton

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2012

Stayed in a small double room in the annexe building. Room was neat and tidy with a small flat screen TV. Shower was an issue as the water pressure was poor, and the temperature went up and down of it's own accord. Very good location for Clifton, plus on site parking was a bonus.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cigarmuncher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2012

In good decorative order. The reception staff were very friendly. There is a car park but if you cannot get in there is plenty of on-street parking in Victoria Square. The bed was comfortable and the room was clean. Breakfast was plentiful with some variety. It was good value and good location as we were at a conference in Clifton.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nochein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews