We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor value for money”
Review of Clifton House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Clifton House
Ranked #6 of 52 Bristol B&B and Inns
Cambridge, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Poor value for money”
Reviewed February 9, 2014

The hotel is smart looking but we did not feel that we got our money's worth and all that you are paying for is the location. The room was very small - literally just a bed - no room to hang anything, no space to put your things. There was also a crushed biscuit on the floor, the curtains let in a lot of light from the road, the breakfast is average, nothing special. Couldn't quite see what our £75 per night got us! The light bulb also didn't work in one of the lamps and there's no useful mirror except for a small bathroom one. The location however is very good, close to Clifton and the centre.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bristolvisitor1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cliftonhouse, Manager at Clifton House, responded to this review, February 11, 2014
We apologise that you did not enjoy your stay with us here at Clifton House. We strive to do the best we can to provide the best service possible for all of our guests here at Clifton House. Please be assired all of your comments have been taken into account and dealt with appropriately and as quickly as possible including a replacement full length mirror for the room.

We are often complimented on our variety of choice for our breakfast and apologise that it was not what you would have prefered.

However we hope that the staff were friendly and helpful wherever possible and our location with free parking made up for these mistakes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

413 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    180
    145
    60
    15
    13
See reviews for
88
162
33
76
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 6, 2014

Stayed here a couple of times. The house and décore is lovely but unfortunately that's rather deceptive as the staff complain no end about their guests and the guests complain about the other guests. Needless to say we won't be staying here again. The noise onto the road is load as the windows are not double glazed which disrupts sleep. Also there is a lot of banging and crashing from other rooms as the walls are thin. We stayed in a bedroom which had an attic above and we could here noises from above so maybe they have things living up there. The borrowers maybe.
If you do stay there make sure your in bed by 7pm lights off and if you breath loudly someone will complain. Good Luck whoever has the misfortune of going there.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank 812nnn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cliftonhouse, Manager at Clifton House, responded to this review, February 7, 2014
We apologise that you did not enjoy your second stay with us here at Clifton House, and that unfortunately we could not honour your third reservation. However if we have multiple complaints from other guests stating constant disturbance at innapropriate hours about one particular room, on not one but two seperate occasions we have to take into consideration the enjoyment and well being of our other guests.

Here at Clifton House we work very hard and pride ourselves on offering the best service possible for each individual guest.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed January 20, 2014

I stayed here for 10 days when I relocated from London to Bristol in Jan 2014. Had a lovely time and nothing was too much trouble for the staff, especial thanks to Lorraine and Sabrina whom took great care of me. Superb breakfast. Could not recommend staying enough!!
Thank you
Ross Hicks

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ross H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed January 10, 2014

Stayed in this lovely B&B for one night at the end of last year and found everything to be perfect, lovely big clean rooms, helpful welcoming staff and in a great location. Will definitely stay again!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ElaineGG3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 9, 2014

Very good all round standard BUT unfortunately someone let themselves into our room too - at 2.30 in the morning! If you read the reviews for Oct 13 you will see this has happened before. Reception assured us it had never happened before and was due to confusion caused by some rooms being decorated. We were given one night free. Once, an unfortunate accident but TWICE???

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Spainlovers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exmouth, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2014 via mobile

A lovely old building, in a nice quite spot. We had a very clean family room with 2 singles and one double bed. We all slept well, really enjoyed our breakfast and felt that we had received good value for money. Free parking and free wifi a bonus compared to other hotels that charge for this. The ensuite bathroom was good, and the volume of hot water excellent and plentiful. Front of house was very welcoming as well. We shall be going back again, we really enjoyed the location.

Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Christian P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
159 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2014

My fiance and I stayed at the Clifton House whilst attending a wedding in Bristol and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The room was comfortable, the breakfast was very tasty and we thought the entire stay was extremely reasonably priced. The service was excellent and we received a very warm welcome. We have already recommended to friends and we will be booking in again the next time we visit Bristol.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dombranca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bristol hotels
0.8 mi away
The Bristol
The Bristol
#3 of 38 in Bristol
3,577 reviews
0.7 mi away
Bristol Marriott Royal Hotel
0.3 mi away
The Berkeley Square Hotel
The Berkeley Square Hotel
#32 of 38 in Bristol
560 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Clifton Hotel
The Clifton Hotel
#35 of 38 in Bristol
672 reviews
0.5 mi away
Victoria Square Hotel
Victoria Square Hotel
#28 of 38 in Bristol
527 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel du Vin & Bistro
Hotel du Vin & Bistro
#4 of 38 in Bristol
1,198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clifton House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clifton House

Property: Clifton House
Address: 4 Tyndalls Park Road | Clifton, Bristol BS8 1PG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Bristol
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 52 B&Bs / Inns in Bristol
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Clifton House 4*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury, boutique, hotel style, bed and breakfast accommodation at a fraction of the cost. With free breakfast, on site parking and wifi all included in our rates. Only a 10 minute walk away from Bristol's City Centre, Clifton Village and Whiteladies' Road and only a 5 minute walk away from the BBC and Bristol University. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Clifton House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clifton House Hotel Bristol
Tyndalls Park Bristol

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing