We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best Fish Pie ever!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Botanist Bristol

The Botanist Bristol
Ranked #112 of 1,552 Restaurants in Bristol
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Bar, European, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Families with children, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Bar scene, Business meetings
Dining options: Brunch, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Drinks, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
“Best Fish Pie ever!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2013

First visit to this lovely restaurant, great outside space and charming inside.
Staff were so friendly and couldn't do enough for us Five ladies on a night out to celebrate a birthday. I don't normally order fish pie out as I have been dissappointed before, well it was the best I have had a big thumbs up. All the other meals were also 'home cooked food' soo fresh.
Wine was good quality too!! All in all a really lovely evening.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jenie V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

375 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    183
    119
    37
    14
    22
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Clevedon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Lovely food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2013

Went here for a friends birthday, really good cocktails, nice atmosphere and lovely food! Wide selection & not over priced for what you get.

Outside is lovely in the summer too.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank SScott902
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
36 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Food great. Service needs attention.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2013

Went here for lunch Fri. Sat in the Potting Shed. Hadn't even sat down and waitress asked what we wanted to drink. I said we didnt know what we wanted at that stage. When sat & ready to look at wine list, there was no list on the table. After a while I had to call to the waitress to ask for one. Once wine & food ordered everything else was fine. Food was delicious. Sat outside to finish wine.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank JAW2705
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Amazing food, fantastic service, great atmosphere!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2013

I visit the Botanist regularly, the last time I was there was over 2 months ago with my boyfriend. As always I had a great experience. I went back a few days ago with some work colleagues and I couldn't recognise the place! They ticked every box possible and really excelled in customer service. Even though the place was busy, the host greeted us upon arrival and made us feel welcome. The speed of service and quality of food in the restaurant was outstanding.

The general atmosphere of the place was relaxing and inviting, so after our meal we decided to have a few drinks in the bar. I ordered a couple of cocktails that weren't on the menu. I thought this maybe a big ask - but it wasn't! The bartender was fantastic and made the drinks just as I wanted. I will definitely be going back very soon! This is a great place not only to eat but for drinks - later on in the evening the place is buzzing and you just don't want to leave! Keep up the good work!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Christina890_abc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Shocking”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2013

Have always been a fan of this place going back to the days of Ha ha. Was very disappointed by last nights visit. Went in with friends and we were offered a table but then we decided to sit outside and eat and everything went down rapidly. Firstly the service changes from waiter service to order at the bar (why?!) and to compound matters after choosing what we wanted and having to wait at the bar ot order we were told that the kitchen was too busy to serve outside and we could no longer sit inside. Ridiculous. Promptly left and went across the road to Browns where we had an excellent meal. Poor service and with so many good places to eat in Bristol I won't be rushing back...

  • Visited July 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ColinMcDougall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Botanist Bristol also viewed

 

Been to The Botanist Bristol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing