We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Sunday roast!”
Review of The Victoria Park

The Victoria Park
Ranked #455 of 1,987 Restaurants in Bristol
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Visited today for a Sunday roast and the food was incredible, huge Yorkshire puddings and great presentation! Would 100% come back.

Date of visit: September 2019
Thank Samfirefox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (206)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 206 reviews

Reviewed September 3, 2019

I used to live very close to the Victoria many years ago and went in there regularly. It was a little grim locals pub but has now been totally transformed into an open-plan wood floored bistro pub. A good selection of real ales and from what I heard some very good food. The very large beer garden is probably the best feature now at the Victoria but parking is still as difficult as ever. Bar service was perfunctory but that may be due to how busy it was on the Sunday afternoon that I visited.

Date of visit: August 2019
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Steve R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2019 via mobile

Visited the pub on Friday as a pay day treat. My partner ordered the chicken burger and I ordered the steak burger. My partner asked for no salad and the burger turned up with a massive tomato in it which was all over the bun. My partner was willing to look over the salad being in there until she tasted it. It was so bland and then she asked for a replacement or refund. The bar staff (who was lovely) went to talk to the chef and we could see the conversation as we were sat by the kitchen and the chef was clearly cross and we felt so silly. We were told we could have a replacement if we paid and was told that the tomato didn’t classify as salad at it wasn’t the leaves. The chef was incredibly rude and we were told to like it or lump it. My partner challenged this and there was no budge at all. By the time this all happened I felt so uncomfortable sat in the bar as I had already over heard the chef and my burger was cold. We decided to leave and I wasted £45 on two meals and drinks for neither of us to walk away happy with any food. I feel so gutted about this experience as I really like this pub. I can’t fault the bar staff but this customer service is just not ok. Also- if I am honest, the starter tasted so bland. To use the excuse ‘so
Many people have ordered this and it has been fine’ doesn’t cut it.

Date of visit: September 2019
Thank 243,415
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2019 via mobile

My first experience of a Sunday roast at the Victoria and boy it did not disappoint! Excellent quality and cooking of the beef, fantastic and very tasty vegetables, decent size portions and just delicious . Definitely recommend and definitely will be back

Date of visit: September 2019
Thank benthomas059
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2019

My husband and I went to this pub for a meal this evening. We were looking forward to a nice meal. We both ordered cod, chips, peas and tartare sauce. We were however really disappointed. The fish was very thin and very dry and the batter overcooked. Probably frozen fish. The chips were good but the peas were cold. The amount of tartare sauce given was in a tiny dish and hardly worth having. The meal cost £13 which was very overpriced for what it was. To compare, we very often go to a pub in Dartmouth and order the same. The smallest cod meal costs £8. The fish portion is much bigger than in the Victoria Park. It is fresh and cooked to perfection. The batter is tasty. The tartare sauce comes in a much larger dish with plenty of it. If you aren’t going to do justice to a dish then you shouldn’t really cook it.
We were so disappointed we headed off to another pub for dessert and coffee.

Date of visit: August 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Julie22Bristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Victoria Park also viewed

 
 

Been to The Victoria Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing