We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Highly recommended”

Review of The Gothic Mansion

exterior back lawn to mansion
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
exterior back lawn to mansion
Blue toile double bedroom with ensuite wet room ground floor
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
60 reviews
exterior back lawn to mansion
Blue toile double bedroom with ensuite wet room ground floor
ensuite wet room ground floor
Master ensuite with Jacuzzi bathroom
One of many halls in the mansion and plenty to see
Enclosed and high gated  gardens perfect for the klids and family to enjoy.
Chesterfield lounge
stained glass stair landing, you will just love being in eloquent surrounding s of the mansion
The Gothic Mansion Bristols best kept secret!
Double boudoir
The Gothic Mansion nestled in an acre of grounds and on site car park
Grand reception hall
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Manor House -
13 Bedrooms, 7 Bathrooms, Sleeps 50
Bristol, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 60 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
dan k
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Highly recommended”
Reviewed April 10, 2015 for a stay in March 2015
2
people found this review helpful

We are a large group of families who met at college years ago. Since our college days, we try to meet up in a new part of the country as much as we can. It was 3 years ago that we found The Gothic Mansion and we have returned annually since then. This was our fourth visit. Its amiss of me to say, but im not adept with computers, so i have only just got round to writing a review.
A big thanks to the genuinely lovely and helpful owners who keep this beautiful building going so people like us can enjoy it.
The mansion has been a perfect self catering retreat for us. We have many children of all ages, between our families and i cant think of another place which would be able to cater for all our different needs. We find the mansion is very relaxing and safe environment for our kids. The bathrooms are all beautiful especially the jacuzzi bathroom. There is a games room where the kids have spent endless hours playing on the table football, instead of infront of the computer..a glad relief! The lounge has nice comfy chesterfields and the hall is great for getting everyone round the dinner table to eat. The kitchen is huge and has a large range so we are able to cook big family dinners and avoid going out. The bedrooms are all unique and the whole building has oodles of character. I can 100% recommend The gothic mansion to large groups wanting to stay in comfy, elegant surroundings. It is because of the gothic mansion that we can keep meeting up regularly and will continue to do so.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: we like everything about The gothic mansion
Traveling group: Large Group
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
becca l
Bath, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful place to stay and will definitely return”
Reviewed March 31, 2015 for a stay in February 2015
3
people found this review helpful

The owners greeted us on our arrival, welcoming and friendly. As we entered the house which opens up into a huge hall with a grand staircase.. We just went WOW!.. There are many pictures dotted around and we managed to find out some of the history about The Gothic Mansion.
The house was huge, a maze of corridors and places to explore. It was especially memorable for the children, who just spent the whole time exploring different parts of the house and gardens. As we are a big family group who only get together every few years, we didnt really leave the house, except for an afternoon stroll.
I can really recommend the 3 course English catered meal and the photographer who came and took pictures for a large family portrait. Both were well worth the money.
The gothic mansion is very large and spacious, comfy beds, various rooms with ensuites, plenty of hot water, a beautiful hall with dining, huge lounge and kitchen, games room and off street parking.
It is very secluded, so you will need to look out for it from the road!
It was difercult to leave on Sunday! We had a superb relaxing time and one of relatives has already booked to return for her 70th birthday next year.
I cant thank Misha and Andrew enough for the excellent service we received before and through out the duration of our stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: everything !!!!!!!!!
Traveling group: Young Children
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
anthony f
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“My wifes 70 th birthday surprise”
Reviewed March 24, 2015 for a stay in November 2014
5
people found this review helpful

We were greeted by one of the owners who gave us a tour of the amazing grade 2 listed property. Being in our twilight years it was particularly interesting to be given a detailed history.
Our family quickly adapted to the luxurious surroundings and my wife fell in love with the four poster bed and jacuzzi. The children were particularly happy to run around the house whilst we relaxed in the lounge.
I definately recommend a visit to cheddar gorge and Bath which are both within a 20 minute drive. It was fabulous to catch up with some of the family who come from America. All in all we found The Gothic Mansion a pleasant and relaxing place to stay. My wifes surprise was a great success, enjoyed by all the family.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: my wife loved the 4 poster bed and relaxing in the jacuzzi
Liked least: nothing
Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shahinpat...
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Amazing weekend for our family gathering”
Reviewed March 14, 2015 for a stay in November 2014
2
people found this review helpful

We arrived at The Gothic Mansion, an outstanding immense building, set a long way back from the road, we almost passed it!
There is a large car park and the grounds are very large for a city centre property. It feels like you are in the country but only 20 minutes walk from the centre! We cannot fault our stay, it was perfect for our ever extending family. The owner's were extremely accommodating and we felt that they were on hand if we needed anything. We have booked our return visit. A very special get together. Thankyou to Andrew and Misha.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hnp2015
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Perfect for our family reunion”
Reviewed March 3, 2015 for a stay in December 2014
3
people found this review helpful

The gothic mansion is perfectly situated, has great facilities for adults and children, a large hall where we could all dine together and catch up. It has been a number of years since all the family and the new additions have been in one place and under one roof and we absolutely loved our stay. Andrew was very hospitable and on hand if we needed him.
The gardens are immense and there is an onsite car park. To sum this up we spent a most relaxing and fun time and would totally recommend the gothic mansion. Bliss

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: all the family being able to stay under one roof
Liked least: nothing
Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve H
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Perfect accommodation for a large group”
Reviewed December 29, 2014 for a stay in January 2014
5
people found this review helpful

I organised a stag weekend for 25 blokes and the Gothic Mansion was exactly what we needed. Loads of space for sleeping, eating and relaxing. Easy to find with plenty of parking. Misha was a pleasure to deal with and helped make the weekend a whole lot more enjoyable and easier to organise by arranging for a Lebanese buffet on the Friday and a home cooked indian meal on the Saturday. The city centre is easy to get to by Taxi and was exactly what we needed, would highly recommend.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jlcarey
Merseyside, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Relaxing and welcoming”
Reviewed November 14, 2014 for a stay in October 2014
2
people found this review helpful

Very easy to find, big onsite car park , close to all attractions. The rooms and bathrooms were spotless. The ensuite shower was large and powerful. My daughter had the main ensuite with 4 poster king size bed and large jacuzzi..She was very pleased. It is very apparent that the owners have put so much time and effort into renovating this historic building. We were shown round and given a quick run down of its history. We were told it was a convent,orphanage, care home and rehab in the past. It was fascinating. There are so many attractions and sites around this area and our daughter lives in bristol, which is why we decided to bring the rest of our extended family.
The owners are so welcoming and delightful. If you opt for this property you wont be dissappointed

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: all the family could be accommodated in a massive house
Liked least: nothing
Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing