We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A lovely interesting church” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of St Mary Redcliffe Church

St Mary Redcliffe Church
Ranked #5 of 191 things to do in Bristol
Certificate of Excellence
Bovey Tracey
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“A lovely interesting church”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2013

It was unusual these days to see a large church that still has pews. The only problem we had was that we picked the wrong day as the organist was practising and it was very loud, but it didn't stop our enjoyment.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank rubybooboveytracey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

632 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    412
    191
    27
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“The fairest parish church in all my realm”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2013

That was Queen Elizabeth I who said that, but it's a good quote, and I've been to churches and cathedrals all over Britain and I think this still holds good. A magnificent Church. One can spend hours here. Don't forget to see the large piece of tramline embedded in the church yard blown there in the II world war.
And the cat's gravestone.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank mary w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
152 reviews
80 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“WORTH A VISIT”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2013

Not massive but right on the edge of the city centre and has lots of interesting little features that are highlighted in the guide notes. Connection to the Penn's of Pennsylvania, Cabot's Matthew ship. Mainly I liked viewing the bosses,so be ready to look upwards and possibly take binoculars. There are over 1000 to see and all different.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jane L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“beautiful!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2013

I live in this city, and still think St Mary is an amazing place to visit for it's serenity and design!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Perran-Byles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Stunning”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2013

Very beautiful old Cathedral. Liked the facts all around the church. Interesting enough for children.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Letty250
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed St Mary Redcliffe Church also viewed

 

Been to St Mary Redcliffe Church? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing