We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Quaint” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of St Mary Redcliffe Church

St Mary Redcliffe Church
Ranked #5 of 191 things to do in Bristol
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Quaint”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2012

A short memorable visit to this church in the city centre. The church has lovely architecture like most churches and a nice collection of stained glasses to enjoy.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Karthik M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

632 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    412
    191
    27
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
117 reviews
40 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Fairest & goodliest - just about describes it!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2012

I have lived in Bristol all my life and never visited St Mary Redcliffe Church - how can I not have been there?? I went with my nephew on 'doors open day' and we had a great time. We were allowed to visit the bell tower and even had a go at ringing the bells ourselves! The interior of the church is absolutely fantastic. I recommend everyone visits and sees for themselves.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank fandsparr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
30 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“FRIENDLY WELCOME TO A FASCINATING CHURCH”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2012

I liked the welcome on arrival and friendly staff. The church is beautiful with lots to admire. Has its own cafe but it's closed on Sunday and Monday. If you haven't been before, allow an hour to savour your visit.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank BarryMLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
103 reviews
98 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Don't miss this one”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

You'll rarely find a better town church than this one: remarkably ornate but atmospheric as well. One that even those with little interest in church architecture can appreciate. Arguably more enjoyable to visit than Bristol Cathedral (though that's fine too) and more generous in its opening hours.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank fechenheimkid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“fairest goodliest church in all the kingdom”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2012

these are the words that Queen Elizabeth the first is supposed to have said and I have to agree with her. Beautiful inside and outside the most beautiful stained glass with some saved from the hands of Oliver Cromwell and put back in a higardy state through to some amazing 1960 glass with ordinary people portrayed even a lady with a handbag. Try to get on a tour of the church if possible. Well worth visiting.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank marion701
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed St Mary Redcliffe Church also viewed

 

Been to St Mary Redcliffe Church? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing