We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely country house home” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Clevedon Court

Clevedon Court
Ranked #50 of 191 things to do in Bristol
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Rugby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
240 reviews
79 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Lovely country house home”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2012

We visited on a lovely sunny day which made a difference. This is a very interesting old house, parts of which go back to about the 14th century, I believe. The family who owned it still use it as a holiday home apparently and still has a lived-in feel to it. There is plenty to look at and to occupy a couple of hours.
The gardens to the rear are on a steep slope so aren't easily accessible for the less mobile.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Azalel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    42
    57
    15
    4
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Back in time”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2012

Lovely old property run by the Nat Trust. Although it doesnt take long to go around, as it is nowhere near as big as some of their other places. Still enjoyed a good couple of hours here. Close to Tyntesfield. So can go to both places on the same day.

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
Thank jill h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“A lovely family home”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2012

A quiet retreat with lots of history and lovely cream teas.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank mgcrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
273 reviews
150 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
“Great little national trust property.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2012

We visited Clevedon Court with my parents on a sunny day back in September. Entry to the house is by timed ticket so we did have to wait but not for long. The staff were friendly and knowledgable, I had an interesting conservation with a room guide about Thackeray's visit to the house. I also enjoyed the ceramics on display which I learnt were Elton ware. The gardens are beautiful, we enjoyed ambling up and down the terrraces.

The only disappointments are that it is located near the M5 which is a little noisy and it is only open 2-5 on selected days. However I still recommend a visit, just make sure you check the website first.

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
2 Thank 1066girl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
126 reviews
67 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“lovely”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2012

interesting medieval manor. very small but very lovely. also in a nice situation below hills. there are footpaths going up from the garden that look as though they would be worth doing.

Helpful?
2 Thank JaneyC16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Clevedon Court also viewed

 

Been to Clevedon Court? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing