We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“nice attraction” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bristol Zoo Gardens

Bristol Zoo Gardens
Ranked #12 of 180 things to do in Bristol
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: At Bristol Zoo Gardens you can enjoy an amazing world of animals, all within our award-winning 12 acre gardens. With over 400 species and 9 animals houses under cover, you'll enjoy your visit whatever the weather. We suggest you allow 2-5 hours for your visit to really take in everything we have to offer.By visiting Bristol Zoo you will be directly contributing to the conservation of endangered species and habitats.
Porthleven, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
93 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“nice attraction”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2012

Me and my wife visited the zoo yesterday, there's a wide choice of things to be seen and perhaps a wider range of activities for children!

Try it if you are interested in nature and animals.

My favourite: the seal

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank oresteilgrande
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,290 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    966
    761
    337
    156
    70
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great Day Out”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2012

Great all round day out - food a bit naff, but plenty of picnic places to eat your own, great place for a nice stroll whilst the kids enjoy the animals, especially the Gorillas

Helpful?
Thank Mummy4kids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fantastic day out!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2012

This is the best zoo we have been to. There's great variety of animals and the enclosures are all different. We were there for approx 5 hours and didn't get to see everything! The rope jungle is great fun for those who don't mind heights and we especially loved the tunnels under the seal and penguin pools. At £42 for a family ticket i think it was a good value day out.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank Tina M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Not Bad - Over priced”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2012

Lovely location, but unfortuantely means limited parking. We parked on the downs & walked 5 mins to the entrance to be met by a queue - glad it wasnt very cold or wet as no shelter. We went at end of Feb half term not expecting it to be busy, so I dread to think what its like in July. Annoyingly lots of couples with pre-school age kids in prams who could go when it isn't school holidays, they cant all be teachers!
£30 fee for 2 adults as I had vouchers for free children - family ticket was not value for money so pleased I had discount
Children (9 & 7) loved running around looking at everything, and I felt it was a safe environment and not to have to keep holding their hands
No large animals, but I knew that before I went (they are at Noahs Ark a few miles away) as the site is obviously not large enough to house them now, but enjoyed the seals & gorillas
Cafe - far too small, very busy even on a quiet day. Didn't eat there, went in Clifton (2 mins away) where large selection of eateries awaits.
Shop - usual over priced tat that children mither for at any attraction
Gardens/venue - lovely & think they hold weddings/parties there whcih would be interesting.
As the name suggests, this is called Bristol Zoo Gardens a victorian attraction trying to keep pace with modern life in a space that can not be developed. Rumours are that they are eventually moving out to Jct 17 of M5, huge piece of land, which would then give them the opportunity to compete with the likes of Chester Zoo (massive, similar entrance fee) whcih is excellent.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank jane m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
81 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“A great day out, apart from the cafe”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2012

This is a great place to spend a day, and we have done that many many times! Although the gorillas, hippos and lions make us feel very sad, the rest of the zoo is fantastic. We love the bug house, where you get to see huge spiders, including a black widow which lives in a mock up of an outside toilet. The aquarium and the penguin and seal enclosure is great too. We just wish they would concentrate more on the smaller animals. The hippo enclosure is desperately small - I would say avoid it if you want to leave with a clear conscience. The cafe is pretty poor - overpriced and lacking in variety. Take a picnic and sit on the lawns instead.

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank BristolMum85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bristol Zoo Gardens also viewed

 

Been to Bristol Zoo Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing