We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“reat day out” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bristol Zoo Gardens

Bristol Zoo Gardens
Ranked #13 of 191 things to do in Bristol
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: At Bristol Zoo Gardens you can enjoy an amazing world of animals, all within our award-winning 12 acre gardens. With over 400 species and 9 animals houses under cover, you'll enjoy your visit whatever the weather. We suggest you allow 2-5 hours for your visit to really take in everything we have to offer.By visiting Bristol Zoo you will be directly contributing to the conservation of endangered species and habitats.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“reat day out”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 10, 2011

Nice friendly small scale zoo, great for a day out.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank NickG187069
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,596 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,100
    867
    372
    179
    78
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Columbus, Ohio, United States
Level Contributor
53 reviews
34 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“alright zoo”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 6, 2011

smaller than zoos i am used to in the states. so if you are looking for a big zoo with tons of animals, not really the place. but a nice afternoon walking around with the family, that is if you want to pay the 14 pounds per person

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
Thank Kimdrum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2011

I had high expectations, but came away disappointed.
Despite its long history, this is basically now a children`s zoo, which is great if you take children to visit.
For what you get, the entrance fee is exhorbitant. There are not that many animals to see. A number of pens were empty and in a sad state of repair.
On a positive note, I found the Butterfly house quite interesting and the antics of the meerkats were amusing. The aquarium is worth a visit also.
Overall, I think the zoo has seen better days, but, from my observation, it will keep children happy.
But it did not do a lot for me.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank ffogyday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great value for money”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 28, 2011

Lovely and flat for wheelchair users. Lots to see and do and plenty indoors to warm up on a cold day.

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
2 Thank APlymouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trondheim, Norway.
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Lovely place for a summer outing.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2011

Lovely parkland, interesting animals and much fun.
A lot of interesting information to be found about the animals, and helpful staff. A great day out.

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank Maritno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bristol Zoo Gardens also viewed

 

Been to Bristol Zoo Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing