We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“beautiful open space”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Ashton Court

Ashton Court
Book In Advance
More Info
$195.62*
and up
Hot Air Balloon Flight from Ashton Court
Ranked #22 of 192 things to do in Bristol
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Historic site consists of a sixteenth-century house and deer park with a nineteenth century garden. The mansion is now one of the city's most elegant event venues, hosting weddings, conferences and parties. Two onsite cafés serve wholesome food to casual visitors enjoying the parkland and outdoor pursuits.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“beautiful open space”
Reviewed October 29, 2012

great place for a family picnic or watching one of the mant events held here.....the balloon kite or one of the many music festivals. You can also play golf here. The house is great. Lots of wildlife in the forest and great views over bristol. Walk back into clifton via the suspension bridge. Great day out for exercise:-)

Helpful?
Thank allymcgrath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

311 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    158
    111
    22
    8
    12
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Mountain biking, golf or just walking its got a lot going for it.”
Reviewed October 18, 2012

Lots of great events here, but mainly I ride the excellent mountain bike trails, good for a swift game of golf, picturesque and there are also quite a few deer around and a stately home with attractive gardens - FREE.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Paul G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
80 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Great Place for a walk”
Reviewed October 11, 2012

I've just borrowed a dog to take for a walk at Ashton Court. I've been here before but we are trying out whether we are suitable for a dog and I thought this would be a good place to start.
The first thing about Ashton Court is that it now costs £1 to park your car, whether for an hour or all day. I don't normally mind paying for parking but this was off peak. The walk across the grounds was very pleasant, we walked up to the golf course and along the path and then back down to the house where we stopped for a cuppa. There are tarmaced paths, stone paths and mud paths so it caters for all. The grounds are well maintained, but there is now an off road cycle path which can be quite scarey with a dog going near as they speed through.
The cafe which is now in the back of the house, still by the court yard could do with a couple of points where you can attach the dog lead whilst you get a cup of tea, also maybe an outside bowl for water for the dogs. There are loos in the courtyard and benches to sit on. Cafe good.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Singleyrac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Beautiful setting and fabulous grounds”
Reviewed September 30, 2012

I love walking here. The only fee is £1 to park which is fair enough to visit this lovely place. The walk up the hill from the mansion house is reasonably steep but worth it as the view from the top is great. A lot of easy walks with a buggy. Nice little cafe but always seems full of flies/ wasps. Toilets are in the courtyard and a bit dark and cold. The rose garden is beautiful and a really nice place to sit with a book on a sunny day.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Helen-RP658
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
voiron
Level Contributor
33 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“nice walks & runs”
Reviewed September 26, 2012

Can get busy at weekends cos lots of kids but good for long walks, have golf court at the top with a secret small train attraction only on certain days! Park with deer, good for kites, can walk there from suspension bridge...

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
Thank jmv38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ashton Court also viewed

 
Bristol, England
 

Been to Ashton Court? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing