We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Henbury Lodge Hotel
Ranked #6 of 38 Hotels in Bristol
Certificate of Excellence
Wellingborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
122 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Very nice place to stay”
Reviewed July 15, 2013

We have just returned from a 3 night stay at this hotel.
Service excellent, anything you asked for was delivered promptly and nothing felt like too much trouble.
Hotel spotlessly clean.
Pleasant gardens to relax in with a beer/glass of wine (or two!)
Room had everything that you needed, it was very tastefully decorated and furnished.
Ample parking available.
We had dinner on the first night, fair price and excellent food (we both had the rib eye steak).
Breakfast was freshly cooked and very good.
Drinks a little expensive, but hotel prices generally are.
Local bus runs from outside of the hotel into the city centre and removed all the stress of where to park, we then used the open top tour bus to get around.
A taxi back cost us £11 which seemed reasonable.
A Toby Carvery pub is within walking distance.
Our only criticism was that it was an unusually hot weekend and the hotel does not have aircon, we were however provided with a fan for our room.
Overall we had an excellent weekend and would definitely recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Room 12 was a large attic room
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheSimpsons13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

560 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    333
    183
    32
    8
    4
See reviews for
68
227
31
172
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (133)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Llandrillo, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
147 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2013

This was my visit was just for one night and I arrived mid afternoon... it was change over time for the staff and I was greeted by the owner. The first hurdle was that I had booked the hotel for the next month but I was very fortunate that one room remained, the lady (I think she was the owner) did a great job and explained everything clearly and showed me to my room.
This hotel is hidden away very close to a main road, car parking is fine with extra space around the side. It is a lovely building from the outside and the gardens are very pleasant with seating if you want to enjoy them.
The first thing I noticed was the high quality of the fixtures and fittings in my room and all around the hotel. A tv/reading room with comfy chairs and tables is next to a small bar if you have work to do or just want to read your paper.
I found the phone signal was poor on my 3 mobile but free internet is available and that worked fine. Another guest had a similar problem with Orange. I had to sit in my car to use the phone and used the cars phone system.
My room was excellent, really comfy bed, walk in shower, writing desk... usual stuff but quality.
I had an evening meal in the restaurant and I was very impressed... very good service and a more than adequate menu and the rib eye steak was very nice. Breakfast is worth the little extra and you can have anything from a freshly cooked Full English, to smoked salmon.
I would highly recommend this hotel for business or pleasure and it fights well above it's AA 3 star rating.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John5389
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saltash
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2013

Very friendly staff, always smiling. We were shown to our room in the courtyard by the receptionist and given all the information we would need for our stay. The room was comfortable and clean with a modern, well-finished bathroom. The only 'downside' for us was the low, futon-style bed that we clipped our ankles on more than once, but it was very comfortable (older visitors may find it difficult to get up from).
Dinner was excellent, everything was fresh and home-made with a varied choice that should suit everyone, it was priced sensibly.
Breakfast was probably one of the best I have had in a hotel, again with home-made items including the yoghurt, marmalade, lemon curd and jam.
Well worth a visit.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CornwallFlossie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2013 via mobile

Staff very friendly, warm, helpful and welcoming, particularly the lady on reception.
Hotel has modern, colourful, classy decor and interesting prints on walls. Immaculately clean and tidy.
My room was very quiet and peaceful with all mod-cons including ironing board, hair-dryer, large TV, desk and full-length mirror.
Bed was clean and fresh although rather hard. Pillows very comfortable and clearly good-quality.
En-suite bathroom was very modern with a double-size walk-in power-shower controlled by a digital touchpad (very simple and easy to use). Beautiful black marble wash-basin.
Overall, the room was very comfortable, unique and stylish.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RosaW1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Turin, Italy
Level Contributor
477 reviews
99 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 287 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2013

The hotel is located in a nice area of Bristol, full of trees and in a green environment; very quiet, it is a great place to sleep and relax.
The beds are quite confortable and the whole room very clean.
Unfortunately we did not have the opportunity to spend more time in this hotel but our staying has been very pleasant. The people at the reception were very nice and kind. Good choice !

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Marioviaggiatore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2013 via mobile

Lovely hotel with very polite and professional staff. The room, a courtyard room is spacious and modern. Check in was the smoothest I have ever had. Taken to my room by the reception manager, shown around all the facilities. Cosy lounge bar and seperate lounge.
Now for the food, brilliant, brilliant, brilliant. 2 rossette restaurant....would definitely return here

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank dardebver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2013

Our second visit confirmed the hotel has maintained and improved an already good reputation the service and staff were extremely friendly and helpful, the room was very comfortable and the restaurant menu left us spoilt for choice. We can highly recommend a stay at this quiet hotel
which also has easy access to motorways and Bristol

Room Tip: book ahead as it will quickly be booked out
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Johnsydney11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bristol hotels
4.2 mi away
The Bristol
The Bristol
#3 of 38 in Bristol
3,539 reviews
3.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Bristol City Centre
4.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Bristol City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Bristol City Centre
3.8 mi away
Hotel du Vin & Bistro
Hotel du Vin & Bistro
#5 of 38 in Bristol
1,178 reviews
4.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Bristol City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Henbury Lodge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Henbury Lodge Hotel

Property: Best Western Henbury Lodge Hotel
Address: Henbury Lodge Station Road | Henbury, Bristol BS10 7QQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Bristol
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Bristol
#1 Family Hotel in Bristol
#1 Business Hotel in Bristol
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Henbury Lodge Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This stylish country house hotel in Bristol offers spacious rooms, an award-winning restaurant, free Wi-Fi and large gardens. Housed in a Georgian building, each room at the friendly Henbury Lodge has a flat-screen TV with Freeview channels, tea and coffee facilities and an iPod dock. The AA-Rosette Blaise Restaurant offers a menu that changes monthly, serving locally sourced seasonal produce with daily specials. On fine evenings during the summer months a BBQ menu including fish, sirloin steaks and salads is frequently offered in the walled garden. Cooked-to-order breakfasts include local farm bacon and sausages, Cornish kippers, fresh orange juice and homemade marmalade. Segafredo Premium Bean to cup coffee is also served. There is free ample parking in the grounds of Best Western Henbury Lodge Hotel. The hotel has been under new ownership since April 2009. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Henbury Lodge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Henbury Hotel Bristol

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing