We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK, some disappointments but would give it another go”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Bristol City Centre
Ranked #5 of 39 Hotels in Bristol
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 2, 2010

I'd stayed in City Inn Glasgow before and been very impressed so was expecting big things. I have to admit to being just a bit disappointed this time.

On the plus side, the location is fine - 5 minutes walk from the station, 10 minutes to restaurants and shops. The City Inn philosophy seems to be to offer luxury standard at cheaper prices by skimping on the room sizes and location rather than on service levels as other budget chains do. Therefore, the room was very nicely furnished. It wasn't spectacular though. - maybe that's because this hotel is over 10 years old now and others have now caught it up. The room was also very small - fine for just 1 person & their stuff but I think it may have been a bit cramped if Mrs D had been in tow on this trip. Although there was air-con, it was a bit noisy and rattly. One undisputedlty nice touch though was the I-Mac in each room with free wi-fi.

The restuarant food was good but service not brilliant which let it down a bit. We also had some problems with the air-con and Wi-Fi not working in the meeting rooms which the reception staff tried their best to fix but again these problems spoiled the overall impression a bit.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dinkyenjoyinglife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,250)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,978 - 1,984 of 2,250 reviews

Reviewed June 30, 2010

In Bristol there are many hotels to choose from, however the Cityinn gets the balance right between the price, comfort of nthe room and service.

I had a nice room with aircon and the restaurant was very good if a little pricey, breakfast was first rate and all the staff were nice and all for £89

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PeenutsUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2010

Arrived early, couldn't check in, but was allowed to keep car in car park. Room was very nice with good air conditioning, big comfortable bed and a very nice shower.
The only downside was getting woken up at 6:30am by loud music. We reported this to reception who came to our door to tell us they couldn't find the source, but they could hear the noise from inside our room. So, they went off again and the music stopped shortly afterwards.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thebumisher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2010

Very friendly staff, helpful and always keen to please. The hotel provides good information about the locality and even will recommend a restaurant depending on your tastes even though the City Cafe provides "Egon Ronay" style and quality food. I stay to visit clients and friends alike who are never failed to be impressed by the presence and location of the hotel. I have recommended the hotel to several people and brought a party of 30 to stay there, all of whom thoroughly enjoyed themselves.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 1khuws
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2010

We got an extra ordinary deal £59 B&B for a Sat night which was well worth it. Apple Mac entertainment system was good, staff excellent and the enormous breakfast was fab! Excellent value for money but not sure I would pay the normal price of £130 per night

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank claireWilts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2010

I've just returned from 3 months staying mid week with work in the City Inn Bristol and would recommend for anyone working in the city longterm. The rooms are basic but provide everything you could need for a comfortable stay. The iMac TV/Computer is excellent for evening viewing, internet access and watching dvd's with a selection available from reception.

I had a broken showerhead in one room and reported it when leaving for work, reception checked if I minded someone being in my room during the day and on the return from work it was fixed, no issues!

The staff are friendly and helpful and when staying for a long period of time make you feel very welcome and valued as a guest.

As I flew home every weekend I left a holdall behind the reception with toilettries and items I didn't need to carry home and back, the staff were more than happy to help with this.

The restaurant, lounge bar and room service menus offer a vast selection and if there is something you fancy from the lounge menu while in the restaurant they will make it for you without any issue.

The hotel is an ideal location, come out the back door and through Temple Gardens, turn right and within 5min you are at the waterfront bars and restaurants or keep walking and another 5min and you are in the centre with Cabot Circus shopping centre, cinema and food halls.

We travelled to work from Templemeads train station and again the hotel couldn't have been handier, the station is literally out the front door cross the lights and cut through the square - 4 min!

I'd definately stay at the City Inn again and recommend to friends and colleagues, I even got 2 bottles of wine as a thank you for staying 25nights!

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gillz79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2010

stayed at city inn bristol for 2 nights exellent rooms and standard of cleaning one of the best i have seen the staff are really friendly and reception had good knoweldge of the city.
Breakfast could have been better really good cooked breakfast but poor cold buffet selection running out and not re stocked also staff slow clearing away'
the bedroom at city inn is so comfortable and the imac system is great i would recommend this hotel to everyone and will use city inn again at other cities .

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ward3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bristol hotels
0.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Bristol City Centre
0.5 mi away
The Bristol
The Bristol
#3 of 39 in Bristol
3,866 reviews
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Bristol City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Bristol
0.6 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Bristol City Centre
0.4 mi away
Mercure Bristol Holland House Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Bristol City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Bristol City Centre

Address: Temple Way, Bristol BS1 6BF, England (Formerly MINT Hotel Bristol)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Bristol
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Bristol
#5 Romantic Hotel in Bristol
#6 Business Hotel in Bristol
Price Range: $90 - $193 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Garden Inn Bristol City Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 167
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hilton Garden Inn Bristol City Centre is situated in the modern business district. We’re five minutes from Temple Meads Station with regular trains to London, Cardiff and Bath. Our contemporary hotel is ideally located for exploring all the city and West Country have to offer. Bristol’s popular shopping quarter, Cabot Circus, is just five minutes away. The vibrant nightlife of Bristol Harbourside is a short walk through Temple Gardens. A relaxing day at Bath Spa is just a 10-minute train ride away. Experience views of Temple Gardens and the ruins of the 17th Century Temple Church from some of our stylish guest rooms. Relax and unwind in Recess, our new space where you can eat, drink and meet day to night. We offer amenities such as on-site parking, 24-hour business center, complimentary WiFi, plus a 42-inch TV and Herman Miller desk chair in every guest room. Maintain your workout routine in the fitness room and stock up on snacks at the on-site Pavilion Pantry®. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Bristol City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
City Hotel Bristol
Bristol City Hotel
City Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing