We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel in handy location with friendly staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Bristol City Centre
Ranked #8 of 38 Hotels in Bristol
Certificate of Excellence
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great hotel in handy location with friendly staff”
Reviewed September 29, 2013

I stayed here last night as part of a group. I was very impressed with the hotel, it was smart, clean and convenient. The staff were the right mix of friendly and professional, a special mention to the two night reception staff, one called (Polish spelt) Peter and his British collegue who was very kind and helpful when we had a problem in the night. The breakfast was excellent, a wide selection and was available all morning. We had a room over looking the church ruins, for a Saturday night (with the window open) it seemed quiet. The bed was very comfortable, duvet just the right weight and pillows so comfy I took a picture on my phone of the label so I could search and buy one of my own. I did not use the bar or other facilities so could not comment. My only reason for 4 rather than 5 stars was lack of parking spaces but solved this by some of our party parked a little way up the road paid £1 from late afternoon till 6pm then it was free overnight. Many thanks again to all the hard working staff for making our stay a pleasure.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Annem2602
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChiaG_12, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Bristol City Centre, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
Hello,

I am so please the team looked after you so well and its so lovely of you to mention both Mark and Piort - they are both so pleased with your comments.

Please do contact the hotel and ask for myself if you cant find the pillows and I will place an order for you.

Hope to speak soon. Thanks again for your kind comments.

Chia

Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,064 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    851
    860
    251
    71
    31
See reviews for
174
808
155
572
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (333)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2013

We used this hotel as a base for our University reunion last night.
This is a lovely hotel with very friendly and helpful staff.
The rooms are very well maintained and equipped. Considering it is right on a main road, the sound proofing offered by the triple glazing is superb, didn't hear a single thing all night.
There's free wifi throughout and a Mac in each of the rooms.
The bar was so inviting and quiet, we returned early from the hustle of the city centre to carry on our evening there.
I wouldn't hesitate to return or recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChiaG_12, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Bristol City Centre, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
Hello,

Thank you so much for taking the time to feedback to us!

I am so pleased that the hotel worked so well for your reunion.

Looking forward to welcoming you back soon!

Chia

Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkeley Heights, New Jersey
Level Contributor
46 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2013

I had just come from London and paid 4 times the price of this hotel and this one was 4 times better. First, it is a Hilton Garden Hotel NOT a Waldorf. So the room as small, but, modern. The bathrooms are small but have what they need to have. The IMacs are a nice addition because you do not have to go to the business center to do certain things. Finally. The staff. They were professional, friendly, and represented Hilton well. For £54 - what a great stay.

Room Tip: Get a room on the park side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EzraCornell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChiaG_12, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Bristol City Centre, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
Wow - what a review!

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave this review, the team here are very pleased you really enjoyed your stay and we look forward for your next one.

Thanks again

Chia

Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United States
Level Contributor
325 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2013

Property is nice, new and modern. Staff is mostly helpful, I found the Eastern European staff a bit aloof, but that's probably a cultural thing; no one was rude. Great location if arriving by train, short 10-15 minute walk to the marina/tourist area. Now why they only get ****, the rooms utilize iMac computers as the TV set (former Mint Hotel left-over), made watching TV difficult unless you sit two-feet from the screen. Especially difficult during sporting events such as tennis (Australian open). If they switch out to a full-size TV, they become five-star for the category of hotel they occupy. Definitely recommend this property.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrFozziedoggie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChiaG_12, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Bristol City Centre, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
Hello,

Thank you so much for taking the time to feedback to me. I am glad to see you enjoyed your stay and fully take on board your comments about the I mac/TV and the size of screen.

We are always looking to improve our product and this is something that we will hopefully rectify in the new year.

Thanks again for your comments, hope to see you soon!

Chia

Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed September 26, 2013 via mobile

We were greeted at reception by Ana, she was very friendly and helpful with information about Bristol. Excellent service! The room was a comfortable size, very clean and the shower was one of the best ive experienced in the Uk. The added bonus of a mac to use in your room and the ability to print for free was awesome! The only negative was the carpark, we got there and it was full, the funny thing was that it just stopped at the end and you had to reverse all the way out to get out. There was no where to turn around. Luckily there was street parking which was cheap. But all in all for the money we paid it was excellent value!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AliciaPhotopoulos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChiaG_12, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Bristol City Centre, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
Hello,

Thank you so much for your kind words, Ana was thrilled to recieve your comments.

Hope to see you again soon.

Chia

Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2013

Hotel well situated to explore Bristol on foot. Well maintained, rooms light and airy with all facilities. Staff very helpful. Did not have any problems during stay. Breakfast very good as usual with Hilton.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
Thank ColinHawk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChiaG_12, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Bristol City Centre, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
Hello,

I am very pleased to see you enjoyed your stay with us.

We hope to see you soon!

Chia

Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2013

Not a good experience. From arrival, reception desk was long queues ant not welcoming. The Bar didn't stock a lot of well known drinks, and checking out was painful. In addition the car park was full, so I had park at NCP overnight and renew my parking ticket at 8am in the morning to avoid the parking fine.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
1 Thank Gary W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChiaG_12, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Bristol City Centre, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your stay.

I am really sorry about all of the issues that you faced during your stay and would like to be able to do something to make this up to you.

Please do send me a message with an email address or phone number I could contact you on.

Once again I am very sorry for all of the issues you faced.

Chia

Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bristol hotels
0.5 mi away
The Bristol
The Bristol
#3 of 38 in Bristol
3,539 reviews
0.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Bristol City Centre
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Bristol City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Bristol
0.6 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Bristol City Centre
0.6 mi away
Bristol Marriott Royal Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Bristol City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Bristol City Centre

Property: Hilton Garden Inn Bristol City Centre
Address: Temple Way, Bristol BS1 6BF, England (Formerly MINT Hotel Bristol)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Bristol
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Bristol
#5 Luxury Hotel in Bristol
#6 Business Hotel in Bristol
#10 Family Hotel in Bristol
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Garden Inn Bristol City Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 167
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hilton Garden Inn Bristol City Centre is situated in the modern business district. We’re five minutes from Temple Meads Station with regular trains to London, Cardiff and Bath. Our contemporary hotel is ideally located for exploring all the city and West Country have to offer. Bristol’s popular shopping quarter, Cabot Circus, is just five minutes away. The vibrant nightlife of Bristol Harbourside is a short walk through Temple Gardens. A relaxing day at Bath Spa is just a 10-minute train ride away. Experience views of Temple Gardens and the ruins of the 17th Century Temple Church from some of our stylish guest rooms. Relax and unwind in Recess, our new space where you can eat, drink and meet day to night. We offer amenities such as on-site parking, 24-hour business center, complimentary WiFi, plus a 42-inch TV and Herman Miller desk chair in every guest room. Maintain your workout routine in the fitness room and stock up on snacks at the on-site Pavilion Pantry®. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Bristol City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
City Hotel Bristol
Bristol City Hotel
City Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing