We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good but a few problems behind the scenes”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Bristol City Centre
Ranked #8 of 39 Hotels in Bristol
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 21, 2013

We recently stay here during our recent business trip to Bristol. On check-inn we were greeted by the receptionist who mumbled something to us, it was only on asking her to repeat herself a couple of times did we eventually understand her as she mumbled thoughout the conversation. She took our details and promptly told us that there would be a £50 per night( that was £300 as we were staying for 6 nights) reservation put on our credit card just incase we wanted to eat or drink something at the bar, we told her that this would not be the case but she insisted that this has to happen. On checking our credit card another £100 had been reserved without our knowledge. This was rather off-putting as us being a small business have to keep an eye on our cash flow as you may understand.

Once checked in I was surprised by the size of the room, it was the smallest room I have stayed in for sometime and the bathroom although being well equipped was very very small, my husband had to contort himself to get into the shower.. On first impressions the room seemed clean but of close inspection there was dust behind the side tables and the bed, mould on the ceiling in the bathroom and on the shower screen. There was also a rather cumbersome chair placed in the room which had to be moved to enable us to get into the wardrope. The IMAC in the room is certainly not needed and would have preferred a proper flat screen TV. When trying to watch TV at night the service failed on numerous occasions ( probably due to the strain on the internet)

Another thing is to point out is the lack of acknowledgement when entering the hotel, on almost every occasion either whilst leaving the hotel no acknowledgment was made this was a little concerning to me from a security point of view.

This hotel was certainly not in the same league as other Hilton Hotels I have stayed at in the past. The points I have addressed are not really complaints but should be addressed.

Room Tip: A room at the side of the hotel, front room face onto a very busy main road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank smiler67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,216)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,542 - 1,548 of 2,216 reviews

Reviewed April 19, 2013

Staff were really friendly and helpful, it was clean, tidy and modern. Imacs in the room are a definite advantage. The location was good with easy access to restaurants, pubs and shopping. parking is easy and cost effective

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn
Thank Lisa K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2013

I asked for fruit tea which the hotel did not have.however a young lady called Aga who was helping at breakfast went round to a local supermarket and bought some there and then thus I got my fruit tea. I have never had such excellent customer service and I was so impressed by this I am assured that by mentioning Aga here she will get some form of recognition.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pauline W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2013

I was in bristol on a business trip and stayed at this hotel. It has a great location very close to the train station. It stays 10 min Walk to city centre but there's also a bus station at the front door, to the city centre and clifton bridge. The employees are very helpful and friendly.
The hotel was comfortable and clean. The room was very nice, bed and pillows very comfortable. Terem was a kettle to make tea or coffee in the room, for free. There was an imac computer with free internet access. There was also free wireless acess. The bathroom was not very big mas was Nice and clean and there was a good hairdryer in the room.
There was no room service but there was a small section in reception with some food, toilett products and utilities that you can buy 24 hours a day.
The breakfast was very good.
Just remember to bring an adapter to electric outlet. The hotel sells it for 7 pounds.

Room Tip: The rooms with window to backstreet are more quiet and have a nice view to the garden
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LauraPortugal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2013

We stayed here for a girls weekend away in Bristol and found this hotel a nice clean and comfortable hotel!!
On arrival staff were very pleasant and helpful and we were able to check in at 11 to our rooms no problem.
This hotel is in a great position close to the train station (5-10 min walk) and to the city centre (10-15 min walk) so perfect for what we were after this weekend.
Our room was clean tidy and comfortable and the shower was lovely and a decent size.
The reception staff were very friendly and the lovely man cooking the fried eggs.
The restaurant did become a little busy so either go early or around 10am to avoid 9 am rush as the restaurant is quite small.
We added breakfast on when we checked in and got 2 breakfasts for £15 instead of the £13.99 so I would advise this :-)
Overall a nice hotel and good value for money.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vicci8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2013

My girlfriend and I stayed here as my girlfriend had to visit Bristol for business. The hotel itself is located reasonably close to the city centre (about a ten minute walk) and was perfectly clean and inviting. The room itself had all of the essentials and was clean and tidy, as was the bathroom. The room itself was perfect for a night or two away, but a bit small and basic for anything longer.

The meal in the evening was of good quality, although the portion sizes were very small.

However, the breakfast made up for this, being a buffet, with a wide rage of foods available. Breakfast was very busy though and the room in which it is served is not huge.

The staff were very helpful, although when asking for the bill for the evening meal we were served with two more drinks instead (a misunderstanding on the part of the waitress which was quickly rectified).

All in all not a bad place to stay although it did have its lesser qualities.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bruce C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2013

We stayed here when visiting Bristol for a concert, its location is excellent for getting to places to eat and drink and even the shops.
The parking is very cramped and alot of glass was on the ground too which worried me of the safety of the cars but all was well.
The hotel is very nicely decorated the staff friendly and the room is very well equipped. The iMac is a nice novelty but the speakers did not work very well which was disappointing as i couldn't use my phone to listen to music.
The only fault with the room was the heat, it was very hot despite being cold outside, the window barely opens and we had the air con on but that didn't seem to do much apart from give us both headaches and sinus trouble the following day which is something we don't normally suffer from.
All in all i would stay again due to the location and cleanliness.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Veedubgirl11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bristol hotels
0.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Bristol City Centre
0.5 mi away
The Bristol
The Bristol
#3 of 39 in Bristol
3,780 reviews
0.6 mi away
Bristol Marriott Royal Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Bristol City Centre
0.6 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Bristol City Centre
0.4 mi away
Mercure Bristol Holland House Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Bristol City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Bristol City Centre

Address: Temple Way, Bristol BS1 6BF, England (Formerly MINT Hotel Bristol)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Bristol
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Bristol
#5 Luxury Hotel in Bristol
#6 Business Hotel in Bristol
Price Range: $79 - $209 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Garden Inn Bristol City Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 167
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hilton Garden Inn Bristol City Centre is situated in the modern business district. We’re five minutes from Temple Meads Station with regular trains to London, Cardiff and Bath. Our contemporary hotel is ideally located for exploring all the city and West Country have to offer. Bristol’s popular shopping quarter, Cabot Circus, is just five minutes away. The vibrant nightlife of Bristol Harbourside is a short walk through Temple Gardens. A relaxing day at Bath Spa is just a 10-minute train ride away. Experience views of Temple Gardens and the ruins of the 17th Century Temple Church from some of our stylish guest rooms. Relax and unwind in Recess, our new space where you can eat, drink and meet day to night. We offer amenities such as on-site parking, 24-hour business center, complimentary WiFi, plus a 42-inch TV and Herman Miller desk chair in every guest room. Maintain your workout routine in the fitness room and stock up on snacks at the on-site Pavilion Pantry®. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Bristol City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
City Hotel Bristol
Bristol City Hotel
City Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing