We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent value and service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Bristol City Centre
Ranked #8 of 37 Hotels in Bristol
Certificate of Excellence
Newcastle upon Tyne
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Excellent value and service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2013

Visiting Bristol for an overnight theatre trip, we booked a double room for one night. This hotel was perfect - opposite a park on one side, walking distance to all the central sites, and convenient for transport. However what marked it out for me were the very friendly and helpful staff, our spotlessly clean, quiet, and well-designed room, and small attention to detail (crisp bedlinen, and a state of the art, designer desk chair, perfect for my bad back). It's not a luxury hotel, but it delivered in all the essential areas and I'd certainly not look any further when I visit Bristol again for a short stay. Breakfast was good, not exceptional, but there were specials we could have ordered from the kitchen which we didn't try - and again, we had very good service.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Caroline G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,026 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    829
    844
    251
    71
    31
See reviews for
170
793
153
560
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (325)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2013

This is a good value hotel which I've stayed at before when it was the City Inn and the the Mint. Hilton seem to have refreshed the rooms with new carpet and paint which has been done well.

It's a budget style operation - decent rates, modest size rooms, tiny bathroom etc. But where it scores extra points is that it is clean, modern, extremely comy beds, and the staff seem genuinely interested in helping out. And the computers in each room are a brilliant touch which other hotels really ought to follow - it gives you TV, radio etc but with free internet access too.

The bits that are a let down are really quire minor and not exactly worth worrying about in the great scheme of things. Some wear and tear was evident - bulb out, bare wire on the PC mouse cable etc. Annoyingly the aircon diagram on the wall didnt match the controls which made things confusing.

A tasty buffet breakfast, efficient service. But sadly it was lukewarm due to a combination of cold plates and the food itself being kept below an ideal temperature. Great shame because it was jolly tasty fare. Nice touch was the eggs fired to order whilst you wait.

In all I'd happily stay again and would feel pleased if my company books me here.

Room Tip: I believe the rooms are all pretty much identical. A little road noise if you are at the front but r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LikelyCulprit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Girona, Spain
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2013

A functional, well located hotel and serving some of the best breakfast food I've ever had. My companion & I arrived too late to expect much in the way of service but to our surprise the reception staff ordered in our food whilst the bar staff, Tatjana that is, stayed open to us as required & ensured very late hospitality. Well done indeed.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ray K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, England.
Level Contributor
107 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2013

Upon arrival at 2.30pm the car park was completely full. I ended up having to park, like some other guests on yellow hashed areas parked for delivery. The spaces are tiny in the main bays and the person arriving in a minibus would of had no chance.

The downside to this, is a £10 overnight parking fee. This I feel isn't acceptable when the car park isn't secure, unlike their competitor the Holiday Inn just up the road which charge less and have security gates.

Check in was swift and polite, but there was no information on breakfast or the times it operated.

My room at first appeared great, however a quick freshen up in the bathroom changed that. I noticed the bathroom door had a big hand print on the door in what looked like blood. It might of been make up, but the colour looked odd. I was given a new room without question, although I had only expected somebody to come and clean it.

The room fixtures and fittings were all excellent. The fridge, iMAC, JBL Sound System, Iron & Board, all above and beyond most hotels. Bed excellent and my second room spotlessly clean.

The breakfast next morning was served until 12 as it happens, but this is what stops me rating the hotel with 5 points. I was seated and served coffee then left, no explanation of help yourself etc. The table had a menu which said to order from your server, who never came back. Being vegetarian and wanting to order from the card I went back to the door and spoke to the lady there and requested some items. I went to the self serve too, but plates were not to be seen, eventually found on a shelf under it. The selections were very meat heavy, no signs of any mushrooms or hash browns which is unusual. The toaster just produced a lot of smoke but didn't toast, nobody could seem to get anything other than warm bread out of it. The fruit bar was practically empty. The cook to order chef had vanished just leaving a frying pan on the ring and wasn't seen. I had to ask a second time for my vegetarian order which then suddenly appeared announced very loudly and abrupt - but to the wrong table. I wasn't offered any further coffee or too see if everything was ok. This was a complete let down.


Overall: Poor breakfast - Poor Parking

For £75 one night B&B+Parking they really need to raise their game as it didn't stack up as good value.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 504gld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2013

Clean, functional, well situated for eating options (pubs, restaurants etc) around the nearby waterways. Easy access from M32 and just a short walk from Temple Meads main train station. Pity about £10 overnight parking charge, especially as the car park is open to the road. Thanks for the free internet.

Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Driver30May
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2013

I picked this hotel without realising where it was - but the hotel location was amazing - so central and easy walking distance of the city. It was really lovely inside - very new, very clean and well equipped. We thought it would be noisy as groups of people were checking in, but the sound proofing was perefect. The breakfast was good and hot. I would certainly recommend this to anybody, and would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: The garden rooms have a view over the Temple Gardens and are very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank anne111uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
71 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2013

I stayed here with two other colleagues on the Wine & Dine package available on Hotels.com for only £80. We were actually eating elsewhere that evening but asked if we could just have our wine in the bar before we went out. To our amazement we were offered one full bottle of wine/prosecco with each room. We could not believe how good this offer was for the already discounted rate we had for the room! We were also given a selection of starters and nibbles in with the price.

Hotel was being rennovated whilst we were there so smelled a little of paint, but can't grumble at all due to the price we paid!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JenifaHaych
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bristol hotels
0.5 mi away
The Bristol
The Bristol
#4 of 37 in Bristol
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,472 reviews
0.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Bristol City Centre
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Bristol City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Bristol
0.4 mi away
Mercure Bristol Holland House Hotel & Spa
0.3 mi away
Mercure Bristol Brigstow Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Bristol City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Bristol City Centre

Property: Hilton Garden Inn Bristol City Centre
Address: Temple Way, Bristol BS1 6BF, England (Formerly MINT Hotel Bristol)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Bristol
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Bristol
#5 Romantic Hotel in Bristol
#6 Business Hotel in Bristol
#10 Family Hotel in Bristol
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Garden Inn Bristol City Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 167
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton EMEA, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Bristol City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
City Hotel Bristol
Bristol City Hotel
City Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing