We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Another case of Hilton diluting their brand quality”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Bristol City Centre
Ranked #8 of 37 Hotels in Bristol
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Another case of Hilton diluting their brand quality”
Reviewed January 22, 2013

Nothing wrong with the hotel itself, rooms are very nice, everywhere is clean, tidy and new. Parking is something like 10GBP so park on the street round the corner for free after hours. Problems arise when you go to the bar. We were charged 11.90gbp for 3 soft drinks, complained and were given free drinks to compensate but not before being told that 'hotel bars are expensive'...thanks for that. Management, grow up with your bar pricing, you're clearly hoping punters won't make a fuss, then you will have an excellent hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Greg S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,054 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    844
    857
    251
    71
    31
See reviews for
171
805
154
569
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (331)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed January 20, 2013

Stayed alone but for a couple of days away with friends in Bristol.

Very good value for money. Clean, Very Friendly staff, great buffet breakfast, ideal location close to bars, shopping and the train station. Free WiFi.

If the price was right again I wouldn't bother looking elsewhere as this place is ideal.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Truereview989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
195 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
Reviewed January 19, 2013

We spent two nights here this week, the staff could not do enough to ensure we enjoyed the stay. They were polite, extremely helpful, courteous and very pleasant. The food was superb and we were made to feel like we were staying with friends. The parking is excellent and good value at £10 a night. A large shopping centre is a 10 minute walk away and a taxi to the Hippodrome cost us £5 each way which was very reasonable. We would definitely stay here again. There is a 24 hour snack section with microwave meals and drinks. The bar food is very good and reasonably priced. Park view rooms are worth a few pounds extra. The breakfast is varied, fresh fish available which I always enjoy, the waffle iron is Worth a try and staff are happy to show you how to use it.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed January 16, 2013

Excellent facilities friendly staff who can not do enough for you to make sure you have a very enjoyable stress free stay. Excellent variety at breakfast with the choice of continental or Full English breakfast with as much as you can eat. Well worth a stay with this hotel and not over priced.

Room Tip: Pay an extra five pounds for an upgrade room. We were on the third floor and had no problems sleepin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mozzy1814
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 15, 2013

It is a very good hotel for people travelling in Bristol. The location is just perfect for me, very close to both Cabot Circus and train station, only 10 or 5 mins walk.There are route 8,9,500 at the gate of hotel, which can reach the Brunel's ss Great Britain (500) and Clifton Suspension Bridge(8 or 9).

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AoifeAda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Austell, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed January 14, 2013

We have stayed at this hotel over the last 6 or 7 years and through three name changes. We have not been disappointed on our stays. Very clean rooms. Lovely Serta beds (would like to buy one for ourselves if someone would tell me were to buy?) had a great nights sleep.
Everything you need for your breakfast too. Many thanks to the staff we met for their help.
Far better than some of the closer hotels in this area.
Stayed before Christmas and again January
Will be back.....:)

Room Tip: We always have a room on top floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TeamMartin1952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham
Level Contributor
55 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2013

Stayed here for my 30th birthday and wasn't disappointed with the hotel.it was smart,very clean and the best feature was the imac apple laptop which was also a tv.This came in very useful as there was a radio too.staff very friendly and helpful.Only down fall was its about a 20-25 min walk to the pubs,clubs and some restaurants,although there were some nearer by too but the harbourside was a good 25 min walk and when the weather is cold,this isnt good but its not an im possible walk and we paid £6 for a taxi to the habourside and the highest someone tried to charge us was £30 back, this was over-priced and we eventually got a taxi for £8 back.
Bristol is a very historical city and has many restaurants but I did not like the night life much.Oceana did not seem to have a good atmosphere.Pitcher and piano was nice to have a few quiet drinks and the weatherspoons by the habourside was very cheap of-course but I felt the night life wasn't good.The kebabs were very nice though and generous amounts given too.If I was to go to Bristol again,I would make sure I planned it out better as it is very easy to get lost.I would definitely stay in this hotel again but I wouldn't go to Bristol again,although I had an amazing time still.There is a £10 charge for parking too and we were allowed to check in almost 2.5 hrs early too.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 575Booboo575
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bristol hotels
0.5 mi away
The Bristol
The Bristol
#4 of 37 in Bristol
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,518 reviews
0.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Bristol City Centre
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Bristol City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Bristol
0.4 mi away
Mercure Bristol Holland House Hotel & Spa
0.3 mi away
Mercure Bristol Brigstow Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Bristol City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Bristol City Centre

Property: Hilton Garden Inn Bristol City Centre
Address: Temple Way, Bristol BS1 6BF, England (Formerly MINT Hotel Bristol)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Bristol
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Bristol
#5 Romantic Hotel in Bristol
#6 Business Hotel in Bristol
#10 Family Hotel in Bristol
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Garden Inn Bristol City Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 167
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hilton Garden Inn Bristol City Centre is situated in the modern business district. We’re five minutes from Temple Meads Station with regular trains to London, Cardiff and Bath. Our contemporary hotel is ideally located for exploring all the city and West Country have to offer. Bristol’s popular shopping quarter, Cabot Circus, is just five minutes away. The vibrant nightlife of Bristol Harbourside is a short walk through Temple Gardens. A relaxing day at Bath Spa is just a 10-minute train ride away. Experience views of Temple Gardens and the ruins of the 17th Century Temple Church from some of our stylish guest rooms. Relax and unwind in Recess, our new space where you can eat, drink and meet day to night. We offer amenities such as on-site parking, 24-hour business center, complimentary WiFi, plus a 42-inch TV and Herman Miller desk chair in every guest room. Maintain your workout routine in the fitness room and stock up on snacks at the on-site Pavilion Pantry®. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Bristol City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
City Hotel Bristol
Bristol City Hotel
City Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing