We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Clifton Hotel
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
$78
Marriott Hotels
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$62
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Future Inn Cabot Circus Hotel(Bristol)(Great Value!)
$82
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$120
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$110
$107
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$114
$104
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$106
$85
Mercure
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$88
$84
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$96
$87
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Ibis Bristol Centre(Bristol)(Great Value!)
$68
$61
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (788)
Filter reviews
789 results
Traveler rating
145
227
147
134
136
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
145
227
147
134
136
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfresh fruitloose teaground coffeenight portercity centrevisiting bristolstayed here for one nightcliftonuniversity
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
716 - 721 of 789 reviews
Reviewed December 13, 2009

Really lovely cafe, amazing flat White coffee served just like in oz, from knowledgeable staff which is unusual. Room was fine, small but for the price, expected. Overall a quaint and fun stay.

    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tthetravelcatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2009

My partner and I booked in on the Friday evening to a friendly receptionist and a lovely looking cafe and were given the key to room 36, all good.
On opening the door to the room we were unfortunately a little disappointed, it was a standard double, as booked, but looked more like a spare room at my younger brothers house. The lamps either side of the bed were old and very worn, and wonky, and the bed almost took up most of the room. The bathroom didn't have a bath, not mentioned on the website, and on the whole it was more like a hostel in Newquay than a funky cool hotel in Clifton.
We went back down to reception and complained that it wasnt anything like the pictures on the website and that we would like a better room to which the receptionist was very helpful and "upgraded" us to an executive double. This room was much better but to be honest was more like a standard double by a normal persons expectations.
At night the noisy stairs and other guests made for a restless night.
All in all it was less of a romantic stay and we didn't feel that we wanted to stay in the room for longer than necessary, not my idea of a nice break.
The website promises much more than the hotel can deliver and unfortunately we would not recommend this hotel for a romantic weekend break.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jimalmighty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CliftonHotelManager, Manager at The Clifton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 15, 2009

I was very sorry to read that the reviewer's expectations of the Clifton Hotel were not met during their weekend away, and that this in turn led to a less than enjoyable experience. It should be noted that all of our rooms are different, since we aim to provide individual rooms, as opposed to the standardised nature of the rooms in big corporate chains, and as such our website only provides an indication of the standard of rooms we offer. We are currently in a process of rolling refurbishment, going room by room repainting, renewing beds and replacing bathrooms, and although this was a process which was slowed by the economic downturn at the start of 2009, we are now pushing ahead with our plans as quickly as possible. However our most recent AA inspection confirmed that all of our rooms do meet the requirements of a 2* hotel, and while we will continue to do all we can to improve the standards we offer, future guests can feel assured that any room they are in will at the very least meat those standards, if not exceed them.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2009

Stayed here whilst catching up with friends in Bristol. Beautiful old Georgian building with independent cafe in reception (much better than a hotel lobby!) and wine bar/restaurant downstairs. Reception staff very friendly and helped me out with directions and places to eat. Room was well organised and clean. Liked the hot chocolate and fresh fruit - made it different to the normal bog standard hotel. Good idea!
Definitely using The Clifton again.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vettypetty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2009

Very welcoming, friendly staff. Room very comfortable and warm. Fresh tea leaves and coffee with cafetiere a nice extra touch, as was bowl of fruit. Excellent breakfast in atmospheric surroundings with up-to-date news on TV at the same time - what more could one want.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gustavNewcastle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 22, 2009

What can I say except, it was a great stay. After reading these reviews I was very worried about my stay but now I am very happy I stayed. I will be honest the room I stayed in wasn’t the biggest, so if it’s a massive room you are looking for, then this isn’t the hotel for you but if it’s a hotel with friendly staff and a good atmosphere then this is the place for you. The rooms where very clean the staff where great, they went out of their way to help with directions etc. The cafe was great, loved there specialist teas and coffees, all with their own little touches. Would defiantly stay again!!!!

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sarahbeech
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews