We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good value budget hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Clifton Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Clifton Hotel
Ranked #35 of 37 Hotels in Bristol
Norwich, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Good value budget hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2013

The bed was comfortable, the shower effective, the staff welcoming. This is a few minutes walk from the centre of Bristol, and represents great value for money. OK, so the rooms are a little shabby, but if you are staying for one night on business does that matter? If yes, be prepared to pay a lot (and I mean a lot!) more money at better known chain hotels in the city centre. The breakfast arrangements are a little confusing; we paid an extra £5 each on top of the room rates but it was not clear from the breakfast menu to what this entitled us (I ended up with toast and tea). The extra £5 also entitled us to "complimentary" fresh fruit, and tea making facilities in the rooms, a deal that seems to redefine "complimentary". But try finding a café that will provide any sort of breakfast for a fiver, let alone the fresh fruit and tea. If I need to stay overnight in Bristol again, I'll come back here.

Room Tip: Worth paying £5 to have tea making facilities in the room, plus the breakfast
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Clive S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jess M, Manager at The Clifton Hotel, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Dear Guest,

I am glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. Following recent feedback we have simplified the breakfast system to one option including a breakfast buffet as well as cooked options should you wish. All our rooms also have complimentary fruit and fresh tea and coffee so I hope you enjoy these again when you return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

627 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    88
    170
    125
    119
    125
See reviews for
97
149
89
178
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (151)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Droitwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2013

We stayed on Sunday 25th August 2013 as Mum , Dad and baby Molly at 22 months . We stayed in room 22 which was comfortable but we could have done with a bigger space . I asked the reception staff when booking if it was child friendly and was told it was . I asked about parking and we could pre book but could probably get on road FOC parking . I pre booked their own parking provisionally at £6.50 and glad I did . Bristol is one of the hardest cities in the UK to find car parking spaces . We paid £61 for the night , but looks like we could have negotiated cheaper . This is not a Child Friendly hotel as you cannot get a pram or pushchair in easily and coming to think of it , nor a wheelchair . The reception isn't a proper Reception , it 2 people behind a table , who are more like an interview panel . It seemed a shame to disturb them as they give the appearance of been more important than the customers . I asked about help getting our luggage and baby stuff to our room and may well have asked them to organise a moon landing . The corridors are cramped and in need of a makeover with a carpet upgrade . The hotel car park is useful and covered , but as an extension of the hotel , needs the peeling paint on the ceiling repainting and old furniture throwing away . The Tarmac leading to the garage needs resurfacing . The Rack Restaurant is busy unlike the Caffe and has an excellent bar manager from Northern Ireland who recognises a customer when he sees one . We had 2 drinks each with a main course for £38 for myself , wife and baby with the 15% hotel discount . On the Monday morning , we decided not to even ask for a breakfast at reception as it looked like it would be hard work , so onwards to breakfast at Bristol Zoo for a welcome Bacon Butty . The Wifi is obtainable free with a coffee , but they wouldn't serve us a coffee as the coffee machine had just been cleaned . They did provide a nice blanket for our travelling cot when asked . This hotel is for younger weekenders and with a bit of love could sell out with experienced staff . It's seen better days , but could return as it is a surberb location for Clifton and the University .

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from Racks and on the first floor . Ask about about the cost of extras and negot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank philip s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jess M, Manager at The Clifton Hotel, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Dear Guest,

I am sorry to hear that you didn’t enjoy all aspects of your stay but glad that you liked the restaurant. The hotel is child friendly in that we welcome children in the hotel, provide roll away beds or cots and games in the café area. The entrance does have a few steps to the front however there are always staff on hand to help carrying bags or push chairs and I am extremely disappointed to hear that you were not helped. I will be addressing the customer service issues with staff working at the time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2013

Noisy until the early hours; rooms not up to standard; reserved car parking space occupied by someone else; overcharged for breakfast and refund refused; customer service awful. It seems we overpaid substantially compared to other reviewers. Having emailed a complaint on the day of departure and no reply or acknowledgement received; wrote directly to the Managing Director and 2 weeks on, still no reply. If you are 18 and want a cheap place to stay, probably ok, but otherwise avoid at all costs.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PJMB1941
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jess M, Manager at The Clifton Hotel, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Dear Guest,

We aim to provide comfortable and clean budget accommodation so I am sorry to hear that you feel your room was not up to standard. I am sorry also that another guest parked in your reserved space and that you were overcharged for breakfast. I hope that a refund was not refused and instead that there was some sort of miscommunication. Customer service is an aspect of the hotel we particularly pride ourselves on and often receive complements about. Any letters of any nature received regarding guest experience with us are treated with high regard, as genuine feedback is the best way for us to make positive improvements to the hotel. Please don’t feel yours has been ignored and please do send it again should you wish and I will be happy to respond.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Bristol hotels

Leuven, Belgium
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2013

Personally, I enjoyed my stay here. A lot of the poor reviews are unfair. This is a budget hotel, not a 5*. The location is good, with the city centre a 15min walk downhill. There are plenty of places to eat nearby, too. The hotel's restaurant serves up some pretty good food, though it is a little pricey. I opted for the soup of the day most evenings as it's the cheapest option at £5. The room wasn't exactly spacious but I wasn't expecting a huge room.

My only real criticism is that breakfast was incredibly slow. So slow that I witnessed another visitor get fed up and leave after waiting over 25 minutes. They insist on providing table service. You can't just grab some toast yourself, or some cereal. You have to be seated and ask for what you want. Breakfast only starts at 7am. I arrived for breakfast at 7am each morning, but didn't manage to leave before around 7:40am. If you're here on business and need to be somewhere, it's quite awkward.

The breakfast was good. Expensive though. I had breakfast included in the price of my room and I'd recommend this, else you'll spend a lot more than you'd like to on a fry up. Don't go for the regular fry up; it'll be too small, judging by the size of the large one.

The staff were lovely and very helpful. If I visit Bristol in the future, I'll most likely return to the Clifton Hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bluebeard19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jess M, Manager at The Clifton Hotel, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review us. I am glad to hear you enjoyed your stay at The Clifton and found the location convenient. You will be pleased to hear that following recent feedback on breakfast service we have made a few changes! A buffet table is now present allowing guests to help themselves to drinks and non cooked items with cooked breakfast made to order. We hope that this will improve speed but still offer the same quality food. Please do come back and give it a try!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
531 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 174 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2013

Friendly, helpful staff but the hotel itself has seen better days. It will be interesting to see what it's like after the refurb. It was "cheap" so as ever you get what you pay for. Our room was quite big, the beds were clean and comfortable but the carpet was grubby and the bathroom very tired with a horrible shower curtain. Location was great, near Park Street/Whiteladies Road so loads of places walkable. Didn't have any food here as the Lockside Cafe is the place to breakfast if you're in Bristol. Plus loads of good eateries near by.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JWMW101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jess M, Manager at The Clifton Hotel, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Dear Guest,

I am delighted to hear there were so many aspects of the hotel you found pleasing, that you enjoyed the location for your trip to Bristol and that the accommodation was both clean and comfortable. You will be pleased to know that over the next few weeks all of the older carpets in the hotel are being replaced and that over a rolling program we are looking to replace all shower curtains with glass screens.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nuneaton, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2013

Can't believe this was only £25 for the night!

Very friendly service on the front desk. Can't really fault the room. We had a nice double bed, big sash window, TV, kettle, hair drier, fresh loose leaf t&c, bowl of fruit, biscuits, adequet size bathroom. Plenty of pillows, quilts, sheets, blanket.

Decor was a little tired, but for the money, you can't go wrong. Plus I believe they are in the process of refurbishing.

Was a bit worried about noise from the bar, as we were on ground floor. But was perfectly quiet.

Great location, walkable to city centre - but also plenty to do in Clifton area.

Would certainly stay here again if visiting bristol

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mitch M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jess M, Manager at The Clifton Hotel, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Dear Guest,

I am glad to hear you took advantage of one of our special offers and were able to enjoy The Clifton at a discounted rate. Thank you for taking the time to review us – as a small and independent business feedback is very important to us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2013

Don't be put off by the reviews! The hotel staff were friendly & helpful (especially Nathan) and went out of their way to sort out baggage,taxis, directions and helpful advice. The room was clean & comfortable. Great breakfast sitting outside in the sun with an excellent veggie option. Would definitely visit again. Maybe the decor is a bit tired but the smiley staff & good value for money more than make up for this.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Felicity S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jess M, Manager at The Clifton Hotel, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Dear Guest,

I am so pleased that you found the hotel staff (especially Nathan!) so friendly and helpful; we pride ourselves in providing excellent levels of customer service. We look forward to welcoming you back to enjoy another sunny breakfast should you return to Bristol in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bristol hotels
0.1 mi away
The Washington
The Washington
#28 of 37 in Bristol
3.5 of 5 bubbles 645 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Berkeley Square Hotel
The Berkeley Square Hotel
#32 of 37 in Bristol
3.5 of 5 bubbles 537 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Rodney Hotel
The Rodney Hotel
#31 of 37 in Bristol
3.5 of 5 bubbles 411 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Victoria Square Hotel
Victoria Square Hotel
#29 of 37 in Bristol
3.5 of 5 bubbles 495 reviews
0.7 mi away
Avon Gorge Hotel
Avon Gorge Hotel
#27 of 37 in Bristol
3.5 of 5 bubbles 891 reviews
0.8 mi away
Premier Inn Bristol City Centre (Lewins Mead) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Clifton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Clifton Hotel

Property: The Clifton Hotel
Address: St Paul's Rd | Clifton, Bristol BS8 1LX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Bristol
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 37 Hotels in Bristol
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — The Clifton Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Clifton Hotel is situated in an ideal location for visiting Bristol within walking distance of both Clifton Village and the City Centre. A small and independent hotel part of the Clifton Hotels Group we provide clean and comfortable accommodation at competitive prices. We welcome guests with a smile priding ourselves in providing levels of customer service that were mentioned in our recent AA report as being of five star standards. We hope that guests enjoy the relaxed café reception area and our busy and vibrant restaurant Racks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Clifton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing