We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (974)
Filter reviews
974 results
Traveler rating
239
328
216
107
84
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
239
328
216
107
84
Show reviews that mention
All reviews fresh fruit loose leaf tea ground coffee clifton village whiteladies road budget hotel an update bit dated no lift breakfast staff excellent breakfast city centre full english cooked breakfast very pleasant stay would stay again short stay
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
18 - 23 of 974 reviews
Reviewed June 11, 2019

We stayed here for a long weekend. We loved it. All of the hotel staff were met were so cheerful. Our second floor ensuite room was clean, comfortable and we loved the in room fruit / biscuits/ hot chocolate/ posh coffee in addition to the usual offerings. We slept well during our stay.

The basement breakfast room was bright and there was a vast choice of cold buffet and cooked options.

We will stay again on our next visit to the city as we had a great stay and feel the Washington provided great value accommodation for the room rate we paid.

Date of stay: May 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank Turmstrasse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WashingtonManager, Assistant Manager at The Washington, responded to this reviewResponded June 12, 2019

Dear Turmstrasse,

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave feedback on your stay. We're part of a small independent group in Bristol and guest feedback is so important to us.

I am absolutely delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. We have an absolutely wonderful team that work very hard to provide the best service that they can to our guests. I must admit that this is made all the easier by having such wonderful guests come to stay with us. I'm glad you enjoyed the complimentary treats in the room and the breakfast choices we offer.

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future. Please do call us directly in order to receive the best available rates.

Kind regards,
Fabiola



Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2019

Very useful location map available at reception. Staff very friendly and helpful. Clean room, comfortable bed with basic furnishings but completely adequate for need. Breakfast offers a good choice and with cooked breakfast.

Date of stay: June 2019
Trip type: Traveled with friends
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank anon102016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WashingtonManager, Assistant Manager at The Washington, responded to this reviewResponded June 10, 2019

Dear anon102016,

Thank you so much much for leaving a review. Your feedback is very important to us and helps us to provide the best service possible. We always aim to provide excellent staff service so we are so happy that you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope that you will choose to visit uis again next time you are in Bristol! Please remember to book directly with us for the best available rates

Many thanks

Hannah

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2019

The Hotel location is excellent, price was very reasonable. The hotel staff was very friendly, room was good too but furniture was bit old. Breakfast was very good and delicious with many options. I liked it and would recommend it strongly.

Date of stay: June 2019
Trip type: Traveled on business
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Camper33573716364
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WashingtonManager, Manager at The Washington, responded to this reviewResponded June 10, 2019

Dear Camper33573716364,

Thank you so much for leaving a review. As an independent hotel your review is very important to us and helps us to compete with the larger hotel chains. We are so happy that you enjoyed your breakfast as our team work really hard to provide excellent service. We are always looking for new ways to refurbish the hotel, so we hope you will stay with us next time you are in Bristol so that you can see the new improvements

kind regards

Hannah

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2019

Staff really helpful. Room just a bit dated. Could do with New Beds would be an improvement need a lick of pain. Breakfast first class breakfast staff very obliging. Would stay again but beds need sorting. Please.

Room tip: Just needs update
Date of stay: May 2019
Trip type: Traveled with friends
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Susan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WashingtonManager, Assistant Manager at The Washington, responded to this reviewResponded June 3, 2019

Dear susan W,

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave feedback on your stay. As a small independent local group guest feedback is very important to us in providing the very best service we can!

I am glad you enjoyed the tasty breakfast with the continental buffet and full cooked food. I have passed your comments on to the breakfast team, they are happy to read you enjoyed your breakfast!

We are doing lots of ongoing upgrades and refurbishments across the hotel.

I do hope you stay with us again and are able to enjoy all of the improvements that we are making. Please do remember to book with us directly for the best rates.

Best wishes,
Fabiola
Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2019

Basic Hotel. Clean and comfortable beds. Breakfast plenty of choice. And cooked to order was yummy.
Very good value for a stay close to the centre of Bristol. Off road parking on a first come first served at £7per night

Date of stay: May 2019
Thank CAROL T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WashingtonManager, Assistant Manager at The Washington, responded to this reviewResponded June 3, 2019

Dear CAROL T,

Thanks so much for taking the time to leave feedback on your stay. We're part of a small independent group in Bristol and guest feedback is so important to us.

I am happy to read you found the hotel nice and clean, the housekeeping team works very hard to make sure our guests are staying in well equipped and clean rooms, and they do spend plenty of time taking care of the communal areas as well.

I'm delighted that you had such a positive experience with our staff and that you enjoyed our breakfast which we are constantly working to make sure is the best possible start to the day

We look forward to welcome you again at the Washington Hotel soon. Please do not hesitate to contact us directly to get the best available rates!

Kind regards,
Fabiola
Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews