We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic staff doing their best in a tired hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Washington

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Washington
Ranked #29 of 37 Hotels in Bristol
Level Contributor
29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Fantastic staff doing their best in a tired hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2013

We arrived at midnight having been in touch in advance to reserve a parking space - unfortunately when we got there another guest had parked across two spaces. The night staff were really helpful, and found us a space outside the hotel for the night (they did offer to try and contact the guest and get them to move their car, but we decided it was just easier to deal with it the next day). The next day we got into our reserved space with no problems.

All the staff were lovely and helpful with anything we needed. We were in and out of the hotel and no matter how many times we walked past the reception they smiled and said hello.

The hotel is tired - saying that, the room was comfortable and very clean, but the shower leaked at the tap connection so we used a hand towel to stop it flooding the bathroom. It could do with a refurbishment - but if it did I'd also expect the cost of a B&B stay to go up by at least 50% - for what we paid I wouldn't have expected anything more.

Breakfast was great, again the staff were very helpful.

If you're looking for somewhere to stay without the bells and whistles - but that is clean, friendly and comfortable, then I would recommend The Washington.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank UKandbeyond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WashingtonManager, Manager at The Washington, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Dear UKandbeyond,

Thank you very much for taking the time to review the Washington as a small Guest House, feedback of any nature is vital to us so that we can improve.

I'm really very pleased that you enjoyed your stay and also that you found the staff to be so accommodating and friendly - this is an area into which we put a lot of training, so it is great to hear that it is paying off. I'm sure they will appreciate this feedback when I discuss it in our meeting later.

With regards to the refurbishment of the Guest House, I can assure you that we are always working to improve for future guests. Just yesterday a room was reopened for sale having been painted and had new curtains. We also have new carpet going in next month in a lot of rooms. My team and I really enjoy upgrading the rooms and seeing the effect it has on our guests afterwards. I am sorry your shower leaked - I have asked my property development team to take a look at it so that future guests are not affected.

I do sincerely hope that next time you are in Bristol you will stay with us again. I would like to encourage you to book with us directly as this way we can ensure you go into one of our newly refurbished rooms so you can experience them for yourself!

Many thanks
Joanna Tiernay
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

645 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    110
    225
    163
    84
    63
See reviews for
106
142
123
151
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (148)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2013

Stayed 2 nights in a double ensuite room on the receptions level. Reception and breakfast staff were suberb, nothing was to much trouble for them. Loved the fresh ground coffee, loose tea, fresh fruit and biscuits in our room. Our car was in the secure parking at rear. Loved the crisp white sheets and blanket with more blankets and pillows in the wardrobe. The only fault was our net curtain had a tear in it where I assume some one had caught it trying to open the window. In fact an all round great stay

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christines06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WashingtonManager, Manager at The Washington, responded to this review, November 1, 2013
Dear Christines06,

Thank you very much for taking the time to review the Washington after your recent stay. The whole team here was very pleased you had enjoyed your stay with us. I am also really happy that you enjoyed our hospitality tray in the room - it is one of the elements that we hope sets us apart from our more branded competitors!

I'm sorry your net curtain was ripped in your room - unfortunatly we have seen a bit of a spate of this happening so I've had to order quite a few more! You'll be very pleased ot hear that the first delivery arrived today so we are on our way to correcting that problem!

I do hope we will see you here again in the near future.
Many thanks
Joanna Tiernay
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Llanelli, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2013

My wife and I stated there in October 2013 on a trip to the theatre. The hotel is situated not far from the City Centre but very close to the University area (which may or may not be an advantage depending on your requirements). The receptionist greeted us with a genuine welcome and gave us our room key. We went up to the first floor (no lift so travel light) and opened the door to Room 25. My heart sank as I looked into the room and saw a full length net curtain with a massive rip across almost the full width that even my mending-manic wife would have consigned to the rubbish bin. On a second glance it seemed totally out of place. The room was small but well appointed with the personal touch normally only found at much larger (and much more expensive) establishments. A nice personalised welcome letter from the manager was on the desk giving details of the facilities; there was fresh fruit provided and the beverage selection offered much more than the usual tea bag & coffee sachets. There was even a cafetiere provided with good quality loose leaf tea and freshly ground coffee to use in it together with some very morish hot chocolate.

There was a small flat-screen TV and the bed was most comfortable. Real sheets and blankets too!! The room had a small but accessible balcony and overlooked the street below. Considering the proximity to student life the road was not noisy at all and we had no problem in leaving the window open a little as the room was a little warm for us with no thermostatic valve on the radiator to turn it down.

The breakfast room in the basement was not particularly large so if you stay at a busy time I'd recommend getting down early for breakfast if you want to avoid a wait. The food itself was very good with a reasonable selection of cereals etc and a properly cooked full English. One nice touch is a weekly special on the breakfast menu (ours was French Toast with Orange Compote) which is not something you would expect to see in a smallish establishment.

Overall I'd recommend this as a decent place to stay but if they had only taken care of those little details I'd have been giving 5 stars. Anyway my wife says she wants to stay there again next time we are in Bristol so who am I to argue!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tomvox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WashingtonManager, Manager at The Washington, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Dear Tomvox,

Thank you so much for your kind review of the Washington - I am thrilled that you found so many aspects of your stay exceeded your expectations. I will be giving this feedback to the team in our meeting this week where I am sure it will be gratefully received!

I am very sorry that the net curtain was so badly torn in your room. A new one is on order at the moment (should arrive within the next few days) - I appreciate this is too late for your stay, or for that much needed positive first impression though. It is very difficult for us to keep spares of such items as all our rooms are so individual and even though the windows may look the same size/height on the outside, I can assure you they are not (that is a mistake I have made before!).

You will also be pleased to hear that the room you stayed in last week is actually being painted this week so with a new lick of paint and new net curtains, I'm sure you'll find it would get the 5 stars next time!

I am very pleased that you will be staying with us again and look forward to your visit. Please do let us know if you would like to stay in that same room, or if you would like to sample another for comparison!

Many thanks
Joanna Tiernay
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2013

So I got this room at a really good rate (£56) a couple of weeks before travelling to Bristol for an evening concert at Colston Hall. TBH was not expecting very much at that sort of rate, but was pleasantly surprised to find nice first storey room overlooking street below, with descent flat screen telly and crisp clean linen on bed. Did not have an en suite loo, but shared bathroon was only about 10 feet away and was clean an excellently presented. Fortunately other guests using it had treated it with respect as well. The usual tea/coffee making stuff was better than your usual average with the offer of some fresh milk from reception if you couldn’t tolerate the long life stuff. Spent a cosy night with what can only be described as a 5 star breakfast thrown in free next morning. Plus it was served by a particularly pleasant Italian lady ( I think) who was charming and chatty. Would definitely book this facility again for a convenient and well placed city break in Bristol.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 83JohnO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WashingtonManager, Manager at The Washington, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Dear 83JohnO,

Thank you for taking the time to review the Washington after your recent stay which I was delighted to hear was such a positive experience!

As a small independent Guest House, feedback such as yours is vital if we are to continue to improve our product for future guests. I was particularly thrilled that you picked up on some of the touches that we hope sets us apart from our big chain competitors within Bristol such as the great hospitality tray and our fabulous breakfast!

As you pointed out, we are in a great location for Colston Hall and indeed many other of Bristol's theatres and tourist sites - in fact we often have package deals with these places to mean you get an even better price on your room! Something to look out for in the future maybe.

Once again, thank you for your kind comments - the team will be thrilled. I do hope we see you here again soon.

Joanna Tiernay
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2013

We stayed at the Washington for two nights on the 12th&13th October for my daughters wedding at Bristol zoo on the Sunday. We were in room 21in the basement which to be honest we found quite poor. It was gloomy and the bathroom had rising damp and discoloured grouting and was altogether in need of updating and decoration. It only looked out onto stone steps and a dirty wooden door. There were 2 mirrors in the room neither of which had a light above them which made getting ready for the wedding a bit more difficult and when the wardrobe was full of clothes the door wouldn't close as it was so shallow. the corridors were narrow and winding and there was no lift making it difficult to negotiate with a heavy suitcase. On the plus side all the staff were friendly and attentive and the receptionists in particular were helpful and knowledgeable. The breakfast was varied , plentiful and tasty . We would only really consider staying here again if it had a complete refurb.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back and no higher than first floor are good for less street noise and negotiating stai...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maureen m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WashingtonManager, Manager at The Washington, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Dear Maureen M,

Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay with us at the Washington. I do hop you enjoyed your daughter's wedding!

I am so sorry that you were disappointed by the standard of the room you stayed in over that weekend. I have been to have a look at the room in question (though it wasn't room 21), and agree that there is some work to do to bring it up to standard. I have arranged a meeting with my property development manager to see what we can do to effect these changes quickly.

I am, however, delighted that you were happy with the quality of breakfast and the service you received from the members of staff working over that weekend. I shall pass on this feedback to the teams in our meetings this week.

We are always working to improve the standard of accommodation and overall guest experience at the Washington so your feedback is very valuable and I can assure you is listened to. I do hope that you would give us another go as I feel you would find that our newly refurbished rooms are of a far better standard.

Many thanks
Joanna Tiernay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cirencester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2013

We stayed at the Washington on Monday night(7th Oct 2013), as we were in town to see Laura Mvula play at the o2 academy. We were in room 71 which is in the basement of the hotel, a room which really needs to be given the next stage of work urgently and you really wouldn't want to be taller than ourselves at 5ft 6inchs as the bathroom has a very low ceiling, but saying that with modernizing and painting would be a great cave like wet room.

The staff were wonderful and very efficient and we really did feel welcome and the fresh fruit and loose leaf tea in the room was a real bonus having flown in that day as well we really enjoyed a much missed English cuppa. So i have to say thank you to all the staff at the Washington and we will be coming back again and like the other reviewers have stated look forward to seeing it transform from an ugly duckling into a beautiful swan over the coming months/year.

Room Tip: Maybe ask for one of the newly refurbished rooms?
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HJG2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WashingtonManager, Manager at The Washington, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Dear HJG2011,

Thank you for your kind review of the Washington after your stay on Monday and I hope you enjoyed the concert!

I am really pleased that you found the staff to be so friendly and helpful - I will pass this feedback onto them in our presentation today. Feedback like yours is what the team thrive on so it has been a nice present on a busy Friday!

With regards to your comments about the decor and upgrading the Guest House, I can assure you that we do use all feedback to improve our product and do have some exciting projects on the way to help the rooms in the next 3 months. It is fair to say, however, that Room 71, with it's location on the lower ground floor, is not a room for tall guests. As a listed, converted townhouse, all of our rooms are individual and characterful. We are always happy to move guests if they are not totally happy with the room on offer.

Once again, thank you for your review and I hope we will see you again at the Washington when you return to Bristol.

Many thanks
Joanna Tiernay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bristol hotels
0.1 mi away
The Clifton Hotel
The Clifton Hotel
#35 of 37 in Bristol
3.0 of 5 bubbles 627 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Rodney Hotel
The Rodney Hotel
#31 of 37 in Bristol
3.5 of 5 bubbles 411 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Berkeley Square Hotel
The Berkeley Square Hotel
#32 of 37 in Bristol
3.5 of 5 bubbles 537 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Victoria Square Hotel
Victoria Square Hotel
#28 of 37 in Bristol
3.5 of 5 bubbles 494 reviews
0.8 mi away
Premier Inn Bristol City Centre (Haymarket) Hotel
0.0 mi away
The Regency Bristol Hotel
The Regency Bristol Hotel
#36 of 52 in Bristol
3.5 of 5 bubbles 270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Washington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Washington

Property: The Washington
Address: 11 -15 St Paul's Road | Clifton, Bristol BS8 1LX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Bristol
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 37 Hotels in Bristol
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Washington 3*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Washington offers City accommodation in the heart of Clifton. We combine both comfort and convenience with the most competitive of prices. An absolute must for those on a budget: quality accommodation and the highest standards of service. With a Full English or Continental breakfast, bowl of fruit, biscuits and complimentary tea and coffee included in the price of every room, the Washington really is the best value Guest House in Bristol.Whatever your reason for visiting, our friendly and efficient reception team is always on hand to make sure your stay is as enjoyable as possible. No matter how long you spend with us, whether it is one day or one month, the Washington's home-from-home atmosphere will perfectly harmonize with your time in the city. Guests at the Washington have a full range of restaurants, cafes and bars on their very doorstep, with Racks Bar & Kitchen and Cafe Clifton merely a few steps away, and the busy Whiteladies road nearby. Secure onsite parking is available for a small charge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Washington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Washington Hotel Bristol
Washington Hotel Bristol

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing