We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old but clean”
Review of The Washington

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Washington
Ranked #30 of 38 Hotels in Bristol
Solihull, England
Level Contributor
149 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 317 helpful votes
“Old but clean”
Reviewed January 30, 2013

Just an overnight stay but would return as it fulfilled my requirements. my single room was basic but clean. Bed clothes spotless and ironed sheets.Bathroom across the landing was clean and had a good shower with nice hot water.Breakfast was excellent. A good variety and well cooked and presented.Only draw back is parking in the street... not good, but they have that covered with a secure carpark at the back of the hotel for six pounds per night... well worth it.Will be back

Room Tip: If in doubt see it first
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank KenSolihull_England
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WashingtonManager, Manager at The Washington, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Dear "KenSolihull_England",

Thank you so much for taking the time to review the Washington on Tripadvisor - constructive feedback is always welcome here.

I am delighted that you felt your overnight visit to us was good value for money and that you were happy with the cleanliness of the Washington - these are both things we put a lot of effort into. As you point out, we are an old building and your tip of 'view before if unsure' is something we are more than happy to do for any future guest.

I do hope that we will see you at the Washington again should you return to Bristol.
Many thanks
Joanna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

662 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    114
    231
    167
    86
    64
See reviews for
112
144
127
155
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (150)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Swindon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 28, 2013

I regularly stay in Bristol for work and since I have to pay for it myself I often stay at The Washington because it is excellent value for money. The staff are always very friendly, polite and helpful. The rooms are basic but clean and comfortable, with a few little extras like a cafetiere and biscuits that cheer you up when away from home! The location is good for Clifton and the city centre. I would reccomend this hotel.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WashingtonManager, Manager at The Washington, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
Dear "Robert M",

Thank you for taking the time to review the Washington. I am thrilled that you have picked up all the little things that we hope make a difference to our regular guests - it is very satisfying to hear that they do!

I shall pass your kind comments regarding the staff on to the rest of the team. I hope we will see you back at the Washington in the coming weeks.

Many thanks
Joanna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, England
Level Contributor
115 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2013

Stayed here for two nights and had breakfast on the second day. On first sight the hotel does look a bit scruffy, we came in from the car park at the back, however staff on reception were very welcoming and helpful. We were in room 47 which is on the 3rd floor which is a bit of a climb, room was OK, a bit small and facing the road which meant it was a bit noisy at times. In the room there was fresh fruit and fresh tea and coffee which was nice. Water in the bath was plentiful and hot and tv reception was fine. Heating was a bit strange, it appeared to go off in the middle of the night and then come back on in the morning, which meant you got a bit cold in the early hours.
Breakfast was very good, excellent service and one of the few hotels to offer a vegetarian full English as standard, coffee refilled as often as you needed.
We asked for an early morning call on the first morning which didn't happen, person on reception was apologetic, said he had set it to go off but didn't know why it hadn't
Overall would I stay again ?, probably yes but it would depend on the price. We booked it through two different methods, the one way we paid £54 for a nights bed and breakfast which was good value, the second we paid £66 for just bed which certainly wasn't good value.
Parking on the road is difficult, there is a car park at the back of the hotel which costs £6 and can be a bit cramped.

Room Tip: Suggest you get a room at the back to avoid street noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank awizzbang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WashingtonManager, Manager at The Washington, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Dear "awizzbang",

Thank you very much for taking the time to review the Washington in this forum - as a small independant Guest House, all feedback is very important to us.

I am pleased that you found the Washington to be better than your first impression of it and that you enjoyed some of the 'added extras' in the room that, I think, sets us apart from the large chain hotels that dominate Bristol.

We have a rolling refurbishment ongoing at the Washington so I am confident that any decor issues that you may have referred to in your review will be addressed in due course - indeed, my House Manager and I have a weekly meeting to discuss such things.

I just wanted to address one thing about the rates you paid with us - which I can appreciate seemed a bit odd! Our rates vary a lot depending on availability. Initially you only booked for the Saturday night, and booked a room only rate online. You then added the Friday night - which at the time of booking was quite quiet so better rates were available - since you called the Washington directly for this booking, you were able to receive a better rate on a B&B basis. Any future guests are able to make enquiries direct from this forum so would be able to offer more 'normal' rates!

I sincerely hope that we will see you in Bristol at the Washington again.
Many thanks
Joanna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thornton Cleveleys, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
94 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed January 25, 2013

We visited this very basic hotel on a business trip. Our en-suite had been shoe horned into the room and to use the WC necessitated riding sidesaddle . As it was snowing outside and our radiator needed bleeding, we requested that the maintenance man attend to carry out this very simple task. Day two and no sign of the man although we were told that he had been (which probably accounts for the state of the decor and an ill-fitting toilet seat). In the end, the Receptionist gave me a radiator key and I did the job myself! We also requested a clean bath towel as the apology of one we were given was wafer thin and wet in no time.
The only bright star on the horizon was the excellent breakfasts and the service in the Restaurant was very good indeed with polite attentive waiters. Five stars for that, but as for the rest....oh dear.
PS We are still waiting for the new bath towel

Room Tip: The windows aren't double glazed, so ask for a room at the back of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChestercityAndrewp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WashingtonManager, Manager at The Washington, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Dear "ChestercityAndrewp",

I was very concerned after reading your recent review of the Washington as it raises some issues that, I agree with you, should have been solved prior to, or at the very least during your stay - for this you have my deepest apologies.

I have discussed the problems you noted in your review with my management team here and have made it clear that this sort of thing must not happen again. All the staff will shortly be receiving basic maintenance training from our Property Development Manager and myself to ensure that this does not happen again. I have also put in place a better system for ensuring that a maintenance problem, once reported, is actioned as soon as possible with feedback on the success of the solution being passed onto the guest when they return to the room.

I am really very sorry that the lapses in efficiency that you mention marred your stay and completely understand your response to them in this forum. I would like to offer you a discount on a future stay at the Washington - for this you would need to contact me directly on joanna.tiernay@cliftonhotels.com.

I am, however, delighted that you found my breakfast team to be so delightful - they have been regularly awarded a prize within the group for delivering the highest level of customer service, so I am thrilled to be able to pass on your kind comments to them.

Many thanks
Joanna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Bristol hotels

london
Level Contributor
28 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2013

stayed 1 night, was very fair, abit dated, room 48 sleeps 3! was very small and was noisy! shower was rubbish!!! but plenty towels and pillows in room! didn't like that you had to pay 4 wifi, was expensive! every other hotel it's FREE!!!!! also £6 for car park!! when it's FREE on the roads outside!!!! breakfast was very nice and plenty choice!
probley would stay again but no more than 1 quick night!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jamie198522
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WashingtonManager, Manager at The Washington, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Dear "Jamie198522",

Thank you for your review of the Washington. We discuss all reviews in our weekly meetings so that any positive or negative comments reach all concerned.

I am pleased that you were, in general, satisfied with your stay at the Washington and that you would stay again with us. You raised some concerns about the 'extra' charges at the Washington that I would like to clarify for future guests.

Our intentions with our additional charges is to keep our standard rates as competitive as possible for the majority of our guests. Our secure car park is charged at £6 per night as space is limited so we do not want to build this into our rates as there are many guests who stay with us but do not bring a car. Our wifi does carry a charge, but it is from £2.50 - again this is purely as only 50% of our guests use the wifi so we feel it is unfair to charge all.

I do hope this clarifies the picture slightly - it is not our intention to pile on the additional charges - there are free alternatives for all our extras so I feel that we are offering the best rates at all times.

Many thanks
Joanna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torquay, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 21, 2013

I personally thought that this was a really nice hotel especially seeing as it was just used for over night. The price was good but that was only because of a special offer, had it been more I wouldn't be willing to pay. Staff were nice but I felt like they were unapproachable as they always seemed to be looking down their noses. If you're looking for a quick stop this hotel would be good but can't imagine you'd want to stay any longer...

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jessica R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WashingtonManager, Manager at The Washington, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Dear "JRuby1994",

Thank you for taking the time to review the Washington after your recent stay. I'm pleased that you had a good 'stopover' with us and that you managed to get one of our special offer rates.

I am sorry that you felt that our staff were unapproachable. I would like to know more about why you felt this as customer service is of the utmost importance to me and if you left feeling that you couldn't make full use of the knowledge they had then I would like to address this. I would urge you to contact me directly on joanna.tiernay@cliftonhotels.com.

I do sincerely hope that should you be passing by again, you would consider staying at the Washington once more.

Many thanks
Joanna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
250 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed January 14, 2013

Weonly stopped one night but the hotel was lovely slept well the staff were polite and welcoming the room was clean and tidy maybe just a little dated but who cares when the hotel was clean the breakfast was lovely and the staff catered to us perfectly so no problems stopping in the future

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank richJay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WashingtonManager, Manager at The Washington, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Dear "richJay",

Thank you so much for taking the time to review the Washington - it is lovely to hear such positive feedback from our guests.

The whole team here is delighted that you slept well and were pleased by the breakfast and level of service - both are areas that we put a lot of training into so to hear it is worth it is motivating.

I do sincerely hope that you will stay at the Washington again should your travels bring you this way.

Many thanks
Joanna Tiernay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bristol hotels
0.1 mi away
The Clifton Hotel
The Clifton Hotel
#35 of 38 in Bristol
660 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Rodney Hotel
The Rodney Hotel
#31 of 38 in Bristol
423 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Berkeley Square Hotel
The Berkeley Square Hotel
#33 of 38 in Bristol
550 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Victoria Square Hotel
Victoria Square Hotel
#28 of 38 in Bristol
518 reviews
0.3 mi away
Berkeley Suites
Berkeley Suites
#32 of 38 in Bristol
34 reviews
1.4 mi away
Ibis Bristol Temple Meads Quay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Washington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Washington

Property: The Washington
Address: 11-15 St. Pauls Road | Clifton, Bristol BS8 1LX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Bristol
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 38 Hotels in Bristol
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Washington 3*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Washington offers City accommodation in the heart of Clifton. We combine both comfort and convenience with the most competitive of prices. An absolute must for those on a budget: quality accommodation and the highest standards of service. With a Full English or Continental breakfast, bowl of fruit, biscuits and complimentary tea and coffee included in the price of every room, the Washington really is the best value Guest House in Bristol.Whatever your reason for visiting, our friendly and efficient reception team is always on hand to make sure your stay is as enjoyable as possible. No matter how long you spend with us, whether it is one day or one month, the Washington's home-from-home atmosphere will perfectly harmonize with your time in the city. Guests at the Washington have a full range of restaurants, cafes and bars on their very doorstep, with Racks Bar & Kitchen and Cafe Clifton merely a few steps away, and the busy Whiteladies road nearby. Secure onsite parking is available for a small charge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Washington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Washington Hotel Bristol
Washington Hotel Bristol

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing