We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simple B&B Hotel”
Review of Arches Hotel

Arches Hotel
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bristol
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Arches Hotel
Ranked #15 of 52 Bristol B&B and Inns
Richmond, VA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Simple B&B Hotel”
Reviewed April 23, 2012

Arches is a basic B&B Hotel. The owners are lovely. Rooms are clean and basic. Most rooms include your sink but the bathroom is down the hall. One bathroom has a toilet only, the other one has a shower and toilet. Seeing i was traveling with most of the people staying there, it was ok. The bathrooms are super clean as is the B&B and the management is very accommodating. Breakfast is included and there is a Breakfast room. There is no sitting room or community room at The Arches though so if you want to sit and visit or read, you will have to do it in your room or find a pub or coffee shop.

Room Tip: If a bathroom in your room is important, than reserve that specifically.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VAPackYourBags
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    28
    5
    3
    3
See reviews for
6
13
14
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Norwich
1 review
Reviewed April 10, 2012

Never again. The room was swelteringly hot and the bright lights in the hallway left me unable to sleep. There was no-one around to whom I could complain and when I ventured downstairs in the morning I was no even asked how my night had been. Nor did I hear a "goodbye" when I left. The only redeeming feature was that It was close to the town centre. Other than that it was appalling and a complete waste of money.

Room Tip: Avoid the entire place.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Song_thrushNorwich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2011

The hotel is close to both Montpelier and Redlands stations and there are plenty of shops and restaurants nearby on Gloucester Road. I stayed here for 2 nights, in a single room with shared toilet/ shower. The room was clean and airy and the bed was comfortable. The shared facilities were also clean- I was told they would only be used by a couple of other people.
The owner and staff were helpful and friendly both whilst arranging the booking and during my stay. Breakfast is simple and served rather early for someone on holiday (7.15- 8.30), but it's worth having! A large selection of cereals and fruit, catering for many dietary needs, and some up-market jams to put on toast or a croissant. A selection of teas were also available.
All in all a pleasant experience! I'll probably make a return visit.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FoxyF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2011

We had a reasonably sized room with good facilitites - nice, if small, shower and coffee/tea making in the room. Cotham Brow is a quiet road and although our room faced onto it we were not disturbed. The timing of breakfast was a bit restrictive for a Saturday (between 8am and 9am) but the continental breakfast itself was fine. The biggest problem was parking. The roads surrounding the hotel are awash with double yellow lines and some are very narrow. We had to search for spaces and each time ended up a couple of hundred metres away from the hotel. Overall this is a B&B that gives a good basic service and is good value for a short stay in Bristol.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank athelstan051
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviewed June 21, 2010

The location isn't as central as it could be. About a 10/15 min walk from the centre of Bristol but this is a pleasant B & B.

The rooms are clean and well kept, if a little dated decor-wise. And the continental breakfast was a little disappointing.

Would stay there again though.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Colm B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, CO
Level Contributor
39 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2010

If you need to stay on the north side of Bristol, this is a great choice. Excellent location, near to numerous good restaurants in one of the most interesting and useful shopping areas in SW England. Bristol city centre is within walking distance and the hosts are great. A spotlessly clean place with good security - about as much as you could expect for the price at the 3 star level. Nice, quiet room. Lack of off-street parking was a minor inconvenience.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MountainMan101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rainham, Kent
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2009

From the moment you walk in the door you are made to feel welcome.

I had been looking to make a saving for the company in the current climate and looked to stop using the local Marriot hotel. I was looking for a place that was in easy distance of the office but not too citified - The Arches hit the mark.

Located just of the A38 Gloucester Road it is a convenient 10 minute walk into Broadmead and handy for a number of bus routes to other parts of the city.

I had a restful night, the facilities were clean and well serviced. Breakfast was great (despite me being a non-veggie!) with nice warmj croissants and lots of freshly brewed coffee - the list of teas available has to be the longets I have seen.

I will be back.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Geoff1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bristol hotels
0.8 mi away
Future Inn Cabot Circus Hotel
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Bristol City Centre
0.6 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Bristol City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
The Washington
The Washington
#30 of 38 in Bristol
661 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Bristol
The Bristol
#3 of 38 in Bristol
3,539 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel du Vin & Bistro
Hotel du Vin & Bistro
#5 of 38 in Bristol
1,178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arches Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arches Hotel

Property: Arches Hotel
Address: 132 Cotham Brow | Cotham, Bristol BS6 6AE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Bristol
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 52 B&Bs / Inns in Bristol
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 9
Also Known As:
Arches Hotel Bristol

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing