We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just a bit over average”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Town and Country Lodge
Ranked #36 of 38 Hotels in Bristol
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Just a bit over average”
Reviewed November 17, 2012

I arrived and wasn't sure what to expect as it is a motel type of hotel but needed to be close to the airport (about 4 miles away) and didn't want to pay a fortune. The room was clean and very warm thanks to a large radiator (one you find in your house) in the bedroom. There was a hallway from the front door with a bathroom off it and then into the bedroom.

Bathroom was very clean albeit the shower was not that powerful. Good size double bed and furnishings were acceptable. There were enough sockets for laptop, phone etc and tea and coffee making facilities. It said countryside views in the advert, not for all rooms, I had a great view of their long stay carpark!

I ate in the hotel bar, good bar food at a good price. It was very quiet though and so service was slick. Breakfast was Ok with a choice of cold stuff - cerial, fruit etc or there was an attempt at a cooked breakfast - bacon, sausages (no egg) and beans that had been overcooked in the microwave. Service was slow but if the 2 women had stopped gossiping quite as much it would have been quicker. In fact all you could hear was them moaning.

I paid £65 for the one night and it was better than I thought so overall an OK stay. I would stay here again if needing to be at the airport but there is not much around it if you don't have a car.

Room Tip: I had room 36 on the ground floor, ask for a room on floor one, yes you have to go up some stairs bu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pippy66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

275 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    95
    79
    32
    26
See reviews for
86
91
11
47
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Redruth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
95 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed November 17, 2012

I was unsure of what this hotel would be like. In the event it turned out to be excellent. It is not palatial but the food was first class (both dinner and breakfast in the bar/restaurant) the service was good. The rooms were sufficiently large with a scrupulously clean bed and were very warm. The bathroom was also extremely clean and had shampoo etc. There were sufficient clean and large towels.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ellen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2012

Room needed a complete revamp. No shower curtain. carpet was so thin, it felt like I was walking on the floor. Bed felt I was sleeping on the floor, solid.
Braekfast was shocking. I cant explain it. Ive never seen anything like it.
Evening meal was ok though.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rich-Plym
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Bristol hotels

Neath
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2012

Stayed at the Hotel for one night on the 4th October and left our car there for 14 days whilst on holiday. Upon our return discovered our car battery would not start. Could not get hold of AA. Very helpful receptionist allowed us to use the phone in reception and offered to see if a member of staff had any jump leads. A genteman and lady colleague soon arrived and we got the car started without any delay.
We did offer to give some money but neither person would accept.
We have stayed at The Town and Country Lodge before and have always found the staff very helpful and friendly.
Also there is a very reliable transfer arrangement to and from Bristol Airport at all times of the day.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank davidwphillips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
356 reviews
266 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 309 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2012

One night here, when my plan to be in South Wales was suddenly changed.
Good points. Plenty of parking, spacious very clean room, free wifi with good signal strength.
Bad points. Mediocre food, characterless

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sowie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torquay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2012

We used this hotel for parking while on holiday in Mexico, booked B&B and 15 nights parking. We found this excellent value, very well organised, you simply park your car in a gated area and keep your keys. Taxi is arranged to pick you up both ways, and the room was clean and had every thing we needed. We could not find this hotel on the standard comparison sites when typing in airport hotel parking so had to dig around a bit but is was cheaper than any other advertised. Would highly recommend it if flying from Bristol. We will use it again

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LewisR_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2012 via mobile

We needed a good base for a shopping weekend and this hotel came up with great facilities, free parking and free Wi-fi...brilliant. We stayed in room 28 in the main lodge building and the room was very spacious and good facilities within.

There were a few decoration issues, office blinds instead of some nice curtains, the bath panel was a little rotten due to the water probably getting in to he wood but apart from these small issues...the room was very comfortable and clean.

We had dinner on the first night in the main restaurant and it was very nice and priced well. The staff in the restaurant were brilliant and friendly.

Breakfast was very nice with a buffet style full english (help yourself) and there was fresh juice, fruit and a good selection of cereals. Breakfast staff were brilliant as was the reception staff.

We would recommend this hotel for a base to go into main Bristol as the Park and ride is very close and easy to use...£3 return each.

Friendly hotel, great breakfast, free parking, free Wi-Fi and a good nights sleep.

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank CutieCouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bristol
3.8 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Bristol Airport
3.2 mi away
Winford Manor
Winford Manor
#1 of 1 in Winford
448 reviews
3.9 mi away
Arnos Manor
Arnos Manor
#37 of 38 in Bristol
569 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Bristol Airport
6.4 mi away
Best Western Henbury Lodge Hotel
7.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Bristol - North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Town and Country Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Town and Country Lodge

Property: The Town and Country Lodge
Address: A38 Bridgwater Road | Bedminster Down, Bristol BS13 8AQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Bristol
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 38 Hotels in Bristol
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Town and Country Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and HRS so you can book your The Town and Country Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Town And Country Hotel Bristol
Town And Country Bristol
Town Country Lodge
Town And Country Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing