We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great package. Very good value given the location.”
Review of The Rodney Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Rodney Hotel
Ranked #29 of 39 Hotels in Bristol
Reviewed August 18, 2009

I am really surprised at how good this hotel is. I travel regularly throughout the UK and I'm more than familiar with the "business hotel" approach. It makes a refreshing change to encounter a decent sized room and staff who are genuinely interested in providing good service. The rates make it viable for business travel, but the hotel is good enough to justify a short break, with the significant other, in the best part of Bristol. Obviously it's not the Ritz, but the Rodney is far better than the room rate leads you to expect.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andy029
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (450)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

407 - 413 of 450 reviews

Reviewed August 18, 2009

Nice clean hotel, very good location right in the centre of Clifton. Friendly staff. And reasonsable value. Only minor point, the room was a bit on the small side and there is not much parking infront of the hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AlCoops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2009

Meal in restaurant was simple, made with freshest ingredients and cooked perfectly. Excellent value at £12.99 for 2 courses.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SueCambridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2009

We stayed in the Rodney after attending a wedding in Bristol recently. We booked about 3 months in advance and as a result got a lovely, very clean double room for £25 (£12.50 each!!). Although small and at the top of 3 flights of stairs, the room was perfectly adequete and access was not an issue for us. The reception staff were extremely polite and friendly and I was delighted with the hotel overall. The only comment I would make was that the room was very warm despite the fact that we had the window open all night. However, we did not speak to reception about this so there may well have been an air conditioning unit that we did not see!

There is no lift in the hotel so access may be difficult for some. In a great location very near zoo and cultural areas.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BrainSendall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2009

I was a bit reluctant to stay in Clifton after having been there 36 years ago, but what a change, really pleasant and vibrant community with lots to see within easy walking distance. The Rodney itself was superb value, a pleasant room (though being on the top floor it would be a bit of a struggle for none mountain climbers), very friendly staff, decent food and a good wine list. My only criticism would be the use of little bowls on the table for salt and pepper, damned difficult to sprinke in your boiled egg!! I look forward to my next stay.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chrishopkins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2008

I say surprisingly nice as the reviews here had me fearing the worst! I had a refurbished room which was a bit on the small size but otherwise perfect. The room has a minibar which you wouldn't always expect with a hotel in this price range.
Check- in staff were pleasant and helpful and the choice and quality of cooked breakfasts available was of a very high standard.
I had 3 good nights sleep and found the location to be good too!

  • Stayed: October 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank scotcat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2008

Parking if your lucky is a nightmare (hotel has parking bays in a residential street) if you forget to put a flyer on the car window saying your at the hotel it will be clamped and you will have to pay.
rooms are ok kinda hip but space has been sacrificed though over renovating the building (warning :this is still going on!) overall I had the "ministry of sound" music centre on all night to drown out the other residents, one to avoid, you have been warned.

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank centroweb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bristol hotels
0.6 mi away
The Berkeley Square Hotel
The Berkeley Square Hotel
#33 of 39 in Bristol
584 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Clifton Hotel
The Clifton Hotel
#35 of 39 in Bristol
733 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Washington
The Washington
#30 of 39 in Bristol
717 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Victoria Square Hotel
Victoria Square Hotel
#28 of 39 in Bristol
565 reviews
0.6 mi away
Berkeley Suites
Berkeley Suites
#31 of 39 in Bristol
41 reviews
0.3 mi away
Avon Gorge Hotel
Avon Gorge Hotel
#34 of 39 in Bristol
998 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Rodney Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Rodney Hotel

Address: 4 Rodney Place | Clifton, Bristol BS8 4HY, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Bristol
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 39 Hotels in Bristol
Price Range: $65 - $155 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Rodney Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Rodney Hotel is located in the idyllic Clifton Village in Bristol. An elegant and charming hotel with stylish and comfortable room and excellent service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Travelocity, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Orbitz so you can book your The Rodney Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rodney Hotel Bristol

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing