We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“First rate in every respect” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Number Thirty Eight

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Number Thirty Eight
Ranked #2 of 53 Bristol B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“First rate in every respect”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2012 via mobile

After looking at many hotels in different parts of the country for a few days away, we chose Number 38 in Clifton. We were delighted with our choice in every respect. We stayed in the East Loft Suite, which is a large and lovely room with great views over Bristol on one side and the Downs on the other. The room was so relaxing and the atmosphere so friendly and welcoming that we decided to extend our stay. That gave us the opportunity to enjoy another delicious breakfast before reluctantly setting off for home! Number 38 is an outstanding place to stay, and we were very impressed with Clifton and Bristol too.

Stayed October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank David190737
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

288 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    243
    36
    6
    2
    1
See reviews for
19
198
5
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Bristol
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2012

The Staff were so warm, genuine and down to earth. They could not do enough and I was just so touched at their kindness. The rooms just had that Georgian charm, tastefully decorated and plush bathrooms, I cannot wait for an excuse to go back. Whether you are at the front or back of the property, amazing views of Bristol. Note reserve early, I tried to obtain a top floor suite four months in advance and was disappointed. I had a suprior house room and was very happy indeed, you won't regret your stay here!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BristolLittlemiss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taunton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2012

We have just returned home after spending a wonderful 2 nights at Number 38.

The house is decorated and furnished beautifully throughout. We had one of the larger rooms (room 2) at the top of the building (a treat for my birthday!) - from our room we had a wonderful view across the city from the bathroom side and across the downs at the front.

The breakfasts are very tasty and extremely filling - the scrambled egg with smoked salmon and chives was particularly tasty.

There are lovely REN products in the rooms and complimentary bottled water. There is a well stocked mini fridge in the room and fresh milk for tea/coffee.

White fluffy towels and robes (both were changed each day).

The staff were all very welcoming and friendly.

A really enjoyable stay - would love to go again sometime.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cherrymc25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2012

My partner and I went to Number Thirty Eight as a birthday treat and although beautiful, they missed a few tricks. We didn't have an iPod dock which was a shame, the retro stereo was good to look at but not really comparable to your own musical choices. The bathroom was a real clincher when booking the hotel because of the lovely free standing baths but no bubble bath! What a shame. The two staff members we met were lovely and friendly, particularly at breakfast (which was delicious and a real treat as it was all included in the price).

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lucyfholder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2012

This is a great place to stay during a weekend in Bristol. Good location with Clifton village and its great shops and restaurants (especially Rockfish) within walking distance. The city centre is only a 20-30 minute walk.
The hotel is charming and the decor is both stylish and functional. Fantastic views over the city or the Downs depending on which side of the property your room is on. The terrace is a great space - sunny and secluded. The staff could not have been friendlier and made us feel very welcome. The breakfasts were excellent and made with good quality products, all made fresh to order. There were extremely generous with their portions and plenty of tea, coffee and toast were offered.
I would urge anyone considering staying here to ignore the one 'poor' rating and negative review that has been left on this site. Clearly, the person who left it has no style or originality and is unable to recognise good service and hospitality.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LondonAnna2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2012

I can't really recommend this hotel enough — I love Number Thirty Eight. Fantastically comfy beds, gorgeous views (I didn't know Bristol had gorgeous views, but it does from Number Thirty Eight), really delicious breakfasts, and very friendly management.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Travel Writer X
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eynsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
72 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2012

38 lifts B&B's to a new level. The room are spacious with modern decor, great bathrooms, comfortable large beds, large screen TV, Roberts radios, how long have you got I could go on and on, the staff are a delight and great breakfasts. Pricey but you get what you pay for, would I go back? You bet

Room Tip: I think the rooms at the top of the house are the largest but probably the most expensive. There is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank stephen l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bristol hotels
1.3 mi away
Hotel du Vin & Bistro
Hotel du Vin & Bistro
#6 of 37 in Bristol
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,138 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Bristol
The Bristol
#4 of 37 in Bristol
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,422 reviews
1.4 mi away
Bristol Marriott Royal Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Mercure Bristol Brigstow Hotel
1.0 mi away
Victoria Square Hotel
Victoria Square Hotel
#27 of 37 in Bristol
3.5 of 5 bubbles 487 reviews
1.2 mi away
Avon Gorge Hotel
Avon Gorge Hotel
#25 of 37 in Bristol
3.5 of 5 bubbles 873 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Number Thirty Eight? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Number Thirty Eight

Property: Number Thirty Eight
Address: 38 Upper Belgrave Road | Clifton, Bristol BS8 2XN, England (Formerly Downs View Guest House)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Bristol
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 53 B&Bs / Inns in Bristol
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We offer ten stylish bedrooms in a recently refurbished Georgian merchant’s house at the top of the city. We offer an alternative to the corporate environment of city hotels, providing a contemporary 'home away from home' feel — focusing on the highest level of comfort and care. With panoramic city views from the rear of the building and the vast expanse of Clifton Downs to the front we are ideally placed for a short stop-over or weekend city break. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Number Thirty Eight reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Number Thirty Eight Hotel Bristol
Number 38

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing