We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Number Thirty Eight
Ranked #2 of 52 Bristol B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Hereford
Level Contributor
41 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great place”
Reviewed July 28, 2012

My husband booked us in for a surprise anniversary get away.
Parking outside the B & B is pretty scarce but we managed to find on road parking early evening.
We were warmly welcomed and shown into the guest drawing room which is also used as extra breakfast space.
We were allocated to Room 4, which overlooks the downs to the front of the property.
Décor is calm, uncluttered and tasteful.
Bathroom to this particular room held a shower only but was lovely- water pressure quite low. Towels big enough to wrap around you and robes and slippers complete the luxury feel.
Spotlessly clean.
There is road noise but we really enjoyed watching life from our bedroom window in the comfort of our calm surroundings.
Bed huge and extremely comfortable, great white linen and extra blanket if required.
Tea and coffee supplied along with a fridge stocked with nibbles to buy if you got the midnight munchies.
Room pack provided with information and ideas of what to do, WIFI access codes given for each device we used and both were simple to set up.
Iced water served to us while we waited for a taxi was really appreciated- thank you!
Location to Clifton Village is ideal- about 20 minute walk.
Breakfast this morning was outstanding, we ordered full breakfast and smoked salmon and scambled eggs- both fabulous and the fruit compote is addictive!
I feel a bit mean only giving 4 stars but parking was an issue for us and you can hear the movements of other guests throughout the property.

Room Tip: Higher floors may have less noise from fellow guests.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HerefordGunners
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

298 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    251
    38
    6
    2
    1
See reviews for
21
203
5
30
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed July 26, 2012

The accommodation is 5star The service more than matches the accommodation The young lady that runs the place has a real interest in making sure you have a fault free stay
Cooked breakfast great
Stayed with 2 kids- 2 adjoining rooms

Room Tip: Rooms at back have great views over Bristol city Rooms at front overlook the Downs Both great
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sean_JackieM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NORTHAMPTONSHIRE
Level Contributor
44 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2012

This was an overnight stay in Bristol for myself and my husband , booked after super reviews and recommendations we had read in 'The Week' magazine.
The Bed and Breakfast accommodation was every bit as brilliant as the reviews we had read. The Hotel overlooked splendid parkland at the front and from our room ( Number 3 on the first floor, ) we had a double aspect view, the parkland at the front and a splendid view of the city from the back. The room was spacious elegant and had a seriously large bathroom with a great free-standing cast iron bath, overlooking the great view. Bathrobes and slippers were provided and the shower was roomy and very good quality. I absolutely loved it. The whole B & B was tastefully and artistically decorated with wooden floors and coir matting. I loved the colour scheme of the building and the interesting works of Art throughout. It is modern, but with traditional touches, attention to detail is excellent. Books were provided in our room to read and enjoy, as well as good quality toiletries and the usual tea and coffee facilities. I was especially pleased to see that a range of teas were provided. Breakfast was excellent with a good choice of cooked breakfasts. We opted for a full English, which was of excellent quality. Once again attention to detail was very good and staff were most accomodating. Staff were always helpful and attentive. The whole experience was delightful. This is not the cheapest of Bed and Breakfasts we have encountered, but nonetheless we feel we got good value for our money. Unfortunately parking is on the main road, but we managed to find a space relatively easily. We will certainly be using this Luxury B&B again!

Room Tip: I can highly recommend room 3
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jaklynba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 8, 2012

This is a great little boutique place. A fabulous mini-stately-home-feeling building on the outskirts of Bristol / charming Clifton area. Rooms are impeccably done, ask for a room at the back where the views are ... unbelievable soaring views on Bristol. Being located on a hill, the back of the building drops away to a really nice terrace with those modern whickerish chairs etc. Brilliant. The business model I think is that after 8pm or so the place is not overtly attended, but if you phone somebody will be right there. The decor throughout is gorgeously understated with splashes of colour. Our room had a fabulous bathroom. The place oozes quality in every way. But best of all ... as a veggie I very rarely come across a cooked breakfast of any note but WOW try the poached egg and garlic mushroom left me with all the guilty joy of bacon. Location a bit far away but station close enough.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Richfnut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2012

I had the pleasure of staying at number thirty eight twice just after it opened last October. It has been refurbished to a very high standard; both of my rooms were beautiful, with fabulous beds and bedding; I had a freestanding bath and shower in the first room with a great selection of Ren toiletries. My second room was smaller but equally luxurious. I had absolutely no complaints about the breakfast on either times I stayed. I recall having cooked breakfast to order with good quality juice and cereal. I stay in a lot of hotels and B&Bs and would put thirty eight up there in my 'loved it, will come back when I can' favourites.....

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rebecca M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malaga, Spain
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2012

We had misfortune to stay in this property, the so called suite (best room) with the stupid copper bath in one corner , honestly it would have been impossible to fill this bath without removing water from the total property!
Our main complaint is our so called breakfast in the morning. It was served in the lounge sitting on lounge chirs on dirty old round table suitable for 6 people. The so called continental breakfast (self service) consisted of a choice of 1 pastry and two jugs of juices, no other bread, fresh fruit and one individually packed butter for 2 people. When we asked for toast it was delivered 15 minutes later and my husband who unfortunately ordered a cooked breakfast did not receive it until a further 15 minutes after the toast.When my husband complained the female manager started arguing with us and said that they have never had any complaint about the breakfast before ( there were only 2 more people eating at the same time).
All we can say the husband and wife team are totally disorganised and we would recommend no one to stay here especially at such price when you could go to Marriett in central Bristol for an excellent Breakfast at half the price.

Room Tip: Go elsewhere as the rooms are on a busy main road and traffic starts early.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Bryan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey, England
Level Contributor
80 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2012

This is a B&B and not hotel so don't expect many facilities! But it is a gorgeous stylish very newly renovated (May 2011) townhouse, with large rooms and great views either over the park or town. You come and go as you please - there is no reception, but a nice lounge and small courtyard. We had a superior room which was lovely - very high spec and luxurious but we felt a bit too pricey at £160 a night. The breakfast was great - small selection but wonderful fresh pastries and the best poached eggs I think I've had outside of a London hotel! Close enough to walk across the park to view the bridge but a bit of a long stroll to get to Clifton village shops.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MadelineCrisp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bristol hotels
1.3 mi away
Hotel du Vin & Bistro
Hotel du Vin & Bistro
#6 of 37 in Bristol
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,167 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Bristol
The Bristol
#4 of 37 in Bristol
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,513 reviews
1.5 mi away
Bristol Marriott Royal Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Mercure Bristol Brigstow Hotel
1.0 mi away
Victoria Square Hotel
Victoria Square Hotel
#29 of 37 in Bristol
3.5 of 5 bubbles 508 reviews
1.2 mi away
Avon Gorge Hotel
Avon Gorge Hotel
#28 of 37 in Bristol
3.5 of 5 bubbles 904 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Number Thirty Eight? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Number Thirty Eight

Property: Number Thirty Eight
Address: 38 Upper Belgrave Road | Clifton, Bristol BS8 2XN, England (Formerly Downs View Guest House)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Bristol
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 52 B&Bs / Inns in Bristol
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We offer ten stylish bedrooms in a recently refurbished Georgian merchant’s house at the top of the city. We offer an alternative to the corporate environment of city hotels, providing a contemporary 'home away from home' feel — focusing on the highest level of comfort and care. With panoramic city views from the rear of the building and the vast expanse of Clifton Downs to the front we are ideally placed for a short stop-over or weekend city break. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Number Thirty Eight reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Number Thirty Eight Hotel Bristol
Number 38

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing