We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best night in a hotel I can remember”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Number Thirty Eight
Ranked #2 of 52 Bristol B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Best night in a hotel I can remember”
Reviewed August 20, 2011

We stayed in Number Thirty Eight on the first night of our honeymoon and could not have had a better experience. Staff were welcoming and lovely, the location excellent, and the room was stunning. Spectacular views over the city, huge comfortable bed, immaculate taste, massive metal bath. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Our top floor room was excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

296 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    249
    38
    6
    2
    1
See reviews for
20
202
5
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 16, 2011

We stayed at Thirtyeight for 3 nights in August, finding the stay just perfect! The welcome was informative and friendly and the management went the extra mile to make sure all our questions and requests were dealt with quickly and as asked. The rooms are just incredible, great bathrooms, comfy beds and wonderful views over the downs and back over the rooftops into Bristol. We found the location just right, we could walk into Bristol easily (40 mins) and also down into Clifton village (30 mins). We stayed during the balloon festival and didnt have any trouble parking right outside the hotel. The breakfast was delicious, and again all requests were catered for. I would recommend this hotel to anyone and cannot wait to make another visit to Bristol.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michelle W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Truro, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 15, 2011

A stylish hotel, recently opened, in a beautiful situation: Number38 offers the ideal combination of making you feel looked after but left alone. It overlooks parkland on one side, and the rooftops of Clifton on the other, with a lovely terrace for outdoor drinks. The decor and furnishings are restrained but luxurious; breakfast was simply delicious (a choice of everything you could possibly want); our hosts were welcoming and helpful (recommended an excellent Italian restaurant nearby), out of sight but always around when needed; and the hotel is a short walk from a variety of restaurants and shops, a slightly longer one from the heart of Clifton itself. We visited in July after a long hot drive so we particularly appreciated the ceiling fan over the bed, the beautiful bathroom facilities and the choice of cold drinks and chocolate in the fridge. Excellent value for an excellent service - we can't wait for an excuse to go back.

Room Tip: ask the staff
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Margaret M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2011

Newly managed and with a number of rooms redecorated we had a memorable stay in Juky 2011.
Our room was spacious with views both over Clifton Downs and the city of Bristol. The decor was in harmony with the Georgian architecture and the king sized bed very comfortable.
We received a very warm welcome on arrival and the service during our stay was friendly and helpful.
Breakfast was excellent with the chef very keen to get feed back on his culinary skills.
Highly recommended and would definitely stay there again.

Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank glenysshutler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marlborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed July 29, 2011

Fabulous. A beautiful architecturally designed six bedroomed townhouse boutique hotel overlooking the Clifton Downs. Bedroom One is truly divine with fantastic views over the Downs on one elevation and the rooftops of the Bristol skyline from another.

Muted grey panelled walls hosting a king sized bed greet you. Stunning bath. The highest quality linen and style in abundance.

A gem to treasure. Discover it for yourself!!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ALLISONJANE12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2011

I found this on Alistair Sawday’s and it exceeded all expectations. Beautifully renovated town house with stunning views over the downs on one side and far reaching views of Bristol the other. Very well appointed large rooms with everything you could want for. For what they offer this place is amazing value. (Great free parking straight outside which is always a bonus in Bristol)

Room Tip: Four or Five, the suite on the top floor are stunning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sarah798
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2011

This is a brand new 'boutique B&B" - not to be confused with the guesthouse that was at this address until very recently. The attractive Merchants House has been completely refurbished - and designed to a very high standard - resulting in comfortable and stylish accommodation which is run by a very efficient and friendly manager.
The restaurants and bustle of Clifton are a few minutes walk and the views from the house - either over the city rooftops of across the downs are lovely. Rooms are all individual and have nice little touches - fresh milk in the fridge, huge showers and blissfully comfortable beds. And don't miss breakfast!
Perfect for a weekend away - we will definitely be back!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MrsSmith011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bristol hotels
1.3 mi away
Hotel du Vin & Bistro
Hotel du Vin & Bistro
#6 of 37 in Bristol
1,149 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Bristol
The Bristol
#3 of 37 in Bristol
3,465 reviews
1.5 mi away
Bristol Marriott Royal Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Mercure Bristol Brigstow Hotel
1.0 mi away
Victoria Square Hotel
Victoria Square Hotel
#28 of 37 in Bristol
494 reviews
1.2 mi away
Avon Gorge Hotel
Avon Gorge Hotel
#27 of 37 in Bristol
890 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Number Thirty Eight? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Number Thirty Eight

Property: Number Thirty Eight
Address: 38 Upper Belgrave Road | Clifton, Bristol BS8 2XN, England (Formerly Downs View Guest House)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Bristol
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 52 B&Bs / Inns in Bristol
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We offer ten stylish bedrooms in a recently refurbished Georgian merchant’s house at the top of the city. We offer an alternative to the corporate environment of city hotels, providing a contemporary 'home away from home' feel — focusing on the highest level of comfort and care. With panoramic city views from the rear of the building and the vast expanse of Clifton Downs to the front we are ideally placed for a short stop-over or weekend city break. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Number Thirty Eight reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Number Thirty Eight Hotel Bristol
Number 38

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing