We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Generally good”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Mercure Bristol Brigstow Hotel
Ranked #14 of 39 Hotels in Bristol
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 7, 2014

Big room, nice new bathroom, decent sheets and pillows. Good range of breakfast and efficient friendly staff. A little bit let down by lack of (and low quality) bathroom products and expensive drinks from the bar.

Stayed: June 2014, traveled on business
Thank Neil W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IFrance, General Manager at Mercure Bristol Brigstow Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 9, 2014

Happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and we shall look forward to your next visit.
Kind regards, Iain France - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,760)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

819 - 825 of 1,760 reviews

Reviewed June 6, 2014

I was supposed to stay at this hotel from the 4th until the 6th June. My girlfriend unfortunately was involved in an accident and was rushed into hospital the night before we were due to leave for Bristol. I immediately contacted the hotel to let them know of the circumstances to which diverted to other voicemails, to which i left many, i eventually got through to the manager, to which i was told there was nothing they would do for me. I am absolutely appalled by their lack of empathy with my situation. Furthermore i would never stay in this hotel again, or recommend it to anyone else. Customer service and staff were also very rude and obnoxious, to which i didn't need given my circumstances.
Rest assured i will be taking this matter further Mercure Hotel

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank Bigdiscodancer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IFrance, General Manager at Mercure Bristol Brigstow Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 10, 2014

I was sorry to hear that you were unable to stay at the hotel due to an accident, I am unaware of your situation or the reason you are disappointed with the hotel as you have not explained this clearly. Please feel free to contact me directly on 0117 929 2030 to discuss the matter further. Kind regards, Iain France - General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2014

We had pre booked a weekend trip for a wedding recently requesting a Superior double and a twin, both pre paid. When we got there we were informed that they did not have any twins available other than as Standard rooms. Were we offered a refund of the difference? Were we offered any alternative? Were the staff at all helpful and sympathetic? The simple answer is no on every count! To say that they were quite indifferent is an understatement!

By the way don't bother with a Superior Room "with a view", total waste of money as all you can see is the large trees that block your view of anything, even from the fourth floor. The rooms are small as well.

Car parking is only available at the expensive NCP next door and even with discount adds considerably to your overall expensive of a stay there.

Never again!

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rob G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IFrance, General Manager at Mercure Bristol Brigstow Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 6, 2014

I am sorry on this occasion that you were disappointed with your stay in particular the confusion regarding the room types you had requested via your booking agent. Please rest assured that I treat all feedback with the utmost seriousness and am currently investigating the matter of how my team handled the situation. Please feel free to contact me on Tel: 0117 929 1030 to discuss this further. Kind regards, Iain France - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2014

As it was a sunny bank holiday sunday evening the area was very busy with people drinking outside enjoying the great weather.
Parking is in the NCP behind the hotel - not cheap even with the hotel discount.
I was quite shocked at the size of the rooms and was shown 3 different ones. When I booked I believed I was speaking to someone at the hotel (not in a central reservations office) and expressed the type of room, 2 large beds. This was not available on check in it it was explained. The third room I was shown was the better of the 3 as at least it had large windows and was on a corner of the hotel!!!

Room Tip: If you're at the back of the hotel the view maybe large bins and an office block......
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank poppymaysmum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IFrance, General Manager at Mercure Bristol Brigstow Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 5, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent visit. I’m
delighted that you enjoyed your stay and we have noted your concerns about the central reservations and information on the size of the bedrooms to which we have addressed. Kind regards, Iain France - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2014

I am a very frequent flyer on a major airline. They offered to me to try hotels in exchange for some of my zillion miles. I booked at the Mercure in Bristol. Nothing intentional, but I booked the wrong rooms. Upon arrival, the very friendly staff made us completely at ease with this mistake and immediately proposed solutions that would suit my family and I. One of them was an upsell, but the proposal was ultimately very good so we ended up in a beautiful suite with direct view on the river. Really nice. The restaurant in the hotel was good, but service was unfortunately quite slow...with staff being too limited and the friendly waiter trying to compensate for the slow moving restaurant manager. That being said, the hotel is very well located right in the middle of the old city and there are plenty of nice restaurants around, so should I go back to Bristol I would probably dine in one of the restaurants on the river instead.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PPMAAVM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IFrance, General Manager at Mercure Bristol Brigstow Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 3, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent and I was delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay however, I have also noted your comments about the speed of service you received on this occasion in the Elements Restauarant & Bar to which, I have since addressed. Kind regards, Iain France - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2014

The hotel is situated alongside the river. There are lots of bars and there was a real buzz when we arrived. Easy walking distance to the O2 and the city centre. Plenty of bars and restaurants.
The restaurant was excellent value, clean and the staff extremely helpful. Will use this hotel again.

Room Tip: Request a room overlooking the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CornwallCaz60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IFrance, General Manager at Mercure Bristol Brigstow Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 2, 2014

Thank you for your kind comments and compliments – I am delighted that you enjoyed your
stay and look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Kind regards, Iain France - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2014 via mobile

An excellent, we'll appointed room overlooking the waterfront. Extremely comfortable bed, spacious bathroom and helpful staff.
Definitely one to revisit -good value for money. We did not have breakfast but other guests said it was good.

Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Alison C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IFrance, General Manager at Mercure Bristol Brigstow Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 2, 2014

Thank you for your very kind words. Very much appreciated and my team will be delighted
to hear that you enjoyed yourselves. Look forward to welcoming you back. Kind regards,
Iain France - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bristol hotels
0.3 mi away
The Bristol
The Bristol
#3 of 39 in Bristol
3,781 reviews
0.3 mi away
Bristol Marriott Royal Hotel
0.4 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Bristol City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Bristol
0.4 mi away
Mercure Bristol Holland House Hotel & Spa
0.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Bristol City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Bristol Brigstow Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Bristol Brigstow Hotel

Address: Welsh Back, Bristol BS1 4SP, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Bristol
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in Bristol
#12 Romantic Hotel in Bristol
#14 Business Hotel in Bristol
Price Range: $72 - $189 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Bristol Brigstow Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A unique four star boutique style hotel with FREE WIFI throughout. Standing on Welsh Back a tree lined boulevard overlooking the river and historic Bristol Bridge in the heart of the old city which is one of the most desirable addresses in Bristol. The hotel offers 116 contemporary & quirky designed bedrooms each with a queen size bed, en-suite bath and separate shower with many extras such as a television and heated mirror in every bathroom. The hotel also offers a limited number of twin rooms, Mercure Privilege rooms and also a modern Suite with an amazing dual aspect view over the city and river. The ellipse bar & restaurant opens daily offering an array of scrumptious dishes, from light meals to gastronomic delights accompanied by an excellent choice of wines and champagnes. Alternatively, just enjoy a coffee, traditional afternoon tea or sip cocktails from the bar whilst watching the boats sail by. Whether you are planning to stay for leisure, a personal reason or business, this city centre Hotel will be the perfect location and prides itself on offering the highest standard of service with an eye for detail to ensure great quality with a local flair. For those wishing to exercise, take advantage of the facilities at the nearby Welsh Back Gym, a real working gym - not for posers - where the hotel has made arrangements for their guests to take advantage of their facilities with their compliments. This hotel is just a short ten minute stroll from Bristol Temple Meads railway station or if travelling by car, the adjacent Queen Charlotte Street NCP car park (BS1 4ES) is ideal for parking where you will enjoy a twenty five percent discount from their tariff as a guest of this hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Mercure Bristol Brigstow Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Brigstow Bristol Hotel Bristol
Accor Brigstow Bristol
Mercure Bristol

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing