We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Another great stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mercure Bristol Brigstow Hotel
Ranked #14 of 37 Hotels in Bristol
2 reviews
“Another great stay”
Reviewed October 16, 2013

Pleasantly surprised that I attended a recent training seminar at a hotel previously stayed at. Again delighted with the hotel, very professional, efficient and food/breaks different & delicious. Rooms still funky & staff friendly will always chose this hotel when staying in bristol.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Millbeckmorley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IFrance, General Manager at Mercure Bristol Brigstow Hotel, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Thanks for your feedback again! Glad you enjoyed our hotel for your training seminar and we made your stay comfortable. Tip for next-time - look online at the Mercure web site where we guarantee the best rates available including our shopping cart where you can take advantage of discounted breakfast and dinner prices, this is also the best place to find special offers. Iain France - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,642 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    640
    665
    206
    89
    42
See reviews for
141
851
124
316
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (386)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2013

I found everything about the hotel to be good - service, cleanliness, breakfast, etc. It is well located on Welsh Back, close to city centre shops, bars and restaurants. The room was clean and in good condition when I stayed (October 2013), with all the normal facilities you would expect (coffee making, TV, air-con, separate bath and shower, trouser press, etc). There is free wi-fi throughout the hotel. Breakfast was good, with a decent choice and plentifully topped-up. I would recommend for a business trip or a weekend in the city centre.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scott H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IFrance, General Manager at Mercure Bristol Brigstow Hotel, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Thank you for your very kind words. Very much appreciated and my team will be delighted
to hear that you enjoyed yourself. Look forward to welcoming you back. Kind regards,
Iain France - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2013

Great staff, great room, hotel design with a difference, feels like being at home, good value fir money when you book in advance and purchase breakfast from the shopping cart on their direct site, would deffinately recommend.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SelbyGoole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IFrance, General Manager at Mercure Bristol Brigstow Hotel, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Many thanks for your kind words. I’m glad my team made your return stay enjoyable again and I was pleased to learn that you took advantage of the shopping cart on our own web site where we always guarantee the best rates available. We shall certainly look forward to seeing you again in the near future, kindest regards, Iain France - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2013

We didn't complain about only having 1 bath towel for 2 people. We had a late night so decided to sleep in until hour before check out. From before 9am we were woken up by the cleaner knocking on our door, not once or twice but 5 times. I could even hear her complaining that we should 'get out of the room' that we had paid for and still had 3 hours until check out. Do not bother trying to complain to Mercure, it's almost impossible to find a contact and when you do they brush you off.

Room Tip: DO NOT STAY HERE unless you want to be woken up early.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1971dbjw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IFrance, General Manager at Mercure Bristol Brigstow Hotel, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
I am sorry on this occasion that you were disappointed with your stay. I personally treat all feedback with the utmost seriousness and am currently investigating the matter as we are not aware of this issue or that you attempted to contact the hotel with feedback? Please feel free to
contact me on telephone number 0117 929 1030 to discuss this further so that I can have a better understanding of the situation. Please be assured that we do provide do not disturb cards in all our bedrooms to be placed on the door handle and that there are always a selection of spare towels in the wardrobe. Kind regards, Iain France - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sevenoaks
Level Contributor
97 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2013

Lovely hotel. Fairly new I think, on the Welsh Back on the river in the heart of Bristol.

Good bar food and a happy hour.

Like one of your other reviewers I booked through Lastminute.com and got a good deal.

It is quiet the room well appointed ,the maker iron etc and the bed comfortable.

All in all very acceptable.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 380Mac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IFrance, General Manager at Mercure Bristol Brigstow Hotel, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Thanks for your feedback! Glad you had a good stay! Just to let you know for next time,
book online at our Mercure website directly, this is where we promote and guarantee our best rates available in addition to our shopping cart where you can benefit from discounted rates for breakfast, dinner etc... this will also make you eligible for our loyalyty points in Le-Club. Kindest regards, Iain France - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Yorkshire, UK
Level Contributor
54 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2013

Booked for one night business trip. Very central - a short walk from Temple Meads railway station, close to everything. Staff very friendly and accommodating. Room very comfortable and a good size. Service in the bar and restaurant also good.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cathy O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IFrance, General Manager at Mercure Bristol Brigstow Hotel, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Glad you had a good time! Hope to see you again. Kind regards, Iain France - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
99 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2013

We stayed in The Mecure Bristol Brigstow Hotel for one night after booking it though LastMinute.com as one of their "Top Secret" Hotels. We paid £60 for one night which we thought was reasonable.

We got to the hotel after a two hour drive, and due to road closures and one way systems, it through our satnav off completely and we couldn't find the NCP carpark for love nor money. We ended up phoning the hotel to ask for directions but was told that nobody drove so they couldn't help us. Cue a 1/2 hour drive trying to find the carpark.

We got to the hotel and checked in to be advised that if we wanted breakfast in the morning, we could either pay £10 now each, or pay £16 each in the morning. Breakfast was good but not worth the £32 we would have paid on the Sunday had we not preordered it.

We then ended up paying £15 (after the 20% discount) for the parking. So in actual fact, our, good value £60 hotel room cost £95. Not good value really.

The room was ok, it was clean but had a bit of a musty smell - my husband said it smelt like someone was trying to cover up cigarettes?

The TV in the Bath didn't work when we arrived, so the maintenance man came out really quickly, and fixed it - the response time was excellent.

The pillows were like bullets and the room bordering on chilly, but it was quiet, we didn't hear anything throughout the night.

The hotel was average, I think we could have probably found a nicer hotel for almost £100 but you live and learn. Would I go back? Yes, as long as the "extras" were taken off.

Room Tip: Book your breakfast upon arrival as its not worth £16 per head.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lucy J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IFrance, General Manager at Mercure Bristol Brigstow Hotel, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent visit and I’m delighted that you enjoyed your stay. I was however, disappointed to learn that you struggled to find the Queen Charlotte Street NCP Car Park, despite the access from Queen Square being closed at present, there are certainly clear diversion signs which bring you back to Baldwin Street. I was also disappointed to hear that you believe our buffet breakfast where you can enjoy as much food as you like and offers ample hot and cold choices was not value for money. Please be assured that Mercure always offer our best rates available on our own web site including our shopping cart whereby you can take advantage of advanced discounted rates on breakfast, dinner etc.. and I am sure on your next visit to Mercure booking through our site, you will find a package that will meet your criteria as value for money. Kind regards, Iain France - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bristol hotels
0.3 mi away
The Bristol
The Bristol
#4 of 37 in Bristol
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,515 reviews
0.4 mi away
Mercure Bristol Holland House Hotel & Spa
0.3 mi away
Bristol Marriott Royal Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Bristol
0.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Bristol City Centre
0.3 mi away
Hotel du Vin & Bistro
Hotel du Vin & Bistro
#6 of 37 in Bristol
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Bristol Brigstow Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Bristol Brigstow Hotel

Property: Mercure Bristol Brigstow Hotel
Address: Welsh Back, Bristol BS1 4SP, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Bristol
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in Bristol
#12 Romantic Hotel in Bristol
#14 Family Hotel in Bristol
#14 Business Hotel in Bristol
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Bristol Brigstow Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A unique four star boutique style hotel with FREE WIFI throughout. Standing on Welsh Back a tree lined boulevard overlooking the river and historic Bristol Bridge in the heart of the old city which is one of the most desirable addresses in Bristol. The hotel offers 116 contemporary & quirky designed bedrooms each with a queen size bed, en-suite bath and separate shower with many extras such as a television and heated mirror in every bathroom. The hotel also offers a limited number of twin rooms, Mercure Privilege rooms and also a modern Suite with an amazing dual aspect view over the city and river. The ellipse bar & restaurant opens daily offering an array of scrumptious dishes, from light meals to gastronomic delights accompanied by an excellent choice of wines and champagnes. Alternatively, just enjoy a coffee, traditional afternoon tea or sip cocktails from the bar whilst watching the boats sail by. Whether you are planning to stay for leisure, a personal reason or business, this city centre Hotel will be the perfect location and prides itself on offering the highest standard of service with an eye for detail to ensure great quality with a local flair. For those wishing to exercise, take advantage of the facilities at the nearby Welsh Back Gym, a real working gym - not for posers - where the hotel has made arrangements for their guests to take advantage of their facilities with their compliments. This hotel is just a short ten minute stroll from Bristol Temple Meads railway station or if travelling by car, the adjacent Queen Charlotte Street NCP car park (BS1 4ES) is ideal for parking where you will enjoy a twenty five percent discount from their tariff as a guest of this hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, ACCOR, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Mercure Bristol Brigstow Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Brigstow Bristol Hotel Bristol
Accor Brigstow Bristol
Mercure Bristol

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing