We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice hotel - a bit noisy at night.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mercure Bristol Brigstow Hotel
Ranked #17 of 39 Hotels in Bristol
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 23, 2013

Booked 3 rooms at this hotel for 2 nights for a city break for my family. One room was a disabled room and was very well equipped, especially the bathroom, All rooms were nicely decorated and had all you would expect from a 4 star hotel. It was noisy at night, with the noise of furniture being moved around in the early hours. It was well situated for restaurants and shopping.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SimonOxfordshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IFrance, General Manager at Mercure Bristol Brigstow Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 26, 2013

Thank you for posting your thoughts on here. We really value your feedback. Kind regards
Iain France - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,703)
There are newer reviews for Mercure Bristol Brigstow Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

946 - 952 of 1,703 reviews

Reviewed August 22, 2013

Stayed for one Saturday night, our room was ready early which was great. Location is great for all attractions. Staff friendly. Room good, a little dark, but very clean, comfortable and we slept well, no noise. Pool small but warm and relaxing, the male changing rooms ran out of towels so we had to pass some from the ladies. gym looked ok, only small but it wasn't busy. parking is extra, we got a space easily it's £12 for 24 hrs. Would stay there again

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank misspiggyWalsall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IFrance, General Manager at Mercure Bristol Brigstow Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 22, 2013

Thanks for posting your review however, I believe that your feedback is regarding your stay at our sister hotel the Mercure Bristol Holland House. Was glad to hear you had a good stay and will pass on your comments to them. Kindest regards - Iain France - General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2013

Lovely location on the waterfront,very central to the bars & shops,good restaurants also,wish I had more time to enjoy our room.we had a discount on our Breakfast & it was delicious,with lot's to choose from,would go back.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank woolly357
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IFrance, General Manager at Mercure Bristol Brigstow Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 21, 2013

Thank you for your kind comments and compliments – I am delighted that you enjoyed your
stay and look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Kind regards, Iain France - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2013

Stayed two nights for the Balloon Fiesta, the room was spacious, modern and clean and we got a great deal through trivago for £60 per night. Front of house staff very helpful at check in and also with local knowledge. The hotel is in a great waterfront location with nice bars and restaurants nearby, central, without being noisy. Would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: Rooms either have a waterfront view or look out over offices, pay more if you want a view.
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lobodoh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IFrance, General Manager at Mercure Bristol Brigstow Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 19, 2013

Thanks for your feedback! Glad you had a good stay! Just to let you know for next time,
book online at our own Mercure web site where we promote our best rates available guaranteed. Iain France - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2013

This hotel is in a great location, right on the riverbank, bear the lovely Queen Square. There are plenty of attractive pubs and restaurants nearby, and it is really convenient for the city centre, and not far from Temple Meads station.

Inside, it has a rather quirky colour scheme, and the bedroom I had was in all colours of the rainbow. It was no less attractive for that.

The good rooms at the front of the hotel have a great view over the river, and you can see the appallingly healthy denizens of this city go about their jogging, cycling and rowing to work in all colours of lycra. Unfortunately, my room was at the back of the hotel, overlooking a rather skanky car park. Still, the room was a good size, comfortable, and with a good bathroom. It was also quiet.

I only ate breakfast (perfectly adequate with the usual choices of cereals, bacon etc) so can't speak about the standard of other meals.

Whilst the Hotel is obviously new, they could do with cleaning the carpets in some of the areas by the lifts, but that is a minor complaint. Altogether, this was a good, comfortable hotel, and I will stay again.

Room Tip: Get one at the front!
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elstonian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IFrance, General Manager at Mercure Bristol Brigstow Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 19, 2013

Glad you had a good time! Hope to see you again. Kind regards, Iain France - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2013

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank ayshhk
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
IFrance, General Manager at Mercure Bristol Brigstow Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 19, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed August 16, 2013

This is the first time that I stayed at the Mercure Bristol Brigstow Hotel and it was excellent. The location is superb as well. Right from the start, from check in to the finishing check out, the staff were very accommodating, friendly, helpful and very professional. Nothing was too much for them. They really wanted to make your stay a pleasant experience. The room was very clean and tidy and I had a river view, albeit I could not see too much of the river due to the leaves on the trees, however the sights that I could see were fabulous. The bed was extremely comfortable. The bathroom was very spacious with a TV at the bottom of the bath and the shower was quite powerful as well. The breakfast was one of the best I have ever had, if not THE best I have ever had. Nice variety and plenty of it if you wanted it. I would definitely recommend this Hotel to any one, in fact I have already made another booking in September.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IFrance, General Manager at Mercure Bristol Brigstow Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 19, 2013

Many thanks for your kind words. I’m glad my team made your stay enjoyable. If you want
to come back and stay with us again, remember to book on the Mercure web site directtly to get the best rates available. Kindest Regards Iain France - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bristol hotels
0.3 mi away
The Bristol
The Bristol
#3 of 39 in Bristol
3,683 reviews
0.3 mi away
Bristol Marriott Royal Hotel
0.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Bristol
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Bristol City Centre
0.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Bristol City Centre
0.2 mi away
Mercure Bristol Grand Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Bristol Brigstow Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Bristol Brigstow Hotel

Address: Welsh Back, Bristol BS1 4SP, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Bristol
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Luxury Hotel in Bristol
#12 Romantic Hotel in Bristol
#14 Family Hotel in Bristol
#14 Business Hotel in Bristol
Price Range: $89 - $202 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Bristol Brigstow Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A unique four star boutique style hotel with FREE WIFI throughout. Standing on Welsh Back a tree lined boulevard overlooking the river and historic Bristol Bridge in the heart of the old city which is one of the most desirable addresses in Bristol. The hotel offers 116 contemporary & quirky designed bedrooms each with a queen size bed, en-suite bath and separate shower with many extras such as a television and heated mirror in every bathroom. The hotel also offers a limited number of twin rooms, Mercure Privilege rooms and also a modern Suite with an amazing dual aspect view over the city and river. The ellipse bar & restaurant opens daily offering an array of scrumptious dishes, from light meals to gastronomic delights accompanied by an excellent choice of wines and champagnes. Alternatively, just enjoy a coffee, traditional afternoon tea or sip cocktails from the bar whilst watching the boats sail by. Whether you are planning to stay for leisure, a personal reason or business, this city centre Hotel will be the perfect location and prides itself on offering the highest standard of service with an eye for detail to ensure great quality with a local flair. For those wishing to exercise, take advantage of the facilities at the nearby Welsh Back Gym, a real working gym - not for posers - where the hotel has made arrangements for their guests to take advantage of their facilities with their compliments. This hotel is just a short ten minute stroll from Bristol Temple Meads railway station or if travelling by car, the adjacent Queen Charlotte Street NCP car park (BS1 4ES) is ideal for parking where you will enjoy a twenty five percent discount from their tariff as a guest of this hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, ACCOR, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mercure Bristol Brigstow Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Brigstow Bristol Hotel Bristol
Accor Brigstow Bristol
Mercure Bristol

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing