We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Classy yet Comfortable”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mercure Bristol Brigstow Hotel
Ranked #14 of 39 Hotels in Bristol
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 24, 2013

I used the hotel on the night of my leavers ball to save the trouble of taxis etc. It was amazing. The location was easy to access however we did not have a car. (There is a car park near by and customers do get 25% off at the NPC carpark.) Anyway the room was simplistic and stylish as well as completely updated. We enjoyed the teas and coffees in the room and the bedding was comfortable. Would definitely recommend and believe that it is generally good value for money.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank sammy464
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IFrance, General Manager at Mercure Bristol Brigstow Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 24, 2013

Happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and we shall certainly look forward to your next visit.
Kind regards, Iain France - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,746)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,025 - 1,031 of 1,746 reviews

Reviewed June 24, 2013

We stayed here last Saturday and chose the hotel for its central location. Having looked on various websites I booked through the hotel website where we got a river view room for the same price as a non river room on many of the other discount sites. On arriving at the hotel we were given the room at the end of the corridor which looked slightly larger than the others on the same floor. Room was nice, conventional business style room, big windows overlooking the river and spacious if not particularly glamorous bathroom. We were only using the hotel as a base to explore Bristol and I am not sure we would have wanted to spend hours in in the room! We didn't have breakfast and there looked to be a very good coffee shop just along the road. The only pain was the parking, the NCP is expensive and parking before 6pm can only be bought in one hour blocks - and you need to keep moving the car.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking river have nice outlook but you do get some noise disturbance (on a weekend) from...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrsKP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IFrance, General Manager at Mercure Bristol Brigstow Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 24, 2013

Thank you for your very kind words. Very much appreciated and my team will be delighted
to hear that you enjoyed yourselves. Look forward to welcoming you back. Kind regards,
Iain France - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
1
Reviewed June 21, 2013

I took out an offer to stay at the hotel which included a welcome gift on arrival. I paid star for a privilege room which included a Nespresso machine and free soft drinks.
The room was very nice, however I was extremely disappointed with the welcome gift. The gift comprised of two bottles of water and two Alpen bars. Considering that the room that I paid for included free soft drinks, getting water as a gift seemed inappropriate.

The service was very good. On our first night we dined in the restaurant and took advantage of the three course meal for £20. The meal was delicious and I would highly recommend it.

Overall, we enjoyed our stay and would definitely recommend the hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IFrance, General Manager at Mercure Bristol Brigstow Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 23, 2013

Thank you for posting your thoughts on here. We really value your feedback. Kind regards
Iain France - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2013

Fabulous food and service. Lovely room. Shame about the wooden floors and connecting door as these meant we heard lots of walking around from the next room and conversation. So something needs to be done about sound insulation especially considering the cost of the room.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank Chester007_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IFrance, General Manager at Mercure Bristol Brigstow Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 20, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent visit, I’m
delighted that you enjoyed your stay and we have noted your comments about sound insulation
which we will investigate and take the appropriate measures to prevent future occurrence. Kind regards, Iain France - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2013

we stayed for 1 night as a stopover to bristol airport.wonderful room,comfy bed,tea,coffee,iron and a nice size fridge,everything you would want for a nights stay.but best of all was the t.v tile in the bathroom!!i got in the bath and saw a switch and hey presto,the tile had simon cowell's face on it!!very dallas/dynasty!fresh clean and modern is a words id use to describe the decor.only thing the parking was 165 quid a night,so take this into consideration when booking.and ,another big must is,book a river veiw room if u havnt got one.we wernt offered it (maybe they ran out)but we saw the sign next day as we were leaving"book a river veiw room 10 pound more",it would be worth it as the veiw from behind the hotel is rubbish(car parks/offices).we usually stay in the mercure holland house,but from now on we will stay in this one.much nicer room and cental location .

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maria G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IFrance, General Manager at Mercure Bristol Brigstow Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 19, 2013

Thank you for posting your thoughts on here. We really value your feedback. Kind regards
Iain France - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here on a Saturday for 1 night. We got to Bristol by train we arrived at the hotel at 1:50pm check in wasn't until 2pm but we were able to check in as soon as we arrived, I know it's only 10mins but they didn't have to. Reception was spacious and airy reception staff were very helpful and gave us details on how to get to the room. The room was gorgeous, large plenty of room to move about deffo deserves the 4star award it holds. Bathroom was amazing including the mini tv in the bathroom all mod cons like hair dryer iron etc are already supplied in the room so no need to go to reception and ask. Location is great in walking distance to the city centre shops and bars/pubs. We payed a few weeks prier using laterooms so got a good deal on the price. Will deffo be returning to this hotel in the future.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sophie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IFrance, General Manager at Mercure Bristol Brigstow Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 17, 2013

Many thanks for your kind words. I’m glad my team made your stay enjoyable. If you want
to come back and stay with us again, remember to book on our Mercure website where we always guarantee the best rates available including promotional breaks. Kind regards, Iain France - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2013

I spent one night here while visiting Bristol. The hotel is very central and close of everything. The room was fine it was spacious and clean, Likewise the bathroom was well maintained and clean.

Overall, a hotel worth staying in.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bluechip78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IFrance, General Manager at Mercure Bristol Brigstow Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 17, 2013

Thank you for your kind comments and compliments – I am delighted that you enjoyed your
stay and look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Kind regards, Iain France - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bristol hotels
0.3 mi away
The Bristol
The Bristol
#3 of 39 in Bristol
3,757 reviews
0.3 mi away
Bristol Marriott Royal Hotel
0.4 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Bristol City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Bristol
0.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Bristol City Centre
0.4 mi away
Mercure Bristol Holland House Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Bristol Brigstow Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Bristol Brigstow Hotel

Address: Welsh Back, Bristol BS1 4SP, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Bristol
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in Bristol
#12 Romantic Hotel in Bristol
#14 Business Hotel in Bristol
#14 Family Hotel in Bristol
Price Range: $84 - $213 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Bristol Brigstow Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A unique four star boutique style hotel with FREE WIFI throughout. Standing on Welsh Back a tree lined boulevard overlooking the river and historic Bristol Bridge in the heart of the old city which is one of the most desirable addresses in Bristol. The hotel offers 116 contemporary & quirky designed bedrooms each with a queen size bed, en-suite bath and separate shower with many extras such as a television and heated mirror in every bathroom. The hotel also offers a limited number of twin rooms, Mercure Privilege rooms and also a modern Suite with an amazing dual aspect view over the city and river. The ellipse bar & restaurant opens daily offering an array of scrumptious dishes, from light meals to gastronomic delights accompanied by an excellent choice of wines and champagnes. Alternatively, just enjoy a coffee, traditional afternoon tea or sip cocktails from the bar whilst watching the boats sail by. Whether you are planning to stay for leisure, a personal reason or business, this city centre Hotel will be the perfect location and prides itself on offering the highest standard of service with an eye for detail to ensure great quality with a local flair. For those wishing to exercise, take advantage of the facilities at the nearby Welsh Back Gym, a real working gym - not for posers - where the hotel has made arrangements for their guests to take advantage of their facilities with their compliments. This hotel is just a short ten minute stroll from Bristol Temple Meads railway station or if travelling by car, the adjacent Queen Charlotte Street NCP car park (BS1 4ES) is ideal for parking where you will enjoy a twenty five percent discount from their tariff as a guest of this hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ACCOR, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mercure Bristol Brigstow Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Brigstow Bristol Hotel Bristol
Accor Brigstow Bristol
Mercure Bristol

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing