We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hotel in a great location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mercure Bristol Brigstow Hotel
Ranked #14 of 37 Hotels in Bristol
Write a Review

1,620 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    634
    653
    203
    88
    42
See reviews for
140
840
124
312
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (376)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rickmansworth, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2013

Excellent location for shops , restaurants and walks . Shame no on site car parking but NCP next door with a 25% discount not bad ( Hotel could do bigger discount as staying for more than one night would prove expensive) Would I stay here again ? , Yes, if I was was staying for the odd night.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter9698
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IFrance, General Manager at Mercure Bristol Brigstow Hotel, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Thank you very much for your review - delighted that you enjoyed your visit. I look forward
to welcoming you back soon. Kind regards, Iain France - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bern, Switzerland
Level Contributor
23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2013

The staff at the front desk did a fine job.
The room was very comfortable.

Water pressure in the shower could have been better, but otherwise a good stay.The hotel is centrally located and only a short walk to the Bristol Airport Bus stop.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IFrance, General Manager at Mercure Bristol Brigstow Hotel, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Thank you for your very kind words. Very much appreciated and my team will be delighted
to hear that you enjoyed yourselves. Look forward to welcoming you back. Kind regards,
Iain France - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

Just returned from a great weekend in Bristol. Stayed at this Hotel which is situated right on the waterfront - within walking distance of most attractions and shopping. Found a fantastic new bistro/restaurant - The Cherry Duck only a few minutes walk away (out of hotel and turn right, keep walking for about 2 minutes and you will find on the left). The 18 hr Braised Belly of Pork was the best pork I have ever eaten and excellent value too. Fantastic weekend spent with friends in a wonderful location, great Hotel completed with a truly memorable meal at The Cherry Duck too. We will definately return.

Room Tip: We asked for a room overlooking the waterfront - which we had. Excellent room with a tv in the bath...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank janesartain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IFrance, General Manager at Mercure Bristol Brigstow Hotel, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Thank you for your kind comments and compliments – I am delighted that you enjoyed your
stay and look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Kind regards, Iain France - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

My wife & i stayed here on a saturday night. The checking in process was swift and smooth, the room on the face of it was fine, as the title said, it was functional, but as with short breaks, you don't need much.
The bathroom was looking a bit jaded with a leaky tap and just some cosmetic damage to the shower tray and bath, things can could easily have been touched up. The door to the room also seemed to let in a lot of light around the entire frame, something which concerned my wife as although the door locked fine, she didn't feel it was 100% secure.

The bar was the biggest disappointment, aside from waiting for over 10 minutes to be served with non-bar staff walking past us, the lady who then took our order informed us that she couldn't make a champagne cocktail and it would be another 5-10 minutes before the bar manager would return. My wife chose a wine instead, which was a good option as it was another 15 minutes before anyone else appeared at the bar. Needless to say, we didn't stay for a second drink and went elsewhere instead.

The real benefit from this hotel though is its proximity to the 'Cherry Duck Bistro' that is a few hundred yards down the road. That was the primary purpose of our visit and thankfully it took away the slight disappointment of the hotel.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IFrance, General Manager at Mercure Bristol Brigstow Hotel, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent visit. I’m
delighted that you enjoyed your stay however, I was sorry to learn that you were disappointed with the service in particular from the bar team, please accept my sincere apologies. I would also like to confirm that we have noted your comments about the maintenance of the bedroom and will take the appropriater measures to prevent future occurrence, Kind regards, Iain France - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

Spent a couple of nights here in January. Very pleasing room overlooking the river. Could have been in any city in Europe. Good location. Easy walk to the centre of town for shopping. Nice pub around the corner 'The Fish Market' with real ales and Thai food. All in all a nice hotel, set in a quiet backwater but close to the action. PS there is Cider boat a few yards down the road which we didn't try but might be nice in the summer.

Room Tip: Ask for one facing the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DeannaN5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IFrance, General Manager at Mercure Bristol Brigstow Hotel, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Thank you for posting your thoughts on here. We really value your feedback. Kind regards
Iain France - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bristol hotels
0.3 mi away
The Bristol
The Bristol
#4 of 37 in Bristol
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,472 reviews
0.4 mi away
Mercure Bristol Holland House Hotel & Spa
0.3 mi away
Bristol Marriott Royal Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Bristol
0.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Bristol City Centre
0.3 mi away
Hotel du Vin & Bistro
Hotel du Vin & Bistro
#6 of 37 in Bristol
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Bristol Brigstow Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Bristol Brigstow Hotel

Property: Mercure Bristol Brigstow Hotel
Address: Welsh Back, Bristol BS1 4SP, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Bristol
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in Bristol
#12 Romantic Hotel in Bristol
#14 Business Hotel in Bristol
#14 Family Hotel in Bristol
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Bristol Brigstow Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A unique four star boutique style hotel with FREE WIFI throughout. Standing on Welsh Back a tree lined boulevard overlooking the river and historic Bristol Bridge in the heart of the old city which is one of the most desirable addresses in Bristol. The hotel offers 116 contemporary & quirky designed bedrooms each with a queen size bed, en-suite bath and separate shower with many extras such as a television and heated mirror in every bathroom. The hotel also offers a limited number of twin rooms, Mercure Privilege rooms and also a modern Suite with an amazing dual aspect view over the city and river. The ellipse bar & restaurant opens daily offering an array of scrumptious dishes, from light meals to gastronomic delights accompanied by an excellent choice of wines and champagnes. Alternatively, just enjoy a coffee, traditional afternoon tea or sip cocktails from the bar whilst watching the boats sail by. Whether you are planning to stay for leisure, a personal reason or business, this city centre Hotel will be the perfect location and prides itself on offering the highest standard of service with an eye for detail to ensure great quality with a local flair. For those wishing to exercise, take advantage of the facilities at the nearby Welsh Back Gym, a real working gym - not for posers - where the hotel has made arrangements for their guests to take advantage of their facilities with their compliments. This hotel is just a short ten minute stroll from Bristol Temple Meads railway station or if travelling by car, the adjacent Queen Charlotte Street NCP car park (BS1 4ES) is ideal for parking where you will enjoy a twenty five percent discount from their tariff as a guest of this hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ACCOR, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mercure Bristol Brigstow Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Brigstow Bristol Hotel Bristol
Accor Brigstow Bristol
Mercure Bristol

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing