We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice location - nice room” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mercure Bristol Brigstow Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Mercure Bristol Brigstow Hotel
Ranked #15 of 37 Hotels in Bristol
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Nice location - nice room”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

Spent a couple of nights here in January. Very pleasing room overlooking the river. Could have been in any city in Europe. Good location. Easy walk to the centre of town for shopping. Nice pub around the corner 'The Fish Market' with real ales and Thai food. All in all a nice hotel, set in a quiet backwater but close to the action. PS there is Cider boat a few yards down the road which we didn't try but might be nice in the summer.

Room Tip: Ask for one facing the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DeannaN5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IFrance, General Manager at Mercure Bristol Brigstow Hotel, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Thank you for posting your thoughts on here. We really value your feedback. Kind regards
Iain France - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,599 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    623
    645
    202
    88
    41
See reviews for
138
830
122
306
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (372)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
73 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2013

This is the second time we have stayed at the Mercure and it will now become our hotel of choice when in Bristol. The location is superb by the water, bars, restaurants and place of interest.
The hotel is modern, clean, elegant in furnishings and has lovely little touches from the cushions in the rooms to the TV screen in the bathroom. Its not as expensive as you may think and there is plenty of off street parking and an NCP next door. What more could want.
On this occasion when I checked in a found that I had mistakenly made my booking for March instead of February and that as I had taken advantage of a special non-refundable rate I was going to loose that money ... but the reception staff offered to change my booking if I paid the difference in room rate. I could not be happier.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sanj67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IFrance, General Manager at Mercure Bristol Brigstow Hotel, responded to this review, February 24, 2013
Thanks for your feedback! Glad you had a good stay! Iain France - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2013

Very comfortable. Staff responded quickly when room safe would not open with my laptop inside. Impressed with bathroom with built in telly. good selection for breakfast. Good location for city centre.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MParrett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IFrance, General Manager at Mercure Bristol Brigstow Hotel, responded to this review, February 24, 2013
Thank you for your very kind words. Very much appreciated and my team will be delighted
to hear that you enjoyed yourselves. Look forward to welcoming you back. Kind regards,
Iain France - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2013

This hotel was great.

I was in Bristol on business and stayed two nights at the Mercure. I think I may have been upgraded and was assigned room 614. I was not told I was upgraded but there was a sign which said "Prestige" by the door.

The room was very well furnished but seemed quite small, although we were in a city centre location. The contents of the minibar (non-alcoholic) were all free, the room looks over the river through the city, there was a TV in the bath, bathrobes. Things you would not expect in a standard room.

Checkin was efficient and friendly and all staff I dealt with were very friendly.

Location is great. The hotel costs £5 to get to from Temple Meads in a taxi. There are several nice bars, restaurants, boats along Welsh Back and King Street. The walk to the business district is about 5 minutes.

Breakfast is very good, with a good selection of food. On the first morning it was a young girl, I think was Hungarian, who was welcoming people and was very much on top of things. The second it was an English lady who seemed less in control, assigned me a seat which was already taken, when I got back from the buffet there was someone else in the seat who had been at the buffet. I went to another seat but of course my tea order didn't come. Luckily I spotted the Hungarian girl after a few minutes and she sorted it out for me.

The most infuriating thing about the hotel is the TV. You have to enter a series of numbers just to get the TV on. Enter to begin, 1 to select TV channels, 7 for TV or Radio, 1 for TV, 1 for BBC1. Maybe 4 or 5 button presses just to get the TV on. And then no programme guide on it so I had to refer to the local newspaper to find out what was on. I know that the hotel will make money off these TVs by selling pay per view movies and porn, but surely a TV in a hotel room should be as easy to use as that in your own home. Twice the TV turned off for no reason and once I turned it off to take a phone call and had to go through the whole rigmarole again. Plus when coming back from breakfast and dinner.

So I give the hotel a 4 out of 5. Dropping one point because of the awkward TV. Being away from home on business I spend time by myself in hotel rooms and invariably watch lots of TV. I'm sure it's nothing that the local management can fix as the TV is Mercure branded and, as I said, it raises revenue for them in its current setup.

Other than that, a 5/5.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Smick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IFrance, General Manager at Mercure Bristol Brigstow Hotel, responded to this review, February 24, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent visit I’m
delighted that you enjoyed your stay and I have noted your comments about the television remote and accessing the TV chanels directly to which I have since investigate. I understand there is an actual TV button which allows immediate access to the TV chanels without scrolling through the whole menu, however, thank you for informing me and I shall certainly monitor this situation closely. Kind regards, Iain France - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2013

Stayed in the city on business, convenient location for my meeting & also close to where dinner had been arranged. Hotel appears to be in a prestigious address for Bristol as surrounding area is very nice with everything on your doorstep. Will deffinately return for both business & leisure as the service & bedrooms are excellent at this hotel for the price. Tip - checkout the mercure website for best rates where I found a reasonable advance booking rate!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Islandsin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IFrance, General Manager at Mercure Bristol Brigstow Hotel, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Many thanks for your kind words. I’m glad my team made your stay enjoyable. I was aslo delighted to learn that you made your booking directly on line at the Mercure site where we guarantee the best rates available. We shall certainly look forward to welcoming you again in the near future. Kindest regards Iain France -General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2013

Had a really disappointing night here in December. Came back to our room late at night to find it smelling of cigarette smoke. Called the concierge who apologised but explained the hotel was full so couldn't move us. In the morning, on opening the curtains found cigarette ash all over the corner of the room (besides a floor that hadn't recently been cleaned).

Explained my concern to the staff, and the manager agreed to get in touch. Despite an initial apology, made little attempt to resolve the issue which I think was pretty unforgiveable. As a non-smoker to sleep in a smoke filled room? (Besides being illegal?) Offered another night in Bristol, but as I have no reason to visit, I declined and was offered nothing else. No refund. No offer of an alternative through the Mercure network (franchised).

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank adamirwin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IFrance, General Manager at Mercure Bristol Brigstow Hotel, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Thank you for your comments, I was sorry to learn that you were disappointed with your stay on this occasion in particular the smell of smoke in your bedroom, please accept my sincere apologies. As previously discussed, in line with the law, the Mercure Bristol Brigstow Hotel is a completely no smoking hotel. I understand that you checked in earlier during the day and reported no issues with your bedroom. Therefore the only reasonable explanation would be that your bedroom patio window had been left open and a neighbouring guest of the hotel had been smoking on the balcony. Please be assured that the team are always available to help and had we been made aware at the time of this incident, we would have taken further action against the person/s smoking and dealt with accordingly. Kind regards, Iain France - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bristol hotels
0.3 mi away
The Bristol
The Bristol
#4 of 37 in Bristol
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,422 reviews
0.4 mi away
Mercure Bristol Holland House Hotel & Spa
0.3 mi away
Bristol Marriott Royal Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Bristol
0.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Bristol City Centre
0.3 mi away
Hotel du Vin & Bistro
Hotel du Vin & Bistro
#6 of 37 in Bristol
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Bristol Brigstow Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Bristol Brigstow Hotel

Property: Mercure Bristol Brigstow Hotel
Address: Welsh Back, Bristol BS1 4SP, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Bristol
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in Bristol
#12 Romantic Hotel in Bristol
#14 Family Hotel in Bristol
#14 Business Hotel in Bristol
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Bristol Brigstow Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A unique four star boutique style hotel with FREE WIFI throughout. Standing on Welsh Back a tree lined boulevard overlooking the river and historic Bristol Bridge in the heart of the old city which is one of the most desirable addresses in Bristol. The hotel offers 116 contemporary & quirky designed bedrooms each with a queen size bed, en-suite bath and separate shower with many extras such as a television and heated mirror in every bathroom. The hotel also offers a limited number of twin rooms, Mercure Privilege rooms and also a modern Suite with an amazing dual aspect view over the city and river. The ellipse bar & restaurant opens daily offering an array of scrumptious dishes, from light meals to gastronomic delights accompanied by an excellent choice of wines and champagnes. Alternatively, just enjoy a coffee, traditional afternoon tea or sip cocktails from the bar whilst watching the boats sail by. Whether you are planning to stay for leisure, a personal reason or business, this city centre Hotel will be the perfect location and prides itself on offering the highest standard of service with an eye for detail to ensure great quality with a local flair. For those wishing to exercise, take advantage of the facilities at the nearby Welsh Back Gym, a real working gym - not for posers - where the hotel has made arrangements for their guests to take advantage of their facilities with their compliments. This hotel is just a short ten minute stroll from Bristol Temple Meads railway station or if travelling by car, the adjacent Queen Charlotte Street NCP car park is ideal for parking where you will enjoy a twenty five percent discount from their tariff as a guest of this hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com and ACCOR so you can book your Mercure Bristol Brigstow Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Brigstow Bristol Hotel Bristol
Accor Brigstow Bristol
Mercure Bristol

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing