We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent modern hotel.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mercure Bristol Brigstow Hotel
Ranked #15 of 38 Hotels in Bristol
Certificate of Excellence
Taunton, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent modern hotel.”
Reviewed February 20, 2012

I go to Bristol a lot but first time I used this hotel. Absolutely fine, was very impressed and will certainly stay here again. Excellent evening meal, and a really nice breakfast, plenty of choice and friendly service.

The location is brilliant right in the centre area of Bristol. Very comfortable clean room with a balcony over-looking the river. On arrival, quick check-in with polite and friendly staff , loved the hotel and will definitely be going back, just found it very relaxing.

Room Tip: Did find the air conditioning slight noise which kept me awake a bit, but probably wouldn't have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Geoff009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IFrance, General Manager at Mercure Bristol Brigstow Hotel, responded to this review, February 21, 2012
Thanks for your feedback! Glad you had a good stay! Just to let you know for next time,
book online at our own Mercure web site, where we promote our City Breaks deals. Iain France - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,664 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    643
    674
    216
    89
    42
See reviews for
145
861
125
321
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (392)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Barnstaple, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed February 19, 2012

My third stay in this hotel but I would never consider any other hotel in Bristol now; it's really got everything you'd need and expect from a 4 star hotel.

The location is great, ideally located to walk into the shopping areas on one side, the harbour front bar/restaurant area to the other and easy car access. Parking in the multi storey is easy and lots of room, but not surprising given NCP's exhorbitant rates. The hotel does give a discount off this but it's still a ridiculous price for 24 hours even for a city centre and is the only down point of staying here. There is parking on the road outside if you arrive late and leave early, but that wasn't for me as I did neither!

The decor in the public areas is contemporary and stylish. Great welcome on arrival (as always) and fast friendly check-out. Service in the restaurant was great, menu was very good with a 3-course fixed price menu for £15; the tuna steak on the specials board was part of this menu and was absolutely stunning (hopefully they'll make it a permanent addition). It's priced at £13.50 so the 3-course meal was great value. They also do a 2-course for £13. It's a pity that the restaurant wasn't busy but it's not that big and there are lots of restaurants nearby.

I have always booked a river view room with balcony and always end up on floor 3. Everything about the hotel is modern and stylish and actually feels more like a boutique hotel than a big brand. The rooms are massive, with a big comfy bed at a jaunty angle, decent tv with reception, lots of wardrobe space, and lovely flapjacks with the tea tray. The bathrooms are big with a separate shower and bath, the latter with a tv built into one of the tiles so great for a good soak.

Breakfast was in bed and arrived promptly; delicious eggs benedict, warm toast (how come other hotels never manage to keep the toast warm?) and freshly brewed coffee.

Stayed in a "boutique hotel" that had appeared on a tv programme the following night; you get much more for your money at the Brigstow so always wonder why more hotels aren't like this?

Room Tip: Choose a river view room upgrade at the front of the hotel for the best view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kpd1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IFrance, General Manager at Mercure Bristol Brigstow Hotel, responded to this review, February 21, 2012
Thank you for your very kind words. Very much appreciated and my team will be delighted
to hear that you enjoyed yourselves again. Look forward to welcoming you back. Kind regards,
Iain France - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basildon, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2012

Myself and my daughter stayed at this hotel for one night and I telephoned to request a river view with balcony. On arrival we were given room 405 which was perfect. The room was spotlessly clean and we both loved the tv in the bathroom! Breakfast was delicious with so much choice and the lounge bar was great for a relaxing drink at the end of the day. The hotel is situated in a very good location to discover Bristol and everything is within walking distance. We even managed an opentop bus tour [in Feb!]as the stop was on the corner of the road. Thank you for a lovely stay.

Room Tip: River view with balcony!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Caroline190757
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IFrance, General Manager at Mercure Bristol Brigstow Hotel, responded to this review, September 20, 2012
Thank you for posting your thoughts on here. We really value your feedback. Kind regards
Iain France - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cannock, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed February 17, 2012

On arrival at the hotel we were created very politely at reception. On checking we were asked if we would like to up grade to a superior room for an extra £10, we excepted and I'm so glad we did. The view was excellent, our room was 512. We were also given a city map and showed the key areas of the city, it felt like nothing was too much trouble. The room was spacious. The bed at an angle gives you a lot more space and the floor to ceiling windows really allows you to make the most of the view. There were plenty of extra towels and pillows in the wardrobe. The bathroom was fabulous, with a separate shower and tv you could watch in the bath. I loved it! We were pleasantly surprised with how quiet it seemed to us, even with the window open. My husband booked this break as a late Valentine gateway and it was perfect!

The hotel is surrounded by bar and restaurants, and it is within a few minutes walk to most places.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank L_Allen84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IFrance, General Manager at Mercure Bristol Brigstow Hotel, responded to this review, February 21, 2012
Happy to hear that you enjoyed your valentine stay with us and we shall certainly look forward to your next visit and remember to always check out our promotional offers on our own web site. Kind regards, Iain France - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
188 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed February 13, 2012

A great, contemporary style hotel right in the heart of Bristol. We stayed here for one night having been invited to a meal in the city with friends and not wanting to return home late by car or train. We found a great rate online (room only). Our stay, although short, was excellent and really enjoyed the hotel. Our standard double room was spacious and, having requested it, we were allocated a room with a forward-facing view over the river, which was much appreciated.

The room was clean, comfortable and the TV in the Bath was a nice touch! The staff were all very friendly and helpful too. There is no on-site car parking, but the adjacent NCP cark park can be used and guests of the hotel receive a 25% discount on the rates.

All in all, we couldn't fault the hotel and we would definitely choose to stay there again if we need to stay the night in Bristol.

Room Tip: Go for a front-facing room, if available, to get a view out over the river. The rear facing ones don...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alex S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IFrance, General Manager at Mercure Bristol Brigstow Hotel, responded to this review, February 14, 2012
Thank you for your very kind words. Very much appreciated and my team will be delighted
to hear that you enjoyed yourselves. Look forward to welcoming you back. Kind regards,
Iain France-General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed February 12, 2012

I was in this hotel for two nights in a superior room.
Regrettably, although I requested a quite room, the air conditioning was really not acceptable in room 601 and it was not possible to put it off. We did not sleep at all the first night. Also the shower was not good.

We moved in a better room the second night and we were compensated.

The personnel were very kind and very sorry for that.

The rest was very good, location, breakfast etc...
Good value for money, if you get the right deal.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Giovannide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IFrance, General Manager at Mercure Bristol Brigstow Hotel, responded to this review, February 14, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent visit to the Mercure Bristol Brigstow Hotel. I’m delighted that you enjoyed your stay however, I was also sorry to learn that you were distubed by noise, please accept my sincere apologies. On a more positive note, I was glad to hear that the team did react swiftly which allowed you to enjoy the rest of your stay.Please rest assured that my maintenance team are investigating this issue and will take the appropriate measures to prevent future occurrence. Kind regards, Iain France-General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
131 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed February 12, 2012

Good location in the city centre. Stayed here for 3 nights on a business trip. The rooms were modern, clean and well appointed. Staff were friendly and attentive. Food in the restaurant was okay - with breakfast being good. The biggest issue here is parking - the hotel doesn't have a car park. After 6p.m. you can make use of some limited on street parking, but realistically you are limited to the local NCP - at £15 a day (after the 25% hotel discount).

Room Tip: Ideally a high room at the front, overlooking the waterfront.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KTnSue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IFrance, General Manager at Mercure Bristol Brigstow Hotel, responded to this review, February 14, 2012
Thank you for your very kind words. Very much appreciated and my team will be delighted
to hear that you enjoyed yourselves. I was however, sorry to hear you were disappointed with the parking arrangements in the city despite the ample surronding on street parking which is free from 18:00 until 08:00 hrs and all day Sunday. In addition to the adjacent NCP Queen Charlotte Street car park which is the nearest secure car park for peace of mind where we have also negotieated an exclusuive 25% discount from the NCP tariff exclusively for our guests, We do hope that we will be able to welcome you back soon. Kind regards,
Iain France-General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bristol hotels
0.3 mi away
The Bristol
The Bristol
#3 of 38 in Bristol
3,577 reviews
0.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Bristol
0.3 mi away
Bristol Marriott Royal Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Bristol City Centre
0.4 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Bristol City Centre
0.4 mi away
Mercure Bristol Holland House Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Bristol Brigstow Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Bristol Brigstow Hotel

Property: Mercure Bristol Brigstow Hotel
Address: Welsh Back, Bristol BS1 4SP, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Bristol
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in Bristol
#12 Romantic Hotel in Bristol
#14 Family Hotel in Bristol
#14 Business Hotel in Bristol
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Bristol Brigstow Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A unique four star boutique style hotel with FREE WIFI throughout. Standing on Welsh Back a tree lined boulevard overlooking the river and historic Bristol Bridge in the heart of the old city which is one of the most desirable addresses in Bristol. The hotel offers 116 contemporary & quirky designed bedrooms each with a queen size bed, en-suite bath and separate shower with many extras such as a television and heated mirror in every bathroom. The hotel also offers a limited number of twin rooms, Mercure Privilege rooms and also a modern Suite with an amazing dual aspect view over the city and river. The ellipse bar & restaurant opens daily offering an array of scrumptious dishes, from light meals to gastronomic delights accompanied by an excellent choice of wines and champagnes. Alternatively, just enjoy a coffee, traditional afternoon tea or sip cocktails from the bar whilst watching the boats sail by. Whether you are planning to stay for leisure, a personal reason or business, this city centre Hotel will be the perfect location and prides itself on offering the highest standard of service with an eye for detail to ensure great quality with a local flair. For those wishing to exercise, take advantage of the facilities at the nearby Welsh Back Gym, a real working gym - not for posers - where the hotel has made arrangements for their guests to take advantage of their facilities with their compliments. This hotel is just a short ten minute stroll from Bristol Temple Meads railway station or if travelling by car, the adjacent Queen Charlotte Street NCP car park (BS1 4ES) is ideal for parking where you will enjoy a twenty five percent discount from their tariff as a guest of this hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, ACCOR, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mercure Bristol Brigstow Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Brigstow Bristol Hotel Bristol
Accor Brigstow Bristol
Mercure Bristol

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing