We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Really original thali menu”
Review of Thali Cafe Clifton

Thali Cafe Clifton
Ranked #302 of 1,579 Restaurants in Bristol
Price range: $8 - $24
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Special occasions, Kids
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Bromley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Really original thali menu”
Reviewed December 11, 2013

This cosy restaurant offers great variety of really original mix and match dishes from around India. I especially liked the Goan Fish Curry. Prices are good too - £75 for 4 with starters, mains and puddings or chai, also included one bottle of wine. service was young and enthusiastic and I believe they offer a takeaway tiffin box service.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank pammyM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

294 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    136
    92
    31
    20
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
316 reviews
199 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1,453 helpful votes
“Enjoyable evening with tasty food.”
Reviewed December 10, 2013

Previous reviews cover the ground well. We were brought by local friends and we had a delightful and satisfying evening. Well constructed menu choices, well presented and served. Would come back if in this attractive part of Bristol.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Terry C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Good but lacking something special”
Reviewed November 25, 2013

Everybody raves about thali cafe but I'm not so sure. I first visited about 2 years ago & was put off from the small menu (I would prefer a selection that a 'normal' indian restaurant would offer) & cold food. The 2nd time I visited recently, for a friend's birthday, I had little hope but was willing to try. Better tasting food was received but it was still warm (not hot) & nothing special, possibly as it is served in metal trays & bowls. Service without a smile was also received!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Louise D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
80 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Delicious food”
Reviewed November 19, 2013 via mobile

We had a delicious meal in the thali cafe in clifton. Lots of flavours and just the right amount of spice! Great atmosphere and service was good. Reasonable price for the standard of food. Would definitely visit again.

Helpful?
Thank ewandalby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
42 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Good”
Reviewed November 18, 2013 via mobile

Visiting friend in Bristol who took us to Thali. Service was friendly and quick. Nice selection of starters. Main meal selection was more limited but we all enjoyed our choices and the food came quickly. Generally nice atmosphere in the restaurant. Would go again.

Helpful?
Thank KatPieTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Thali Cafe Clifton also viewed

 

Been to Thali Cafe Clifton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing