We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great day out” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Brunel's SS Great Britain

Brunel's SS Great Britain
Book In Advance
More Info
$17.77*
and up
Brunel's SS Great Britain Entrance Ticket
Ranked #1 of 191 things to do in Bristol
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Step back in time when you board Brunel’s ss Great Britain. Discover the true stories behind the ship that changed the world.Experience the sights, sounds and smells of life on board for Victorian passengers and crew. Descend under water below the glass ‘sea’ to touch the world’s first great ocean liner.
Guernsey
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great day out”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2014

Lots of fun, interactive, loads for kids to do. Tickets valid for one year. Do the ferry trip back to city centre really nice end to the visit

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank MixMaxmoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,074 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4,048
    900
    90
    26
    10
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
333 reviews
94 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
“Informative and amazing history”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2014

Visited 31st December 2013 on a visit too the city, we thought it was value for Money at £12.90 per adult we had about 2 hours walkin around and it was interesting, informative and educational even for myself and hubby in our late 50's, from the moment we stepped thro the door we were taken back into history and the voyage of this amazing ship, it's a pleasant change too be able too get so close too the items, being able too view below the ship, and enter all the levels 1st class, and stowage, see how the people lived and journeyed . It is evident the love and dedication that has gone into the care and restoration of this amazing piece of engineering /craft, and it was a fantastic informative experience......thank you

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank ablb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Ship A-Hoy”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2013

I was looking for somewhere to take the children to have a rememberable New Years Eve (day) and after researching the net found the SS Great Britain in Bristol.

The web site clearly stated that the Brunel institute would be closed so this review will just cover the ship, shop and cafe.

We arrived at 10:00am and parked in the car park and paid £5 for 5 hours. You are printed 2 tickets: 1 for the car and the other to get a part refund from the attraction (£3)

I had previously brought the tickets using the web booking facility. This process was easy as you buy the tickets that are valid for 12 months from purchase date. The price of the ticket (£33.plus (family of 4)) covered our entire itinerary for what was available on our visit. It is also valid for future returns in the next 12 months free of charge. The staff member on the checkout was friendly and handled our transaction fuss free.

Our party decided to grab a drink in the cafe before commencing. We walked into the cafe and was served straight away as there was only another couple of customers in. The drinks were made to order and the young member of staff was friendly and polite. They had run out of marshmallows for the deluxe hot chocolate though :-).

The tour was what I expected it to be from reading the website. Self guided, we started off in the dry dock (under the water) to see the hull that would be under the waterline. The rudder and propeller are huge! Then back up to above water level and then we entered the museum. Here they tell the story of the restoration of the SS Great Britain and then go further back in time to give you the working timeline of the ship. It is a lot of reading plaques but there are also a few interactive exhibitions to keep kids entertained, such as interactive steering, and controlling the propeller depth. Then a photo opportunity, for dress up and stand by a backdrop and take your own pictures of family or friends in time period costumes. Then it was onto the ship herself. Here we explored the three levels of what it would have been like to travel and work on the ship.

If you like ships and history then this is a must see attraction. It did manage to keep my two entertained (10 and 6) although my nephew (2) did get a bit restless nearer the end. Would I reuse the annual pass? If in Bristol and a loose end, yeah, why not?

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Clair G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
30 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Boring boring boring”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2013 via mobile

I've seen this ship go from wreck to restored, and the folks there have done a fantastic job and it looks good, but for me it was more boring than exploring Weymouth, nothing there interested me and the kids were so bored we left, I appreciate the operators are tying but come on, really? The "museum u walk round it looking at plaques" day is over.....could be better....

Helpful?
2 Thank Tapertiger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surabaya, Indonesia
Level Contributor
95 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Rich and Flavorful”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2013

To demonstrate the prowess of the British Merchant Navy and its history. I am impressed truly but curious at the same time why some were paying to visit the museum and some were not?

They made wax figurines really looking like the real ones i was a bit taken aback when i saw the first room which was a doctor tending to the wounds of a crew. And they gave you a concept and idea how dinner was eaten on a vessel like this, very much like modern day cruise but victorian style. Engine, haul decks were all opened for visiting, can't say anymore for this. beyond description it was educational and worthwhile much much better than visiting the aquarium in my opinion.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Lambyron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Brunel's SS Great Britain also viewed

 

Been to Brunel's SS Great Britain? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing