We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Little Oasis in best location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Brooks Guesthouse Bristol
Ranked #3 of 53 Bristol B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 24, 2013

The place we liked most, during our 3 Weeks UK trip.
Friendliest staff, wonderful fresh gourmet breakfast, nice, cosy rooms, a lobby and lovely courtyard you realy want to use and finally-great located.
Looking forward to come back again!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stefanie V V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (859)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

572 - 578 of 859 reviews

Reviewed August 23, 2013 via mobile

Recently booked this hotel very last minute for a Sunday night. Booking and finding the hotel was no trouble. The reception even gave us the sat nav for the carpark.
Very centrally located next to a very interesting market with great places for lunch. (Stalls sell out of their food by about 3pm)
Anyway back to the hotel. Our room was a twin at the top. Absolutely immaculate, lovely hanging Hooks around the room which took out the need for a wardrobe and made a small room very spacious. The bathroom was lovely with a huge shower.
We had a special offer when booked so a lovely cold bottle of prosecco also included.
Downstairs the living/kitchen/dining room set up worked very well making such a friendly atmosphere.
Now on to breakfast. YUM.... Spot on. All the usual cereals, yoghurt, honey,conserve. Juices.. Followed by the most delicious eggs Royale I have ever had. Eggs to perfection, thick slices of smoked salmon and homemade Hollandaise sauce. Then if room there was even homemade muffins!
The chef superb..who was also on reception when we arrived. (I did at the time catch his name but in the 3 weeks since my visit it has gone !)
The decor fabulous.. Nice quirky touches like the mirrors down the stairs and the wall paper in the downstairs is just fabulous especially for dog lovers!
The location in my view couldn't be better, tucked away from the busy road but as central as you can get..
I will be back and will also stay in the other hotels.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bexangel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2013

Located in the Old City, but in a small courtyard and therefore fairly quiet. Superb, clean rooms and great beds. Breakfast was excellent and outclassed most 3-4 stars hotel I visited over the years. Free wireless internet very fast. All staff were very friendly and supportive.
A remarkably positive experience, even beyond expectations. A gem among the B&B's. I look forward to coming back.

Room Tip: All should be great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank arne68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2013

My partner and I stayed at the Brooks Guesthouse (Bristol) for one night in August 2013.

The hotel is in a great location - pedestrian area within walking distance of sights.

Our room was on the second floor and the wifi wouldn't work in the room which was a bit annoying but it connected in the hallway and in the common areas on the ground floor. The room itself was decorated nicely and the bathroom was great (nice hot shower).

The breakfast was lovely - great variety, nice quality produce.

The hotel staff were super lovely and helpful, I definitely recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Bristol (or Bath as they have one there too which we stayed in also!).

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AntheaB972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2013

Went for a Fri / Sat night at the end of July - Harbour Festival.
Booked 2 months earlier and got an inclusive deal £100/night - inclusive of car park charge
Location is great for the harbour or Hippodrome - with lots of restaurants around.
Rooms are small - but everything you need (except A/C) showers are good - room 10 or 20 are the largest - or room 12. They allow you to BYO and will chill store for you.
Agnes on reception / booking is the most pleasant receptionist I have known, 1 reason why we return to Brooks! - in fact all the staff are most helpful.
This was our second visit staying here - but it will not be our last.
Local market next to hotel is worth looking at - as well as the 'sausage man'.
Breakfast is good (but slow in arriving) as they cook all in given order format.
Overall a great place at the price - but book in advance to secure your room - they are 'negotiable' so some degree.
Bristol is full of 'party folk ' and stag / hen do's at the weekend - but atmosphere is good.

Room Tip: Rooms 10 / 20 or 12 - overlooking the courtyard - not noisy when we were there
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richard K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2013

Felt very similar to a few hotels I've stayed in in France especially when entering the gated courtyard. The receptionist was very helpful and friendly. He explained the honesty bar and breakfast. It was great seeing the breakfast chef cooking your breakfast in what felt like someone's kitchen/dining room. Breakfast was excellent with a choice of streaky or back bacon!
Rooms light and modern, small and basic but very comfortable! It was a very hot weekend but there was a fan in the room. Seagulls were noisy and due to its central location there is an element of noise from the hustle and bustle of its market location. Noise didn't bother us though as we were in late after a night at the casino. Fantastic central location and I hope to have the opportunity of stopping here again. What a gem of a place!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 4489Tracy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2013

I've just returned from a weekend break in Bristol with the ladies and we stayed for 2 nights at Brooks Guesthouse. We arrived late Friday afternoon and was greeted by the manager who showed us our rooms, details on breakfast times etc. The rooms were decorated lovely, we had a triple and a twin. Both to a high standard, from the linen to the decor and the little toiletries of the white company which is a nice touch. It is a little hidden away up a side street etc, but a little treasure when you find it!.
The courtyard is a lovely, it has plenty seating to relax in with the water feature, even though we did have a little 'rat' that appeared, but we were right smack next to St Nicholas Market and in the middle of a bustling city.
The location was fantastic with easy walking distance of the markets, the quayside, the harbour and the nightlife.
The customer service was excellent, right from go. The breakfast for £8.50 was beautiful. Cooked to order if you wanted the full monty or a large selection of other items, from your fruit, cereals, toast, eggs every way you could think of. The value for money was good and perfectly cooked. We may not of appreciated it Saturday morning due to the Friday night out, but Sunday morning we made up for that.
Previous guests have commented about the 'seagulls', we were on the top floor and i did get woken by them, but you are right next to the market, top floor of a building, but just roll over and ignore them! Its not the guesthouse's fault and it wouldn't put me or my friends off staying here again.
We would happily return to the Brook's Guesthouse and recommend it to family and friends for the customer service, quality, location, security. A lovely weekend had by all.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EmmaOB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bristol hotels
0.3 mi away
The Bristol
The Bristol
#3 of 39 in Bristol
3,722 reviews
0.3 mi away
Bristol Marriott Royal Hotel
0.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Bristol
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Bristol City Centre
0.2 mi away
Hotel du Vin & Bistro
Hotel du Vin & Bistro
#5 of 39 in Bristol
1,245 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mercure Bristol Brigstow Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brooks Guesthouse Bristol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brooks Guesthouse Bristol

Address: St Nicholas Street, Bristol BS1 1UB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Bristol
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 53 B&Bs / Inns in Bristol
Price Range: $84 - $150 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Brooks Guesthouse Bristol 4*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly refurbished boutique guesthouse smack bang in the heart of the city with luxury John Lewis pocket sprung mattress beds, Hansgrohe power showers, floor to ceiling travertine tile bathrooms, hospitality trays & i-pod dock players. All rooms have Cole and Son wallpapers & Hungarian goose down duvets and pillows, large flat screen TV/DVD player, hairdryers and full length mirrors. A large bright contemporary open plan breakfast room and guest lounge with free wifi & a guest laptop alongside an honesty bar. Delicious organic hot or cold breakfast served daily from 7-10.30am Residents have exclusive use of our urban haven courtyard garden. Parking available upon request for £9 per day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Brooks Guesthouse Bristol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brooks Guest House Bristol Hotel Bristol

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing