We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great to stay somewhere a bit different!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Brooks Guesthouse Bristol
Ranked #3 of 52 Bristol B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
41 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great to stay somewhere a bit different!”
Reviewed July 12, 2013

I enjoyed a 3 night stay at Brooks in Bristol - not quite a hotel but way more than your average B&B!

Our room was a good size and very well presented, I slept well. Given the very central location there was noise from the market next door and very noisy seagulls in the morning, this wasn't really a problem for us - but for those wanting a lie in, it could be annoying!

Carrying your luggage to and from the nearest NCP car park wasn't ideal (steps and cobbles) but I wouldn't let this deter me from visiting again, I would just pack less!

Nice atmosphere, good breakfast and the lady on reception was also very friendly and helpful.

Great place to stay in Bristol.

Room Tip: We booked a triple room (instead of a twin) for more space.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LondonMsR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carlabrooks, Owner at Brooks Guesthouse Bristol, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
thank you for the lovely comments glad you enjoyed your stay hope to see you again in either Bath , Bristol or Edinburgh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

807 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    436
    263
    67
    24
    17
See reviews for
111
387
32
90
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (173)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2013

This hotel doesn't have a "road frontage" so you need to go on a bit of an exploration to discover exactly where it is. Its worth the hunt though as you enter the gated courtyard.

The rooms are modern and well furnished with comfy beds. A bit stuffy but the hotel provides a fan to get the air moving in the room. Very welcome given the current 30deg temperatures that we are experiencing here in the UK.

Breakfast was excellent, prepared in front of you and very tasty.

Niggles - Due to the hotels location parking can be a challenge, some local on road pay & display parking or the NCP down the road. All of which will add to the cost of your stay if you are travelling by car. Seagulls! You cant blame the hotel for a combination of circumstances (30deg temps meaning windows left open, Seagulls roosting in the local market opposite) that lead to a seagull dawn chorus, it did affect my sleep quality however.

I would stay here again, the location is excellent for a night out in Bristol.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HDimages
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 10, 2013

we were charged just 37.50 each for a one night stay, which was cheaper than the budget hotels in the area an the quality of the room and facilities far exceeded our expectations! a fantastic place to stay n great location if u fancy a night out in Bristol!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Todd F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pandrup, Nordjylland, Denmark
Level Contributor
95 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2013

the guest house management really makes you feel as a valued guest in a positive way. But the breakfast: The best I've ever had. Handmade, abundant extremely well tasting. I love french toast, and it was even better than when I make it myself - totally fresh made. Rooms in a nice style, and roomy! I'd love to go back some day.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Henning J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2013

I would like to thank Brooks staff for offering me such a pleasant stay in Bristol.

As I walked in, I knew that this was the right place to be. The receptionists are helpful, friendly and welcoming. The room was ready earlier as I had requested it, clean, fresh and with a comfortable bed. Breakfast was home maid as promised on the website. I appreciated the 'grab and go breakfast' option when I was in a hurry. Toast with butter, fresh fruit and a delicious cupcake were put in a bag for me. That made me feel very special as a guest and well looked after. I originally come from Greece, the culture that invented Zeus, the God of Hospitality. I acknowledge and appreciate hospitality. Brooks offers that feeling and leaves a smile on your face when you remember it. I will definitely recommend it to friends.

Best
Persephone

Room Tip: Top rooms can be too warm during the summer. Choose one that overlooks the spring if you like the so...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Persephone S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moulsford on Thames, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2013 via mobile

Never stayed in a' guest house' before, so was unsure what I would get, as it turned out you get as much as you would jn a good hotel, nice size room, excellent breakfast, And a honour system bar!
Would stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stevo9999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
171 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2013

It's always a pleasure to be in Bristol, the city has an underlying vibrancy that is not always quite what it seems, the casually calm exterior belies a certain crazy nature if you let it go and of course visiting 'me lad', student scoffer extraordinaire!

So, entry to the hotel, quaintly hidden away by St Nicholas market is similarly tucked in a fine and unassuming spot, you would never know what it was until entering the courtyard by virtue of the fact it hides its charms until you enter it's tranquil world.

We are in, having navigated the open space and various levels and the first sight is of a closed reception then once the corner it turned a spacious area with different tables, sizes,finishes and shapes with large cupboards giving a country house feel. Breakfast will be looked forward to!

The lady booking me in was very pleasant and informative with a madcap laugh delivered after most sentences which reminded me of the film Amadeus and Mozart with the lunatic laugh.

The room was great, comfortable and well furnished and magnificent shower. Only draw back with in town is, if you are not used to background noise it can keep you awake and the early morning wheelie bin arrivals to the market down a cobbled street - well it's all there. Maybe an in town sign should read "those with barking voices, don't bother a with mobile phone, you don't need one"

The morning was good, relaxing in the breakfast room with just a gentle background noise of people waking up and big surprise, my student son managed 8.05 for breakfast, mind you that was never going to be passed up now was it? Full English and ooh a little muffin for later, cracking. The staff were more than happy to accommodate my sons appetite and he was pleased with his dad's choice of venue, nice to be appreciated now and again.

Great place for town at all times, I would recommend this of you want a little in town activity.

Room Tip: Just choose one and enjoy it, life's too short.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Neil C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carla B, Owner at Brooks Guesthouse Bristol, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Thank you for the lovely comments you have a lovely "turn of phrase" Glad you and your son approved of breakfast and our cheery staff and tucked away hotel . Bristol is great city agreed.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bristol hotels
0.3 mi away
The Bristol
The Bristol
#3 of 37 in Bristol
3,465 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel du Vin & Bistro
Hotel du Vin & Bistro
#6 of 37 in Bristol
1,149 reviews
0.3 mi away
Bristol Marriott Royal Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Mercure Bristol Brigstow Hotel
0.3 mi away
Premier Inn Bristol City Centre (Lewins Mead) Hotel
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Bristol City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brooks Guesthouse Bristol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brooks Guesthouse Bristol

Property: Brooks Guesthouse Bristol
Address: St Nicholas Street, Bristol BS1 1UB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Bristol
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 52 B&Bs / Inns in Bristol
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Brooks Guesthouse Bristol 4*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly refurbished boutique guesthouse smack bang in the heart of the city with luxury John Lewis pocket sprung mattress beds, Hansgrohe power showers, floor to ceiling travertine tile bathrooms, hospitality trays & i-pod dock players. All rooms have Cole and Son wallpapers & Hungarian goose down duvets and pillows, large flat screen TV/DVD player, hairdryers and full length mirrors. A large bright contemporary open plan breakfast room and guest lounge with free wifi & a guest laptop alongside an honesty bar. Delicious organic hot or cold breakfast served daily from 7-10.30am Residents have exclusive use of our urban haven courtyard garden. Parking available upon request for £9 per day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Brooks Guesthouse Bristol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brooks Guest House Bristol Hotel Bristol

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing