We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Really good”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Bristol City Centre
Ranked #2 of 37 Hotels in Bristol
Certificate of Excellence
Yeovil, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Really good”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2013

This hotel couldn't be closer to the city centre and is spotlessly clean and modern.
The staff were extremely friendly and efficient and the room was excellent with a massive bed.
It was very good value and is only slightly let down by the walk home via the subway (The bear pit) which isn't great after dark and the drink prices.
The breakfast buffet offered good choice and the staff were very attentive.
Would book this hotel again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EnglishAshman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BRSCC-FOM1, General Manager at Holiday Inn Bristol City Centre, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Dear Guest

Many thanks for completing a review of our hotel. I was delighted to read that you had a great stay. I have noted your comments about bar prices.
Myself and the team look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Kind Regards

Gavin Ethridge
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,248 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    632
    436
    126
    28
    26
See reviews for
187
403
58
336
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (235)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mendip Hills Somerset
Level Contributor
374 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 422 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2013

Attended a training her. Staff were largely helpful, although it would help if the reception nearest the carpark could validate the carpark ticket rather than have to return to level 2 in order to get the ticket validated. How anyone parks here without getting it validated is beyond me as 9.30 -5pm they wanted to charge £20 for!!! Food in the restaurant was simple, well cooked and nice amounts to suit all.

Air con in the conference training room was problematic, those at the back of the room froze while at the front they boiled as the air con at the front did not work

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tigi_Higgins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BRSCC-FOM1, General Manager at Holiday Inn Bristol City Centre, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time and effort to complete a review. I was happy to read you had an enjoyable stay. Following on from your feedback and other guests we have launched a car park validation desk at the main reception, this should eradicate waiting times. on a separate note I was happy to see you took advantage of our discounted parking rates we have in place with the NCP.
Please accept my apologies with respects to the air conditioning unit, I will look into this immediately.

Once again thank you for your review

Gavin Ethridge
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bridgwater
Level Contributor
37 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2013

Stayed here Saturday the 19th in a king suite room 622 , absolutely no recognition at all for being PCR Platinum . No welcome letter at check-in , no offer of a newspaper or free drink not even acknowledged as a platinum member . The suite itself could be really good it is of a great size with everything that is needed but penny pinching seems to be the norm only three pods for nespresso machine , 1 mars bar between two , one sachet of hot chocolate no biscuits . The room is in need of some TLC especially the paintwork around the TV in the lounge area . Its a real shame because it could be so good . Breakfast good and parking in the ncp easy , £10 charge which I feel should have been complimentary , not even asked at check-out if we had a good stay . Stayed at Hi Cardiff last weekend and the difference in the staff attitude is miles apart , seems like future stays in Bristol will be at the Rad Blu , Hi Bristol obviously does not value me .

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank executivesuite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BRSCC-FOM1, General Manager at Holiday Inn Bristol City Centre, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Dear Guest

As you can imagine I was horrified to learn of your experience and would like to offer you my sincere apologies. I can assure you we value every one of our guests. I would be most grateful if you could contact me direct so I can discuss your stay further via email gm@hibristolcity.co.uk or telephone 0117 924 500.

I look forward to hearing from you soon

Kind Regards

Gavin Ethridge
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cei Connah
Level Contributor
64 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2013

Have stayed a this hotel on multiple occasions and can't say ive ever had anyhting other than excellent service, always clean and tidy and even the food isn't too bad.
Prices for drinks etc are well OTT but only the same as other similiar hotels in the area, avoid the Holiday Inn at Filton at all costs and book here, worth the extra time to get out of the city with regards to traffic, athough parking is a bit of a 'mare.
Location is good in relation to the city centre and the docks etc.
Only doesn't get 5* asits still only a holiday Inn!!!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OnAPlaneTo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BRSCC-FOM1, General Manager at Holiday Inn Bristol City Centre, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Dear Guest

Many thanks for your patronage to the hotel and excellent review. Our great location regularly gets mentioned and is perfect for all aspects of exploring Bristol for both business and leisure. Myself and the team look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kind Regards

Gavin Ethridge
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blenheim, New Zealand
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2013

Had booked a bus tour and were advised to stay at this hotel for convenience to pickup point in Bristol. Our travel agent in Bath was unable to book us into this particular hotel nor could the Information Centre. First we tried to book over our non UK cellphone then realised the wait time was going to cost a fortune. Then our kind B&B lady in Bath gave us her landline phone, endless waiting on booking line with no result. In the end we hopped on a BUS! from Bath to Bristol as the bus station is very close to the hotel compared to the cheaper train. The young guy at entrance desk could only give us one option with a room but luckily we could have it for the two nights needed. The room was perfectly fine, excellent bathroom,great area for suitcases and wardrobe and a sofabed TV area and QUIET. Got told Bristol was a hen and stag party city at weekends but wouldn,t have known tucked up in these hotel rooms. We had more dramas with our coach pickup not having us on their list!!!! so we got left behind. The older man on the ground floor desk that morning was wonderful, while we waited at stop he kept phoning the bus company and eventually got through and arranged taxi pickup to catch us up with our coach, the personal service when on an overseas holiday is really appreciated. The only gripe I have with this hotel is a better phone booking system,not everyone is able to book on-line

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pam M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BRSCC-FOM1, General Manager at Holiday Inn Bristol City Centre, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Dear Guest

I was so pleased to read your review, and thank you for taking the time to complete it. We try to manage stag / hen groups so they don’t impact any other guests stay and im glad this was the case during your recent visit.
I would also like to thank you for all you other great comments regarding the staff and facilities. With that being said I was disappointed to learn of your frustrations with the booking process, I will look into this immediately but please accept my apologies in the interim.

Once again thank you for your review.

Kind Regards

Gavin Ethridge
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Truro, Cornwall
Level Contributor
130 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2013

The chief problem this hotel has is that it's in the city centre and there are a lot of road works on the approach roads at the moment. There is an attached NCP car park which is very secure due to shutter doors on the entrances, but you need to drive slowly off the roundabout to be able to make the sharp turn comfortably.

The building itself isn't the prettiest, but inside they make the most of it and the staff are very welcoming and friendly. The need to validate your carpark pass means that an express checkout isn't possible so the reception desk can become very crowded at peak times like 8-8.30. The breakfast area is relatively small so you might want to plan to go outside peak time if you're not working to a timetable.

The meeting rooms in the Academy area are very good and well equipped.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CrinklyTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BRSCC-FOM1, General Manager at Holiday Inn Bristol City Centre, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to post an online review. We are very proud of our Academy and im pleased you had a good meeting. I am also excited to announce we will shortly be trailing a car park validation desk, like yourself we recognised we could improve e this area of service a d i look forward to any feedback once its live.
Myself and the team look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kind Regards

Gavin Ethridge
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

Booked late but was still given an upgrade on arrival had a great room and excellant view the beds are super comfortable and the staff are really friendly can't do enough for you. Even gave me a free drink and snacks was a nice gesture.

Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Barrie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BRSCC-FOM1, General Manager at Holiday Inn Bristol City Centre, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the effort and time to leave a review. I was glad to read of your experience and that you received all the benefits from being a reward member. I was also pleased to note your feedback regarding the team. Over the last few months we have worked hard on training and I’m pleased to see this is now having a positive impact.

Kind Regards

Gavin Ethridge
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bristol hotels
0.7 mi away
The Bristol
The Bristol
#3 of 37 in Bristol
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,474 reviews
0.2 mi away
Premier Inn Bristol City Centre (Lewins Mead) Hotel
0.0 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Bristol City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Bristol City Centre
0.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Bristol City Centre
0.7 mi away
Bristol Marriott Royal Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Bristol City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Bristol City Centre

Property: Holiday Inn Bristol City Centre
Address: Bond Street, Bristol BS1 3LE, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Bristol
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Bristol
#3 Business Hotel in Bristol
#4 Romantic Hotel in Bristol
#5 Family Hotel in Bristol
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Bristol City Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 155
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bristol's newest hotel located on Bond Street in the city centre. Opposite Cabot and Broadmead shopping centre, an ideal location for all of the city centre activities and attractions. This new hotel has been completed to a very high modern standard with Standard, Superior, Deluxe, Executive and Suite bedrooms. The Spot restaurant provides excellent food at value prices or try the 7evern bar for drinks or bar food. 1/2hr free internet for all hotel guests with reduced price parking in the NCP car park under the hotel. 7 flexible conference and banqueting rooms are also available. This hotel prides itself on ensuring that the guests are the main focus and the hotel team will go out of their way to ensure that a great experience is offered. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Bristol City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Bristol City Centre Hotel Bristol

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing